Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my childhood
As a 12 year old I travelled to Poland for the first time with my Polish father and Scottish mother and crossed the same borders as Mathew and was packed in, along with my 10 year old brother, to as small a space as possible, due to all the presents and goods that my Father was taking to his home town of Grudziadz. The car we were in was , like Mathews fathers, a...
Published 17 months ago by mr.bernard malinowski

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting story
Very interesting, opening eyes story. Unfortunately too many, not really important for the story details makes it slightly boring sometimes in my opinion (hence 3 stars only).
Published 10 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my childhood, 13 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tailor of Inverness (Kindle Edition)
As a 12 year old I travelled to Poland for the first time with my Polish father and Scottish mother and crossed the same borders as Mathew and was packed in, along with my 10 year old brother, to as small a space as possible, due to all the presents and goods that my Father was taking to his home town of Grudziadz. The car we were in was , like Mathews fathers, a Vauxhall Cresta, light blue in colour and also caused a sensation everywhere we went.
My father died as a result of a road accident in 1968 when I was 21 so I never got round to hear about all that happened to him and how he arrived in Kelso in the Scottish borders and I hoped that Mathews book would shed some light on this but his father came from a different area so this was not to be, but there must be many similar stories about what a terrible time it was to live in any part of Poland during WW2
I smiled , laughed and cried my way through this book and congratulate Mathew on what was obviously a very difficult and emotional book to write and sections of it were very close to my heart and my upbringing as the son of a Polish Soldier

Dziekuje bardzo.

Ben Malinowski
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprising, 14 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wasn't expecting to be hooked by this book but it was a revelation. A journey, a childhood, a family history, a tale of one of the greatest upheavals of the second world war and full of emotion. A mystery as well in Matthew's efforts to delve deeper into his Father's war experiences. A tale that grows in the telling, that becomes much more involved than at first sight and leads Matthew into areas that often expose raw emotions. Written in a delightful prose style that makes reading it a joy. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful read, 29 July 2013
By 
Deep Reader - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Tailor of Inverness (Kindle Edition)
Matthew Zajac is a highly accomplished playright and actor, which means he really knows how to tell a story. Which is as well, because in The Tailor of Inverness he really has a story to tell. Since it is about the unravelling of his late father's war stories it could hardly be more personal. Also about the fragmentation and reformation of families by war, it could hardly be more universal. No doubt its themes are being repeated all across the world even now. It is a wonderful read though, a page turning narrative and, although the conclusion is open ended, it is totally satisfying. In addition, the book's pages are embellished with fascinating photographs from before World War Two, through the Cold War, to the present time, and they give additional layers of interest. It is a book not to be missed. One that sits very closely on the shelf to those of Misha Glenny who provides a powerful endorsement on the cover. The Balkans: 1804 - 2012: Nationalism, War and the Great Powers Shadow Behind the Sun: Flight from Kosovo: A Woman's Story (Non-Fiction)The Long Bridge: Out Of The Gulags
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Journey of Purpose and Fulfillment, 19 Sept. 2013
This book is an emotional journey, beautifully written. Although it is a personal story, it is also a story of the universal effects of war on individuals, their families and future generations. It illustrates how many many people affected by turmoil have felt the need to reinvent themselves in order to live more peacefully. It is a thrilling story, a real page turner, easy to read and relevant to all those connected directly or indirectly with conflict - which is just about everyone! Uplifting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and moving, 20 Feb. 2014
Matthew Zajac, a playwright and actor, first told the story of his father's amazing life in an award-winning play of the same name, which has toured the world since its original performance at the Edinburgh Fringe in 2009. Now he has written a fuller, prose version of the story. His father settled in the Scottish Highlands town of Inverness after the Second World War, and worked as a tailor. His children of course always knew of his Polish origins, and they knew that he had arrived in Scotland only after an amazing journey across war-torn Europe. What Matthew did not discover until after his father's death was how, along with many other Poles, he survived both Nazism and Stalinism only at the expense of leaving home and loved ones behind him. This book is about history, fathers and sons, husbands and wives, the brutality of war, and the deep emotional need to know the truth about who we are and where we come from. You think there can be no more new stories to come from that dark era, but this is one, and it's both fascinating and moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars moving, 20 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this was a great insight to a troubled time for people from our continent. thank you Matthew for a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Tailor of Inverness, 16 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tailor of Inverness (Kindle Edition)
This is a loving account of the life and times of an ordinary, yet in some ways, extraordinary, man, narrated by his son. If truth is beauty, this is a beautiful read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good read., 14 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tailor of Inverness (Kindle Edition)
Fantastic read. A very interesting idea as one man investigates his past and discovers some things perhaps he wishes he hadn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Tailor of Inverness, 12 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tailor of Inverness (Kindle Edition)
This book proved to be a fascinating read;it gave a huge insight to an era of which we all read but not from such a personal angle. It became quite a mystery at times, moving and certainly a book which I found hard to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 12 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tailor of Inverness (Kindle Edition)
Fantastic story, well written, a must for biography fans I couldn't put it down. What more can I say brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Tailor of Inverness
The Tailor of Inverness by Matthew Zajac
£5.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews