Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect....
I really enjoyed this book, although if you look through the Amazon.com reviews you will see that it polarises opinion. It does have some sex scenes, but it is (in my opinion) hardly Penthouse Readers' Wives as one reviewer said - it is much closer to On Dublin Street with some sex scenes in a strong story setting.

There are some typos, and it also has quite a...
Published 13 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Sure
I sort of enjoyed this book & then again not. Far too much emphasis on the sex, although the stories are spot on. I think the character Aneka, is far to superior to her opponents. She should be a little more vulnerable. I don't know maybe in the later books she starts showing kinks in her armour.
I suppose i will have to download the second book & see what happens.
Published 3 months ago by Sam Redfern


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect...., 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steel Beneath the Skin (Aneka Jansen Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book, although if you look through the Amazon.com reviews you will see that it polarises opinion. It does have some sex scenes, but it is (in my opinion) hardly Penthouse Readers' Wives as one reviewer said - it is much closer to On Dublin Street with some sex scenes in a strong story setting.

There are some typos, and it also has quite a few paragraphs of descriptions of clothes which don't always advance the story (although the description of the 'Swarm Dress' was wonderfully imaginative).

So not quite perfect, but with a genuinely enjoyable story that makes you want to keep reading. There are plenty of possibilities for another book (or a series) and I'd certainly read it / them when published.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 13 Aug 2013
By 
L. P. Woodley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steel Beneath the Skin (Aneka Jansen Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This has got to be the first book in a series, the plot has so many openers in it that only an absolute tease would not continue on with a second, third or even fourth book. Whilst I think the sex in the book is a little too much (sorry but it will get boring after a while) I can see that the author is cutting them to the minimum where they do not add much to the story line.

The thought that the future is not perfect and that aside from a few small changes humans are still the same is reassuring, the understanding of the past (our current time) has added some humour (Elvis as the King of America).

I would not want to give too much away but I do rate this book and await a follow on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not Sure, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steel Beneath the Skin (Aneka Jansen Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I sort of enjoyed this book & then again not. Far too much emphasis on the sex, although the stories are spot on. I think the character Aneka, is far to superior to her opponents. She should be a little more vulnerable. I don't know maybe in the later books she starts showing kinks in her armour.
I suppose i will have to download the second book & see what happens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steel Beneath the Skin (Aneka Jansen Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Interesting story idea, shame about the lack of character development & almost juvenile teenage boy sexual fantasy obsession which turned a story with potential into a boring monologue
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Stories are not bad at all, 8 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steel Beneath the Skin (Aneka Jansen Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Soft porn - but the stories are not bad at all. I have bought and an reading the next book in the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great story........., 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steel Beneath the Skin (Aneka Jansen Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
..................shame about the sex. I realise that our heros have sex, but some of the descriptions are a bit more detailed than I would have expected from a science fiction book.

I love the concept of the story, and I've bought (and read) the second and third books as well, so Niall Teasdale can undoubtably write a good story, but the sex just gets in the way of a good story, although it is being toned down in the second and third books. Niall, don't stop writing stories about Aneka Jansen - You write 'em I'll buy 'em.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 50 shades of steel, 22 Jan 2014
By 
J. GUDGE "Sky Blue" (Coventry, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steel Beneath the Skin (Aneka Jansen Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Very enjoyable read, loved reading the whole book, couldn't wait to start reading the next bit. After I finished reading this book I started to read the first jack teacher book and found myself thinking call in Aneka Jansen she will sort it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steel Beneath the Skin (Aneka Jansen Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The writing and story are reasonably well done but the sex scenes do jar. I can accept that the author may be trying to show that attitudes to sex are more relaxed but it doesn't work the way they're written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nearly good., 5 Jan 2014
By 
S. Maller "(Steve)" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steel Beneath the Skin (Aneka Jansen Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Seems like the author thought only 13 year old boys would read this and so filled it full of sex. Irrelevant sex that just got in the way. In fact the premise of a soldier captured by aliens, personality emulated on an android body and then resurrected in the far future is a good one. Lots of opportunity for space opera, action, conflict...no need really for all the sex. I might read a sequel, but if I do I'll skip the eroticism and flick forward to the violence, which is far better...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Liked, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steel Beneath the Skin (Aneka Jansen Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
first time I've read anything by this author and quite liked it but seemed to be more interested in introducing the characters and the background, will be interesting to see how the series develops.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews