Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good read
Whether you know of Richard III through Shakespeare, Philippa Gregory or general history this is a good assessment of what we actually do know about the enigmatic king. It tackles the main Shakespearean points against him and showcases the contemporary sources without being too long a read. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it.
Published 12 months ago by Lowe

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars History
There was nothing new in this book, but the issues were clearly set as were the pros and cons in each case. A reasonable overview of the arguments surrounding this monarch.
Published 12 months ago by Jonquil A. McVey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Concise and without prejudice, 10 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard III: Return of the King (Kindle Edition)
Thoroughly enjoyed this book, it is written in a question and answer form, and covers all the main points or king Richard. Would recommend it to anyone newly interested in the story of Richard 111
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good read, 1 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard III: Return of the King (Kindle Edition)
Whether you know of Richard III through Shakespeare, Philippa Gregory or general history this is a good assessment of what we actually do know about the enigmatic king. It tackles the main Shakespearean points against him and showcases the contemporary sources without being too long a read. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good gripping read, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard III: Return of the King (Kindle Edition)
A good unbiased account of Richard's life. I found it a very informative and fair account of his life. He remains a fascinating historical figure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard III: Return of the King (Kindle Edition)
I purchased this as a companion read to the BBC series 'The White Queen'. It added another perspective to this interesting period in history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RICHARD 111, 12 Sep 2013
This review is from: Richard III: Return of the King (Kindle Edition)
I LIKE OTHERS WERE BROUGHT UP THINKING THAT RICHARD 111 WAS THE VILLAN BUT IN FACT ACCORDING TO THIS BOOK, HE ACTUALLY DID A LOT OF GOOD AND CHANGED A LOT OF LAWS IN FAVOUR OF PEASANTS AS WELL AS THE GENTRY: EG: HE WAS THE ONE THAT INSTIGATED BAIL AND A PERSON WASN'T GUILTY UNTIL PROVEN: PLUS LAND LAWS: THE GENTRY COULD NOT TAKE AWAY PEASANTS LAND:
I ALSO HAD NO IDEA HE WAS MARRIED: HAD A CHILD AND THAT HIS WIFE QUEEN ANNE HAD BEEN HIS CHILDHOOD SWEETHEART:
IT WAS EXPLAINED IN THE BOOK THAT WILLIAM SHAKESPEARE WROTE WHAT THE TUDOR'S WANTED TO HEAR: ALSO THERE WAS NO PROOF THAT HE INSTIGATED THE DEATH OF HIS 2 NEPHEWS:
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars History, 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard III: Return of the King (Kindle Edition)
There was nothing new in this book, but the issues were clearly set as were the pros and cons in each case. A reasonable overview of the arguments surrounding this monarch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Richard III Return of the King, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard III: Return of the King (Kindle Edition)
Well documented History wise, enjoyed the story once I had everyone in their respective Order/
Would recommend it as a worthwhile lesson in Old English History and explains how the Cousins war was so important n English History
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars an overview of Richard lll, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard III: Return of the King (Kindle Edition)
Having no preconceived thoughts I came with an open mind
Would recommend anyone wanting to weigh their own informed thoughts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not the best of Richard III reads, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard III: Return of the King (Kindle Edition)
This book sets out the main points in the debate about Richard III's character and deeds. However, the author's awful grammar and very bad writing got in the way of what she was trying to do, which was to set out the pros and cons in a neutral fashion, and I quickly I grew tired of the repeated 'we'll never know'. I was left with the feeling that I couldn't trust the scholarship of Patricia Collins and this will definitely go to the bottom of my Richard III reading list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Guilty or not, 19 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard III: Return of the King (Kindle Edition)
The book literally lists King Richard's alleged crimes and the author, who has researched extensively, gives an outline and any evidence that makes Richard a suspect or not. Some of the alleged crimes seems suspect but others pure fantasy such as the murder of the last Lancastrian Prince of Wales, Prince Edward.. But at the end of the day, it's really up to the reader to decide for himself or herself if Richard is guilty or not. But in today's justice, one is innocent until 'proven' guilty in a court of law.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Richard III: Return of the King
Richard III: Return of the King by Patricia J. Collins
£1.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews