Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real gem!
This is a real gem! Superbly plotted and totally gripping. I downloaded 'Business is Murder' this morning and I was genuinely late for an appointment because I couldn't stop reading it! I loved it on so many levels: its believable, sharply observed characterisation; its crackling dialogue; its genuinely unexpected twists; its sharply humorous writing that caused me to...
Published 15 months ago by Martin Berry

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars funny and easy read
The character is quite funny, story easy to follow though quite predictable. A book to read in the train during a long commute but not more than that in my opinion.
Published 12 months ago by mihaela


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great character driven story, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Business Is Murder (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Ryan Kidd is an interesting character and the story draws you into a world of intrigue which fans of this genre will love. I don't usually read crime fiction, but this book, and in fact the whole series, has captured my imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Business is Murder, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Business Is Murder (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Another outing for Deptford`s Raymond Chandler, a fast pace entertaining thriller with many a twist and turn. Worth a read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Business is murder, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Business Is Murder (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
A great read will buy more books from this author very believable characters
Well worth reading more please worth reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lighthearted, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Business Is Murder (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Quite an entertaining book light hearted but captivating. When I started it didn't think I would finish it but I did and enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Tries hard, 6 Sep 2013
By 
Robert Sheed (Rotterdam, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Business Is Murder (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
When it comes to wise-cracking private detectives, only Raymond Chandler is worth 5 stars. This book is quite a page-turner, but I got the feeling the author (whose children's stories I rate very highly) is not trusting himself to write imaginatively and consequently relies heavily on cliches. Compare Chandler's 'cold as boarding-house soup' with Roger Hurn's 'cold as a witch's tit'. Chandler's may sound dated today, but it's well-observed and original. Hurn's is unoriginal and frankly meaningless. No private eye could stay ahead of the game while treading such well-worn and predictable paths in his thinking.

I've got no problem with the plot or the characters. Both are a little insubstantial but the author isn't alone in that. It's the style that really lets this novel down. The first person narrative is a strange, old-fashioned attempt at mid-Atlantic: 'I figured I'd better start earning my corn by asking some questions.' Okay, it's not all as bad as that but the voice is wrong for a modern novel.

There will be more novels to come. Roger Hurn has the talent to improve on this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Real page turner, 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Business Is Murder (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this book. I got quickly absorbed into the storyline and found it very hard to put down. Characters are really well portrayed and the use of simile is fantastic. Great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Indian intrigue, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Business Is Murder (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
This book was not for me I had never read a Roger Burn novel before and I won't be reading another
I do not appreciate gratuitous foul language even if it is the usual way of the characters. There are other ways of conveying atmosphere and situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Requires improvement, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Business Is Murder (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Too many cliches; too many stereotypes and a fanciful plot. I am not sure who the intended audience is for this rather short story. It is written well enough and did have the makings of an interesting character but, alas, either the author or the editor has clearly got this wrong.

It needs significant character development and much more reality in the plot. For example, one of the characters is described as a computer expert who cracks a Facebook password in a few minutes. Excuse me? Highly unlikely in the best of circumstances.

Must try harder.

I will not be following this author but congratulations to him for a book published which is an accomplishment in its own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hurn - the storyteller supreme!, 2 Jun 2013
This review is from: Business Is Murder (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Once again Roger Hurn takes us to a world we know so well and yet don't know at all. Business is indeed murder, and I for one would heartily encourage you to dive into Ryan Kid's latest adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's a no no, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Business Is Murder (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Didn't enjoy this authors writing style found it to be more like a comic than a serious story with all the jokey, jokey phrases. Shan't be reading any more Roger Hurn novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Business Is Murder (Kindle Single)
£1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews