Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very comprehensive coverage of the subject.
I have to say that this book is well balanced and informative.The structure of the book is great well laid out and full of useful knowledge.If you want to know about the various nations and peoples who provided troops for the German effort in Russia this is the book for you evenly written it pulls no punches but seems fair in its dealings with each group, will be looking...
Published 21 months ago by E. W. Sharman

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Less Focused on the People than the Battles
This is clearly a well-written and well-researched book, and very informative. It is divided into three sections- Hitler's allies, neutrals/occupied, and enemies respectively- and within each, is divided country by country and then outlines the contributions soldiers from each country made to the Eastern Front. I was disappointed however, as I was really hoping for more...
Published 14 months ago by Lyndsay


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very comprehensive coverage of the subject., 3 Mar 2013
By 
E. W. Sharman (Ilford UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have to say that this book is well balanced and informative.The structure of the book is great well laid out and full of useful knowledge.If you want to know about the various nations and peoples who provided troops for the German effort in Russia this is the book for you evenly written it pulls no punches but seems fair in its dealings with each group, will be looking out for more English versions of this authors works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Less Focused on the People than the Battles, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unknown Eastern Front, The: The Wehrmacht and Hitler's Foreign Soldiers (Kindle Edition)
This is clearly a well-written and well-researched book, and very informative. It is divided into three sections- Hitler's allies, neutrals/occupied, and enemies respectively- and within each, is divided country by country and then outlines the contributions soldiers from each country made to the Eastern Front. I was disappointed however, as I was really hoping for more personal stories- what motivated these soldiers, particularly those from countries that were not allied to the Reich? This was dealt with briefly- adventurism, , anti-semitism, anti-communism, etc but we never really heard from the soldiers themselves. I wanted to hear more from the lives of actual soldiers and what those who survived faced on their return home after Germany's defeat. Unfortunately this book focuses on a greater scale than the individual. It's very good at what it does, it just simply wasn't what I had hoped it would be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The unknown war, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Written by a German academic, this book describes the role of the non-German soldiers in the Wehrmacht on the Eastern front, in fact up to 33% of the Wehrmacht strength there. The topic has been largely buried as nobody wanted to own up to being on the losing side, and indeed the fate of many of them can indeed be described as "buried", as they were not treated well in many cases including those repatriated to Stalin's USSR.

Indeed, the role of the Soviet-era NKVD in "ethnic cleansing", mass-murder and deportations is acknowledged here, and was one of the factors in the major changes in countries and populations in Eastern Europe post-1945, even though it was largely ignored by the Western powers.

The book is rather more than just the role of "foreign" soldiers in the Wehrmacht and is a thought-provoking read. I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Info on the German allies, 28 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I do wonder why there are so few good books on Hitlers allies, considering that, as this book explains, 1/3 soldiers serving on the Eastern front were not even German. From the courageous Fins and unlucky Italians down to the Bulgarians, all of the German allies are covered in short yet very informative chapters, explaining how they ended up on the German side and how their countries and the soldiers serving them ended the war.
Anyone who has interest in the German allies, whether they be Russians volunteers, Hungarians in the Honved or Western Europeans serving in the German armed forces, will find this book a valuable asset.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good but could be a wee bit better., 9 Sep 2014
By 
John M. Bannerman (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Its clear that Mr Muller is not a native English speaker - but the book sheds light (even if incompletely) on a little known and rarely discussed area of WW2. It is outstanding for that reason - and only drops a star as it could do with a bit more detail in my opinion. Well worth the money - and should be essential reading for those examining WW2 on the German-Soviet front.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History, 23 Sep 2013
This review is from: Unknown Eastern Front, The: The Wehrmacht and Hitler's Foreign Soldiers (Kindle Edition)
I didn't realise how many of the eastern european countries were involved with the reich 5 more words to end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars germans at war, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unknown Eastern Front, The: The Wehrmacht and Hitler's Foreign Soldiers (Kindle Edition)
dear amazon ive read a lot war books and now that more secrets are being released I expected details and information personalat the moment accounts it was a good read but ive read better fiction
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews