Customer Reviews


204 Reviews
5 star:
 (157)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Calling Me Home is a true Weepie
The novel begins slowly and gently but will have you in tears before the end. Well I cried lots, and that doesn't happen often.

Based on events in her own grandmothers life this is a fictionalised story mainly set in the late 1930's in Kentucky.
Isabelle is a rebellious over protected sixteen year old who falls in love with the black housekeeper's son...
Published 13 months ago by elsie purdon

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Calling me home. Nice story
Not a bad little story, easy typical holiday read, not taxing on the brain. Always good to tackle the subject if black and white, and to find no reason why we cant all get along on gods good earth
Published 11 months ago by Old Mod


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Calling Me Home is a true Weepie, 23 Jun 2013
By 
elsie purdon "reads too much" (dorset uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Calling Me Home (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The novel begins slowly and gently but will have you in tears before the end. Well I cried lots, and that doesn't happen often.

Based on events in her own grandmothers life this is a fictionalised story mainly set in the late 1930's in Kentucky.
Isabelle is a rebellious over protected sixteen year old who falls in love with the black housekeeper's son Robert.
In the chapters set in the present day Isabelle is now 89 years old and is being driven to a funeral by Dorrie the young black woman who is her hairdresser. The two women have been friendly but neither really knows the other well. This will change over the two day journey.

As they travel the 1,000 mile journey Isabelle tells Dorrie the story of her life, Dorrie tries to cope with her family problems by phone and together they both handle the casual racism that is still part of everyday life.

The racism of the 1930's is intense, shocking and cruel. Human beings can be so cruel, also so cold and unfeeling even towards their own family.

What makes the book so good is that it really picks up a pace and carries you along with all the different feelings and emotions. The characters are beautifully written and vivid. Close to the finish I was so immersed that I couldn't stop reading until the last page.

This not a depressing read either, sad and emotional yes. It is also packed with details and information about that era which I found interesting and I learnt a lot while reading.
Totally recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Memorable, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Calling Me Home (Paperback)
This story of the deep south and ingrained racial divisions really drew me in and I found it difficult to put down. Good ending too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and touching, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Calling Me Home (Kindle Edition)
This is a beautiful and touching story about the most important values in humans life and about the great power of love. We get also an interesting social background, focused especially on the racial discrimination in former times and nowadays, too. Deep and true. Strongly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Calling me home. Nice story, 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Calling Me Home (Kindle Edition)
Not a bad little story, easy typical holiday read, not taxing on the brain. Always good to tackle the subject if black and white, and to find no reason why we cant all get along on gods good earth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great, 11 Jan 2014
This review is from: Calling Me Home (Kindle Edition)
After reading the synopsis and a few of the reviews on amazon, I was very much looking forward to a riveting and moving tale of an interracial relationship in the historically less progressive southern states of America. Though the majority of the prior is true, I found this story slightly less than moving due to its painful predictability. On the whole, I think the author does a nice job in creating atmosphere and progressing the novel but lacks the descriptive technique needed to personalise the less central characters in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good in parts, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Calling Me Home (Kindle Edition)
A light read, predictable characters and plot. No surprises but perfect for a holiday or 10 minute nightly sleep ritual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This book is quite good, 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Calling Me Home (Kindle Edition)
I bought this to read on the beach. It was enjoyable and quite well written - in no way as good though as The Help to which it has been compared. I did cry towards the end though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It didn't make me cry but did keep me engrossed, 25 Sep 2013
By 
BusyReader "mrs28" (Midlands UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Calling Me Home (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Reminiscent of The Help or Driving Miss Daisy but essentially a love story telling of a forbidden love in the 1930s between a white girl and the black son of her family's housekeeper , it includes racism , women's and civil rights and
It has lovely characters and a good ending and I think will appeal to many different readers !
I particularly liked the ending where the author advises that the issues within still continue and "it's up to you to be the change" !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get Those Hankies Ready!, 30 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. John Frank Herbert (Greenwich, London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Calling Me Home (Paperback)
Being a man I guess I shouldn't admit to such a thing.
But here goes.
Consider then, that having journeyed through this riveting tale, through 300 magical pages,
that I sit here now absolutely drained, and blubbering like an idiot!!

Mind you, as the book moves beautifully towards its conclusion, I started to feel the little
twinges of a tear attempting to inhibit my reading; slowly but surely, as the story unfolds,
I'm fighting with my handkerchief, wiping away the cascade of tears, in order to continue reading.

Not everything in this world is black and white but Julie Kibler's unforgettable trek screams otherwise.
White, 89 year old Isabelle arranges for her young coloured hair stylist to drive her to a funeral,
all the way from Texas to Ohio, relating on the way how she fell in love with a coloured boy.
This was not so long ago when it wasn't so much a taboo, but in the eyes of bigots more a hanging offence.

If that isn't enough, Dorrie, the hair stylist, has issues of her own, and both sets of events run
concurrently in a masterful web of storytelling.

And if you think you can relax when things settle down at the end, you're in for a shock.
If you've got a heart and in's fully functioning, prepare for it to be broken as you hit the final
paragraphs.
You will never forget this story!
Pick up your broken heart and feel inspired!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THIS JUST BROKE MY HEART, 12 May 2013
By 
Mrs. C. Swarfield - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Calling Me Home (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Even though I am glad I read this book and it stayed with me for a
long time after I finished it it is heartbreakingly sad.

Dorrie and Isabelle are unlikely friends - but they have been friends
for many years Dorrie is a black hairdresser and Isabelle is her
elderly white client. Isabele presumes on Isabelles friendship and
asks her to drive her across the country as she has to atternd a funeral.

Dorries has troubles aplenty of her own but nevertheless agrees to take
her. What trasnspires then is so heartbreakingly sad - as a young girl
Isablle is saved from an unpleasant older man by the housekeeper's sowho is black -
they become friends then more and disregarding the cruel racial divide
events overtake them with heartbreaking results.

What makes this a particularly poignant read is that it is based on the events
of the author's own grandmother's life. Awonderful book but so heartbreakingly
sad - you will be reduced to tears - but emotionally brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews