Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A riveting account of a compulsive and devious serial killer
First we watch the villain relieve stress by committing both random and targeted homicides of hospital patients, including many to whom he was not assigned. Then we witness hospitals' efforts to protect their finances against lawsuits and to preserve their reputations take precedence over their obligation to protect patients. We wish we could share our knowledge with...
Published 17 months ago by Michael Wells Glueck

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
Bit slow and repetitive in places some medical jargon used
Published 2 months ago by bridge


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A riveting account of a compulsive and devious serial killer, 8 May 2013
First we watch the villain relieve stress by committing both random and targeted homicides of hospital patients, including many to whom he was not assigned. Then we witness hospitals' efforts to protect their finances against lawsuits and to preserve their reputations take precedence over their obligation to protect patients. We wish we could share our knowledge with police and private detectives attempting to unravel the causes of a burgeoning number of mysterious inpatient deaths. Finally, and most thrillingly, we participate vicariously in the reconstruction of the crimes' methodology by a nurse who recognizes in the villain an echo of an uncle who repeatedly molested her when she was a child unable to convince her parents of the truth of her accusations. In the process we learn about machines called Pyxis and Cerner that infallibly record nurses' drug orders and inpatients' medical histories. I sat in the back yard, activated the audio feature of the Kindle edition, and listened to the pleasant voice of a woman who reads quickly but who reveals her imperfect education and perhaps political preference by pronouncing "résumé" as "resume" and "Iraq" as "Eye-RACK."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shocking, 30 Sep 2013
This is a page turner. I was shocked at how long the killings continued, how difficult it was for the police to make a case, how willing hospital administrators were to cover up. We are so dependant on our carers when we are ill and so vulnerable. It highlights the importance of having good checks and balances in systems and workers who are willing to do a good job for the benefit of the patients. It is also a tribute to the two police officers who were relentless in their quest for the truth and in their determination to stop the killer. The other hero was the nurse who assisted the police.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I SHOULDN'T HAVE ENJOYED IT, 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book read more like a novel, making it even more chilling. Extremely well researched and written. Read all night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chilling, 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Nurse: A True Story of Medicine, Madness and Murder (Kindle Edition)
It amazes me that the laws in America caused the situation to remain unresolved for so long. Also that colleagues seemed to be afraid to blow the whistle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unbelievable, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a first rate book, the more you read the more you cannot believe what went on, you will find yourself cringeing at the injustices laid out here and will be thankful for the NHS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Nursing Abomination, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Nurse: A True Story of Medicine, Madness and Murder (Kindle Edition)
As a retired must nurse I find these stories horrific.Nurses are in a unique position of trust -an intimate daily contact. is established when the patient is at their most vulnerable.Never forget Beverley Allit. The stories must be told.thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptionally well written, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Nurse: A True Story of Medicine, Madness and Murder (Kindle Edition)
This book was so well written, couldn't put it down & disappointed when I finished it. Seems almost unbelievable that there are nurses that are able to move from hospital to hospital with ease and no questions asked about history. The reputation of hospitals appears more important to to management than the safety of patients & many people should feel responsible that a nurse has got away with so many murders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars true story, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Nurse: A True Story of Medicine, Madness and Murder (Kindle Edition)
makes good reading because it is a true story as well not for the faint hearted very good delivery time was very impressed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was a gift & the best recommendation is it was read in one sitting!! I can't wait to read it too!
Also arrived promptly, in excellent condition & packaged well ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Good Nurse, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Nurse: A True Story of Medicine, Madness and Murder (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this book, so true of what can and does go on not only in the world of the Health Care Industry but all big corporations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews