Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it!!!
If you liked their 1st album then you'll love this one
It is just a continuation of their very distinctive yet genius style every bit as good as walking on a dream
I could go through the track listings 1 by 1 but there is no need, the first is a short instrumental which have never really done anything for me because I'm one of those that loves to sing along in...
Published 12 months ago by oliver jones

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre
An album full of techno beats. Sadly not for me. Preferred their last one. There are a few songs that are good but the majority just sound like fillers. However I would like to say that the first first copy I originally received was faulty. After contacting Music2000 I was was promptly sent a new copy. No need to return previous copy and incur expensive returns costs so...
Published 7 months ago by laurie


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it!!!, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ice On The Dune (Audio CD)
If you liked their 1st album then you'll love this one
It is just a continuation of their very distinctive yet genius style every bit as good as walking on a dream
I could go through the track listings 1 by 1 but there is no need, the first is a short instrumental which have never really done anything for me because I'm one of those that loves to sing along in the car!! The last track is my least favourite, but still a good tune, and every thing in between is absolutely exceptional!!
If you like this or their 1st album and you haven't got 'lovers' by 'the sleepy Jackson' then I highly recommend that you buy that too
I dont often pre order a cd without hearing any of it first, but with this I'm so glad that i did,
Worth every penny!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ice On The Dune (MP3 Download)
Extremely polished sound. Didnt think they could improve on the last. Dont think theres any song I don't like. Ideal album for any commute to work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A glistening, mostly excellent collection of dance pop tunes., 24 Jun 2013
This review is from: Ice On The Dune (Audio CD)
1. Lux - Ever the exhibitionists, the album opens on a mystical sounding instrumental filled with rolling drums, grand and illuminating keyboards and an atmosphere that's a bit Egyptian tinged. Very ominous yet epic. It could be considered a bit unnecessary but at least it's short and interesting. 3/5

2. DNA - Basically the We Are The People of this new album and therefore, an absolute highlight. Urgent acoustic chord swipes mesh with joyous vocals before the hammering drums and swaggering synth come in and steps things up a few hundred notches. The chorus is amazing. 5/5

3. Alive - A wildly joyous and anthemic dance number. Fuelled by pretty falsetto vocals which are sung in a chanted fashion and a passionate, wide eyed chorus. A triumphant feel good number. 5/5

4. Concert Pitch - The verse has a punchy drumbeat, rigid and woozy keyboards and confident, lovestruck vocals. It has a catchy chord progression. The chorus is a sugary, fantastic spectacle with softly sung, yearning vocals. Lovely song. 5/5

5. Ice On The Dune - Verses are a bit meandering and simplistic compared to previous songs. It sounds like Waiting For A Star To Fall for a split second just before the chorus (just a random observation there!). Chorus is very good although it feels a bit too grounded and didn't lift off like I thought it would. Good dance number though. 4/5

6. Awakening - Opens with a slinky, funky disco tempo. More laidback than previous songs. It strides rather than soars. It's all a bit forgettable though and it's the first song on the album that I got bored of before the end. 3/5

7. I'll Be Around - Relaxed, soft groove with gently howling guitars and atmospheric, echoing vocals. Dreamy chorus comes in and washes over you with its shimmering magic. Reminded me a bit of The Police. Very 80's. 4/5

8. Old Flavours - Back into conventional dance territory. A brief buildup leads into a great big smackdown of drums and a catchy earworm melody layered with beautifully intertwined synth melodies. Near the end there is a very theatrical breakdown with a rising and falling keyboard line before lunging back into the euphoric main song thread. Not as much vocals as the other tracks but a banging tune all the same. 5/5

9. Celebrate - The song starts off good but gets a bit tiresome and monotonous after a while. The verse is average with vocoder vocals reminiscent of Daft Punk and chorus is nothing special either as it essentially a minor reworking of the verse. One of the weaker tracks. 3/5

10. Surround Sound - Angular rhythm with skittering drums, less dancey. Didn't really work for me, it was quite average. 3/5

11. Disarm - After the last few mediocre efforts, things pick up thanks to a strong melody and an immense chorus. Opens on an icy synth riff that mirrors the chorus vocal line. Extremely catchy. Great stuff. 4/5

12. Keep A Watch - The slowest song on the album and caps the album off on a drifting ballad note just as `Without You' closed the previous album. It's pleasant enough with its heartaching verse chord progression and the gorgeous atmosphere. Chorus isn't as good though. A nice song but not outstanding. 3/5

SUMMARY: A great dance album that becomes a tiny bit shaky and inconsistent towards the end due to a few noble but inferior experiments. But the brilliant tracks make this album a more than worthwhile purchase and if you give it a chance, you'll most likely find your soundtrack for this summer and many more to come!

HIGHLIGHTS
-DNA
-Alive
-Concert Pitch
-Odd Flavours
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good album, but beware the autorip filter., 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ice On The Dune (Audio CD)
A bit more homogenous and hence not as quirky (and therefore possibly not quite as interesting) as the previous album.

That said, still a good album with a distinct antipodean sound.

However, I selected my CD copy by name with the autorip filter option enabled - the item that it selected was actually supplied by "fulfillment express" (who the **** are they?) and not by amazon, hence no autorip supplied.

Amazon need to fix their filter ! Complaint registered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The Empire Strikes Back", 26 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ice On The Dune (MP3 Download)
A really fantastic follow up to previous album .Familiar yet progressive enough to keep you looking for more.
Gets better with each listen.Favourite album of the year so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The track 'We are people' was out five years ago when my mum died and it resonates with me in a sad but positive way, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ice On The Dune (Audio CD)
I'm of a certain age and so I've heard a lot of music in my time and can sort the wheat from the chaff if you know what I mean. The track 'We are people' was out five years ago when my mum died and it resonates with me in a sad but positive way, which in fact typifies their last album. This album is different, more uplifting, more of a celebration of life carrying on. I'm not a shrink but this album is a cure for the blues and should be commended for the bright musical canvass it presents. These guys do it for me and you'll either love it or hate it, but from a musical standpoint they are to Fleetwood Mack, what Oasis are to the Beatles. You can hear a clear influence, but it still has an originality all of its own. Absolutely love it. Third album please guys. Now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ice On The Dune (Audio CD)
Great summer music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5** Ice On the Dune - can't wait for the next album!!, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ice On The Dune (Audio CD)
If you loved EotS first album you'll LOVE Ice on the Dune - it's even more amazing!! Discovered this band by accident, just before they started to become known in the UK and you began hearing their tracks used for TV adverts etc. Can't stop listening to my CD, and when I'm not playing it the songs are still going around in my head.
Hope EotS read these ratings, and don't keep their fans waiting so long for the next album! Please...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Real pop music at last, 27 Feb 2014
This review is from: Ice On The Dune (Audio CD)
I prefer the first album but I do think this a wonderful upbeat album. Very catchy and atmospheric tunes with lyrics that compliment the mood of each song. I must add that this album is very similar to Fleetwood Macs " Tango in the night" which is not a bad thing. Alive is an absolute gem of a single and DNA is very moody and enthralling. Love the imagery of the band as it's very reminiscent of the early new romantics like the amazing Toyah and Steve Strange. Great to have bands like this around
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 22 Feb 2014
By 
Mrs. K. J. Cayless "karen" (cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ice On The Dune (Audio CD)
Excellent CD if you liked the first one you will love this my favorite tracks are alive, keep a watch and celebrate certainly one for your collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ice On The Dune
Ice On The Dune by Empire Of The Sun
Buy MP3 Album8.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews