Customer Reviews


139 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great prezzie
Does what it says on the tin. My son was bowled over by it. Easy to use and manage the apps on. Would recommend.
Published 16 months ago by Christian Williams

versus
162 of 175 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Slow, slow, slow
I purchased the original leappad for my children and was really impressed with the unit. My boys love it so when the leappad ultra was announced I preordered two of these believing they would be vastly improved from the Original leappad & leappad 2. Sadly I was wrong - an expensive mistake! The unit sounds impressive and is certainly robust enough for children. However...
Published 20 months ago by Daniel Baker


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

162 of 175 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Slow, slow, slow, 15 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LeapFrog LeapPad Ultra (Green) (Toy)
I purchased the original leappad for my children and was really impressed with the unit. My boys love it so when the leappad ultra was announced I preordered two of these believing they would be vastly improved from the Original leappad & leappad 2. Sadly I was wrong - an expensive mistake! The unit sounds impressive and is certainly robust enough for children. However the unit, which is claimed to be faster, appears as fast as the original leappad. As another reviewer has said it appears the operating system can't keep up and I suspect they're right. One of the advances from the first two leappads is the kids safe wi-fi functionality. The way the contents is filtered and presented is good, in fact for young kids I'd say it's fantastic. However it is limited to pictures and video and this is where the unit really falls flat on its face. The video is presented in a small box, not full screen, and is of low quality. Further more the system struggles with most of the videos meaning the unit continuously crashes and goes back to the main screen. I've updated the firmware and have fibre optic broadband (as well as a host of other devices perfectly functional with video). As the wifi & screen size are the two biggest distinguishing features, setting it apart from the older versions, I'm somewhat surprised leapfrog hasn't ensured the user experience is more reliable. If you're buying for the games then this unit is great but possibly better to save some money and just get the previous leappad. If you're thinking of upgrading, or want it for the wi-fi content, Id wait and see if leappad do anything about improving the user experience and ensuring the system does not crash on videos they've approved! All in all I've spent a lot of money on two systems that the kids are just going to be frustrated with because of it keep crashing. Poor show leapfrog - a mere two stars I'm afraid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow, bad sound, not very durable but still fun., 14 Jan. 2014
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LeapFrog LeapPad Ultra (Green) (Toy)
This was bought from Amazon, but not by me.

The bad:
Considering that this is the top model I was surprised by how slow it is, compared to similarly priced tablets. It takes a long time to start or load and the screen is not very sensitive to touch; I would say as sensitive as a touchscreen from 8 years ago (i.e. photocopier).

The included games are minimal/basic and do not take any advantage of the claimed capabilities of the pad.

The cameras are really bad; we are talking 7 year old mobile phone camera quality.

The WORST is the durability. Considering the age range it is aimed at it should not have been damaged by repeated drops form a height of under 30cm (children running with it and dropping it). However the speaker was damaged and now you get a very annoying squeaking sound if you raise the volume (It was used on full volume on several occasions before but it is no that loud; not loud enough to damage any half decent speaker).

Every time you switch it on you need to connect to the Wi-Fi as the connection gets lost when you turn it off.

There do not seem to be any games available made especially for this model.

The battery life is not good.

Not many options (Customisation) available in the parent mode

The good:

Some nice, safe, videos are available with internet connection.

It's a tablet and children will like that.

It has a "parent" mode to adjust some settings.

It looks nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great prezzie, 2 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LeapFrog LeapPad Ultra (Green) (Toy)
Does what it says on the tin. My son was bowled over by it. Easy to use and manage the apps on. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars awful total waste of money, 27 Dec. 2013
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LeapFrog LeapPad Ultra (Green) (Toy)
Have had the leappad 2 and the leapster gs for over a year they where ok but hoped the leappad ultra would be faster and have better screen resolution as the other two have very poor picture quality. What a huge let down the ultra is. Bought three as christmas presents and spent the last week trying to make them work. Very slow, struggle to connect with wi-fi as yet still have 18 apps that i have paid for but can't seem to download onto any of the hand sets. Also app's from previous products that where interchangeable don't work on the ultra so now have had to reload them on previous products. Have contacted leapfrog support who where very nice but the solutions they gave have not improved the situation. Three very sad little girls one really cross mother and three very expensive usless leappads should have just bought them all tablets and not bothered about the learning input as all they are learning at present is that my patience is running out. Whilst Barbie on the ipad may not teach them anything at least it works. I don't know who awarded these products there 13 wonderful education awards but they must have had a special device just for them. Totally usless product that I wouldn't recommend to my worst enemy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent purchase for Christmas, 5 May 2014
By 
herronrath "Trish" (County Armagh Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LeapFrog LeapPad Ultra (Green) (Toy)
I made this purchase as a gift for Christmas. Couldn't have chosen better. It was the most used toy on Christmas day and the little person concerned has continued to use it on a daily basis since then. I would recommend it to parents as an excellent educational tool besides being highly entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Would recommend, 24 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LeapFrog LeapPad Ultra (Green) (Toy)
My little boy loves this so far, lots still to learn and adjust for future. Seems to work well and arrived swiftly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars kids glued to the thing, 10 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LeapFrog LeapPad Ultra (Green) (Toy)
at last i can watch the football while the kids do something more productive than Palace Pets or some other inane iPad game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great for grandchildren (aged 3 & 5), 6 Jan. 2014
By 
Margaret H. Boon "Helen Boon" (Farnham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LeapFrog LeapPad Ultra (Green) (Toy)
It is robust and keeps the children mentally stimulated and occupied for hours. Especially good on car journeys. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very educational, 29 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LeapFrog LeapPad Ultra (Green) (Toy)
Granddaughter loves it and she is only three. Tells her what to do next. She would not put in down on Christmas day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow., 23 Sept. 2013
By 
Bob and Billy's Mum (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: LeapFrog LeapPad Ultra (Green) (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Having had previous Leap-pads, I can honestly say this is the best yet. It is fabulous! Much bigger in screen size, with a 2 way camera, and much bigger memory. I know it's no iPad, but it doesn't pretend to be. It's a fantastic learning and entertainment tablet, which is intuitive and simple to use. It can be a tiny bit slow, but patience is a virtue so they say!

My son is 7, and he's loving it. We've already got a Leappad account so once we registered it, it was simple to down load all our previous purchases. So much fun! Pictures, videos, effects - all easy to do and to upload to the pc for saving and sharing.

The battery pack is now rechargeable, so no longer do we spend a fortune on AA batteries. The charge lasts well, and we only seem to plug it in every week or so, with daily use.

The range of apps are good, but I'd recommend buying a Leappad download card LeapFrog Explorer App Centre Download Card (for LeapPad and Leapster) to use as you will save money rather than buying direct about a third off).

We love this :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

LeapFrog LeapPad Ultra (Green)
£87.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews