Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it
Bought as a present, was unsure if it was going to be any good or just repeat tunes from other season's but I found this to be a Really good cd, all the tunes from season 3.really impressed the music is fantastic
Published 7 months ago by Jonathan Waterworth

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good - but could've been better...
For me, there are 3 tracks that really stand out on this soundtrack. "A Lannister Always Pays His Debts" is one, a heroic orchestral version of 'The Rains of Castamere' that will definitely get you humming. Then there's "Myhsa", a rendition of the Daenerys theme for female and children's voices, undoubtedly the most soaringly beautiful thing Djawadi has ever composed...
Published 17 months ago by Calvin Scholtz


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good - but could've been better..., 6 Jun 2013
By 
Calvin Scholtz (Cape Town, South Africa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Game of Thrones (Music from the HBO® Series) Season 3 (MP3 Download)
For me, there are 3 tracks that really stand out on this soundtrack. "A Lannister Always Pays His Debts" is one, a heroic orchestral version of 'The Rains of Castamere' that will definitely get you humming. Then there's "Myhsa", a rendition of the Daenerys theme for female and children's voices, undoubtedly the most soaringly beautiful thing Djawadi has ever composed. Finally, "For the Realm" is the main title theme played by Djawadi himself on an unaccompanied classical guitar.

My problem with this album, though, is that Djawadi seems to rely too much on themes from seasons 1 & 2 and hasn't created enough new material. "Dracarys" is a military setting of the Daenerys theme, with male choir and percussion - it's good, but over far too soon. "Chaos is a Ladder" begins and ends with an interesting motif reminiscent of Mansell's "Requiem for a Dream", but the rest of it we've heard before in Season 2. "I Have to Go North" is also nice, but it's essentially just a reworking of 'The King in the North' from Season 1.

Of course there is some new material, eg. in "You Know Nothing", but it's not very melodic or memorable. The one completely new theme written for season 3 was for the song 'The Bear and the Maiden Fair'. Presented on this album is the rock version heard in the Episode 3 credits. It's nice enough, but is really only worth listening to for a minute and a half. What I am really missing here is the instrumental/diegetic version of the song played at Tyrion's wedding, as well as at The Red Wedding. Now that was a lively jig and would've made me a lot happier had it been included on this album!

There are other enjoyable tracks, like "Wall of Ice" and "White Walkers", which develop the musical soundscape of the North in a sophisticated and satisfying way. It's also nice that they put "Shireen's Song" on the album, a heartbreaking little tune. But, for every track you like, there's probably one you'll hate. "The Night is Dark" is a complete waste of space on the soundtrack, and I feel that too much attention is given to Theon, with 2 tracks of about 3 min each. What about the music from the Hound's duel with Lord Beric, for example?

What I also don't understand is why the soundtracks for "Game of Thrones" have been getting shorter in length as the seasons go by? Usually it's the other way round! Season 1 was around 66 min, Season 2 56 min, and now Season 3 is 53 min long. Now, 53 min is not a bad length for a soundtrack, as long as that time is filled with quality. But this album does not sound complete to my ears. Where is a track to represent the Brotherhood, or something to represent Tyrion's issues? Perhaps a few extra tracks on this album could've improved its overall quality.

I will buy this CD when it releases for my collection, but alas I don't think I will listen to it as much as I listen to the soundtracks to Season 1 & 2. And that is a pity, because it's a long wait for Volume 4...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought as a present, was unsure if it was going to be any good or just repeat tunes from other season's but I found this to be a Really good cd, all the tunes from season 3.really impressed the music is fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Its One Of The Best Soundtracks!!!, 24 April 2014
By 
Firstly the composer of the Series Ramin Djawadi has done a really awesome job to the Game Of Thrones soundtrack. This is one of the best ones out of the series so far. Many themes have now been added into bigger songs and played in bigger ways as opposed to the first soundtrack from season 1 where you had the equivalent of 29 ideas, (but that includes parts that were reused and played in different ways, and some which may only play for 1 and a half minute!) The thing is that some people don't realise is its like Mother Of Dragons her theme has appeared on all three soundtracks just in different ways! As her force grows in the series we hear it in the music different ways, and this is what really good composers do! I do think they maybe some point to more scenic music becoming a little less in game of thrones this maybe true but its the natural progression on whats going on into the show! Look at Season 1 soundtrack we got all these lovely pieces saying the king is coming to winterfell. But from Season 3 you have progressed to a all out war and chaos everywhere. There isnt time for music and fighting (As Much) Its a time for fights and talking. And that's why you will get less music like that! But overall this season has a really awesome soundtrack and its great amazing ideas in the pieces!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Never a disappointment, 23 Mar 2014
By 
Cat Powell (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ramin Djawadi is a genius. The more you listen to each song the more you appreciate the detail put into every score. Amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the best out of the three, 23 Nov 2013
By 
Anna (England, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i find that the season three soundtrack is the best one. less brassy sounds, more indigenous and classical tones. there is an additional track at the end of the album - guitar solo - definitely going to be my phone ringtone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Game of Thrones, Season 3 soundtrack, 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The soundtrack itself is ok. Most of the songs are pretty nice but IMHO, there are no instant classics like the First Season's "King's Arrival" or the Second Season's "the Rains of Castamere".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a bit disappointing, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After the haunting themes introduced for season 2 (Mother of dragons, Winterfell,...), the soundtrack for season III leaves me a bit underwhelmed. Just some playing around with bits and pieces previously introduced, nothing that really stands out. Let's hope Ramin Djawadi finds inspiration and brings new material for the introduction of the Red Viper and his homeregion of Dorne in season IV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 6 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game of Thrones (Music from the HBO® Series) Season 3 (MP3 Download)
I don't normally buy music but i did buy this it's an amazing collection of some quite varying styles of music and i love the show the music being one of the aspects i love the most.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars music fantastic, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very good product, offer for my wife he loved it

the rating has to do with price and product quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Songs not in the right order, 6 Jun 2013
This review is from: Game of Thrones (Music from the HBO® Series) Season 3 (MP3 Download)
It's odd how the songs are not in the order that they were played in the show. However, that's nothing a little track number changing can't fix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews