Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful story
Had trouble putting this bad boy down. I just had to know how it was all going to end.

Loved the characters. The story was well thought out and had me hooked from start to finish.

Would definitely suggest to friends.
Published 16 months ago by Mrs DeBurca

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars far too saccharine, suffers from an excess of cliches, a surfeit of terrible dialogue, excessive fairy-tale elements and tedious
This was far too saccharine, suffers from an excess of cliches, a surfeit of terrible dialogue, excessive fairy-tale elements and tedious. I TRIED TO ENJOY IT!
There were ridiculous plot holes, cringe-worthy dialogue and the male lead resembled a Pop Star (like Justin Bieber) rather than a Rock Star.

The front cover gave away that it'd be a fluffy chick...
Published 19 months ago by Goddess of Blah Book Reviews


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars While Snowbound, 6 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: While Snowbound (Unlocked Hearts Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
This book tries to show that "you shouldn't judge a book by its cover" and in many ways succeeds with that. There are some funny parts to this book such as the example of Brady in a snowstorm using a wig as a hat, and the interaction between Brady and Ella is good to read as she isn't prepared to take any rubbish from him. Being with cell phone service, TV or internet is a great way of getting to know someone and this is what happens with Brady and Ella.

On the downside, there was a great deal of Sam (the dog) mentioned at the beginning, especially with her being a special needs dog but then it's like she was forgotten about halfway through. It is also hard to believe that Brady could disappear for a month without anybody noticing, even with him trying to cover his tracks like he did. It is obvious from the writing that Anna McIntyre knows intimately the Amazon Kindle Self-Publishing site, plus Goodreads, plus the other sites that are mentioned and it is interesting to read a bit on how it works. However, it did seem to take over a bit. The ending, as has already been mentioned in other reviews, does seem a bit rushed. You have 99% of the book with problems and situations and then *snap of the fingers* it's sorted.

On the whole though, this is an enjoyable book that you can curl up with for a winter read that you don't expect too much depth from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful story, 3 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: While Snowbound (Unlocked Hearts Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Had trouble putting this bad boy down. I just had to know how it was all going to end.

Loved the characters. The story was well thought out and had me hooked from start to finish.

Would definitely suggest to friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 13 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: While Snowbound (Unlocked Hearts Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Yes, this is a sweet, gentle romance, not a hot and heavy, as a previous reviewer has indicated. But with the word 'sensual' in the series title, that was kind of implied. In fact, it was why I picked it from my tbr list on my kindle ... it was exactly what I was looking for today, and I wasn't disappointed.

Both characters are well written, have their own voices, rather than the female being a foil to the man as they can sometimes be, and the story is well structured and believable. I like the way it takes time to gather speed, rather than leaping in with both feet - much prefer that kind of slow burn romance than the act, repent and panic kind.

By the end, I came away feeling good, and will definitely be reading more of this author in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome read, 26 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: While Snowbound (Unlocked Hearts Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
You will laugh and cry and really get into the book with them. It is so good it should be a film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Snowlicious, 5 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: While Snowbound (Unlocked Hearts Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I decided to read and review this book after reading a one star review that left me curious about a book really being that bad. I can safely say it wasn't. I loved it and didn't put it down from start to finish. The romance was amazing and realistic enough to make me feel like it just might happen like that. It made me wish I had my very own cabin in a mountain to generate my very own happy ever after.

Brilliant romance story and a great quick read to warm the heart
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: While Snowbound (Unlocked Hearts Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars far too saccharine, suffers from an excess of cliches, a surfeit of terrible dialogue, excessive fairy-tale elements and tedious, 4 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: While Snowbound (Unlocked Hearts Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
This was far too saccharine, suffers from an excess of cliches, a surfeit of terrible dialogue, excessive fairy-tale elements and tedious. I TRIED TO ENJOY IT!
There were ridiculous plot holes, cringe-worthy dialogue and the male lead resembled a Pop Star (like Justin Bieber) rather than a Rock Star.

The front cover gave away that it'd be a fluffy chick lit type read but I read "famous rocker" and thought I'd give it a try.

When I started skipping pages (the story really dragged) I gave up reading it and went to the end to see how it pans out. Jeez what a fair-tale.

================
The Characters

Hero - Brady Gates: he reminded me a of a silly pop star. Its not due to his lifestyle (there are indie/rock stars who are "clean" e.g. The Killers) but it's more due to his persona, appearance, attitude and language.
He didn't have that edge - books starring rock stars ought to have (at least) some grit.
Another thing that didn't make sense were Brady's problem with the pap. It seems authors fall into this trap thinking that if you're rich (billionaires suffer a similar fate) or famous than the paps constantly hound you. That's not actually true - there are many BIG artists and rich people who manage to avoid this.
They generally live in areas where the paps aren't likely to be (the paps won't just "attack" one star unless it's Lady Di - they attack whomever they consider tabloid fodder hence the big cities LA, NY, London etc or areas with a concentrated celeb quota will be targeted).
I think the author really exaggerated the paps hunting determination (like going all the way to a remote cabin to take a few pics??). Rock music isn't even mainstream like pop so generally rock stars are less of a target than pop stars such as Bieber.
other than that the hero comes across like Justin Bieber, particularly during the first few chapters (self absorbed, unintelligent, unnecessarily arrogant (and not in a hot way) regarding his fame). He's a tall, dark handsome rich cliche with the whole "do you know I am" tedious and unoriginal routine **yawn** - everything about him was unoriginal.

Heroine - Ella Lewis: she tries too hard to come across as "indifferent" to Brady's fame but instead is the classic cliche of an impertinent heroine pretending to be unfazed by the hero. I've read these scenarios so many times - the Royal Prince snubbed by the pauper who turns her nose at him, etc
It's tedious and an awful plot ploy. If you've read "The Sexist Man Alive" by Julie James than you'd witness a brilliant romance between an Oscar winning actor and a sassy Lawyer.
This book just tries to hard meh! The author strives valiantly to manifest the heroine feeling nonchalance - but instead conveyed a "lady doth protest too much" scenario.
Overall her personality reminded me of a middle aged woman (not only because she listens to country music). But just her personality and dialogue was so Small Town Middle Aged Dull Person. What's worse is that she's an indie (but not best-selling) historical romance author. OMG - writing romances is such a girly career anyway - like Wedding Planner, Interior Decorator, Beautician etc but historical romance! I don't mean to be condescending but that's more like a hobby for middle aged women than career for a sassy heroine.
The ending of the book is even worse with regards to her "career" - what a fairytale.

===============

If you like fairy-tales, don't mind anything poorly written and plot holes than this is ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

While Snowbound (Unlocked Hearts Book 3)
£2.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews