Customer Reviews


95 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


97 of 103 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate CHIC experience for everyone!
This album has been a long time coming. Put simply, what we have here is most of the best CHIC Organization productions collected in their best mix and sounding the best they ever have on CD. For the casual fan, or any of the uninitiated who have learnt of CHIC due to Nile Rodgers' amazing work with Daft Punk, you have the most perfect collection to satisfy your needs...
Published 9 months ago by Funk lover

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ooh, I don't know
I bought this thanks to one superlative review on Amazon, explaining why the tracks here are better than usual, back to their original uptempo speeds. Which is true enough. Unfortunately, the sound does seem quite hollow and soulless, that empty eroticism worked on vinyl well enough, but on digital it's just too much. It's tinny, to my ears. Also, the stereo just doesn't...
Published 4 months ago by Mr. C. Morris


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

97 of 103 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate CHIC experience for everyone!, 4 July 2013
This review is from: The Chic Organization - Up All Night (The Greatest Hits) (Audio CD)
This album has been a long time coming. Put simply, what we have here is most of the best CHIC Organization productions collected in their best mix and sounding the best they ever have on CD. For the casual fan, or any of the uninitiated who have learnt of CHIC due to Nile Rodgers' amazing work with Daft Punk, you have the most perfect collection to satisfy your needs. For the long standing fan there is more here for you than meets the eye.

Many of the Chic Organization tracks were pitched up when released on vinyl in the classic 1977-82 period covered here. But when they began to appear on CD in the early nineties, they were mastered at a slower speed and therefore did not sound the way that we had enjoyed them on vinyl. I had hoped that this would finally be rectified for the release of Savoire Faire - The Chic Organization Boxset but this was not to be. Many have remarked that this set is an edited version of that box but to my mind it is clearly an improvement upon it in some ways.

Disc 1:
01) Chic "Le Freak" (5:18)
This is how the track appeared on the original C'est Chic LP and 12" Single. The version on most CD's since the early nineties is much slower.

02) Sister Sledge "He's The Greatest Dancer" (6:02)
This is how the track appeared on the original We Are Family LP and 12" Single. The version on most CD's since the early nineties is much slower.

03) Diana Ross "Upside Down" (4:02)
This is the original hit mix that appeared on the original Diana LP and 12" Single. The less familiar CHIC mix was featured on the boxset instead.

04) Chic "Everybody Dance" (8:19)
This is how the track appeared on the original 12" Single. The version on all previous CD's since the early nineties is much slower.

05) Sister Sledge "We Are Family" (8:07)
This is how the track appeared on the original We Are Family LP and 12" Single. The version on most CD's since the early nineties is much slower.

06) Sheila & B. Devotion "Spacer" (6:14)
This is how the track appeared on the original 12" Single. It has never been on CD in this version.

07) Chic "I Want Your Love" (6:48)
This is how the track appeared on the original C'est Chic LP and 12" Single. The version on most CD's since the early nineties is much slower and flatter. INFERIOR DIMITRI FROM PARIS REMIX FEATURED ON THE CHIC BOXSET.

08) Sister Sledge "Lost In Music" (4:41)
This is how the track appeared on the original We Are Family LP. The version on most CD's since the early nineties is much slower. INFERIOR DIMITRI FROM PARIS REMIX FEATURED ON THE CHIC BOXSET.

09) Norma Jean "Saturday" (6:03)
This is how the track appeared on the original Norma Jean LP and 12" Single. INFERIOR DIMITRI FROM PARIS REMIX FEATURED ON THE CHIC BOXSET.

10) Chic "Dance Dance Dance" (8:19)
This is how the track appeared on the original CHIC LP and 12" Single.

11) Sister Sledge "Got To Love Somebody" (6:48)
This is how the track appeared on the original Love Somebody Today LP and 12" Single.

12) Chic "My Feet Keep Dancing" (6:36)
This is how the track appeared on the original Risque LP and 12" Single. The version on most CD's since the early nineties is much slower.

Disc 2: (76:53)
01) Chic "Good Times" (8:05)
This is how the track appeared on the original Risque LP and 12" Single. The version on most CD's since the early nineties is much slower.

02) Diana Ross "I'm Coming Out" (5:19)
This is the original hit mix that appeared on the original Diana LP and 12" Single. The less familiar CHIC mix was featured on the boxset instead.

03) Carly Simon "Why" (8:08)
This is how the track appeared on the original 12" Single.

04) Chic "My Forbidden Lover" (6:23)
This is how the track appeared on the original 12" Single. It sounds much better than on the boxset.

05) Sister Sledge "Thinking Of You" (4:20)
This is how the track appeared on the original We Are Family LP. The version on most CD's since the early nineties is much slower. INFERIOR DIMITRI FROM PARIS REMIX FEATURED ON THE CHIC BOXSET.

06) Johnny Mathis "I Love My Lady" (5:19)
From an unreleased Johnny Mathis album CHIC produced in 1981. The track is the album's highlight and makes it's first appearance on a CHIC project here. NOT FEATURED ON THE CHIC BOXSET.

07) Debbie Harry "Backfired" (6:19)
This is how the track appeared on the original 12" Single.

08) Chic "Soup For One" (7:55)
This is how the track appeared on the original 12" Single.

09) Norma Jean "High Society" (6:05)
This is how the track appeared on the original 12" Single.

10) Sister Sledge "Reach Your Peak" (5:24)
This is how the track appeared on the original 12" Single.

11) Sheila & B. Devotion "Your Love Is Good" (4:45)
This is how the track appeared on the original US promo 12" Single. The sound quality is far improved than earlier CD masters.

12) Diana Ross "My Old Piano" (3:53)
This is the original hit mix that appeared on the original Diana LP and Single. NOT FEATURED ON THE CHIC BOXSET.

13) Chic "Chic Cheer" (4:40)
This is how the track appeared on the original C'est Chic LP and 12" Single. The version on most CD's since the early nineties is slower.

Quite simply, this set sounds better than any previous Chic CD release. The CHIC ORGANIZATION produced the classiest dance music in their heyday and it is collected here to enjoy like never before.

Simply ESSENTIAL! Buy now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The timeless sound of Chic, 2 July 2013
By 
OMG! It's got a plug! (Winchester) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chic Organization - Up All Night (The Greatest Hits) (Audio CD)
It's no coincidence that the cover of this compilation mimics that of Daft Punk's 'Get Lucky' single and takes its title from the song's lyrics. Nile Rodgers wrote and played the rhythm guitar part on it and it is, unmistakably, the sound of Chic in 2013.

Consisting of 2 hours and 34 minutes of music recorded between 1977 and 1982, Chic not only salvaged the reputation of disco in the late seventies but enhanced it and took it to another level. Over 30 years later their music still sounds relevant and it transcends the disco era. With Rodgers' repetitive and addictive rhythm guitar riffs under-pinned by Bernard Edwards' extraordinary bass grooves, this is sophisticated, elegant, soulful and funky music. Add in the keyboards, strings, vocals and Tony Thompson's percussion and you have some of the most timeless music imaginable.

The nine songs by Chic and those by Sister Sledge and Diana Ross need little introduction. The Sister Sledge songs could almost be billed as Chic featuring Sister Sledge given that Rodgers and Edwards wrote, produced, arranged and played on them. Also featured is the 12" version of Debbie Harry's first solo single 'Backfired' (and it did indeed backfire - it flopped in both the US and UK) that's rescued by a killer bass groove from Edwards. Recorded in 1981, Johnny Mathis' 'I Love My Lady' is previously unreleased and it features a Samba backing track and although not particularly bad, it's one of the weaker songs here. Carly Simon's mid-tempo UK top ten hit 'Why' sounds lightweight now but it's (unsurprisingly!) rescued by the bass line. Shelia's 'Your Love Is Good' is smoother than smooth and Norma Jean Wright's 'Saturday' is, like almost everything else here, a joyous dancefloor filler.

Often imitated but never bettered (and extensively sampled), this is the perfect introduction to The Chic Organization. The liner notes include a brief but comprehensive overview of Chic and all of the songs featured. To emphasise the timeless appeal of this music, you could slot the aforementioned Daft Punk single anywhere on this two disc set and it wouldn't sound out of place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick Note About Gaps, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chic Organization - Up All Night (The Greatest Hits) (Audio CD)
Without wishing to comment on the merits of brief gaps, I just wanted to mention that there IS indeed a clear gap between the tracks - it's not one of those horrid 'sequenced' releases that spoil the tracks for DJs, iPod rippers, or anyone who likes to re-burn their own selections onto CDRs for the car. A marvellous release, also it's mastered not too loud either so you can really use the volume controls to get the best out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab....reliving my youth!, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chic Organization - Up All Night (The Greatest Hits) (Audio CD)
If you love this era of music...buy! It brought all those happy memories back and is blasted from my room all the time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chic CD - Up all Night, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chic Organization - Up All Night (The Greatest Hits) (Audio CD)
Fabulous songs, take you back to fun times of the 70's / 80's. Didn't realise Nile Rodgers had written so many songs, a really excellent toe tapping, sing along selection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good toe-tapping fun!!, 25 July 2013
By 
Mr. B. A. French "bazzafrench" (Hampton Hill, Middx) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chic Organization - Up All Night (The Greatest Hits) (Audio CD)
There is not a lot more I can add here that has not already been said. A brilliant double CD collection of happy music to listen to whilst doing boring household tasks like the ironing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classics !!!!!!!!, 10 July 2013
By 
Mr. T. E. Harney (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have to agree with one review who said they do sound like they are at the right speed and sound like when they where on record. Love chic music since the 70s you cant not get better tunes for summer love the album well worth the money well happy :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE THIS!!, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chic Organization - Up All Night (The Greatest Hits) (Audio CD)
I bought this for my self and one for my friend. We both love it very much! Its got all the greats on it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On My Word!! Memories..., 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chic Organization - Up All Night (The Greatest Hits) (Audio CD)
This is one of the best albums i've bought in a while. Great tunes bringing back great memories. I am afraid i will have to replace it as it rarely seems to be out of the CD player!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chic Organization - Up All Night (The Greatest Hits) (Audio CD)
Play on the way to work - lifts your spirits and sets you up for the day.... I would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa26a55d0)

This product

The Chic Organization - Up All Night (The Greatest Hits)
The Chic Organization - Up All Night (The Greatest Hits) by The Chic Organization (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews