Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVED IT!!!
What a fantastic read..full marks to Sandy James. Inspirational, funny, sad, thrilling, what more can I say. I loved it.
Published 18 months ago by Lisa Dagess Degenkolb

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Too Many "Main" Characters
This book had some great characters - but... normally, in a book of this length, the author is able to fully flesh out the relationship between the primary H/h while filling out the story with the lesser characters within the the main story. In this book, although I loved Adam - in fact, there was the potential for his character to be one of the best among heroes in this...
Published 11 months ago by Judge Tabor


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVED IT!!!, 30 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saving Grace (Safe Havens Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
What a fantastic read..full marks to Sandy James. Inspirational, funny, sad, thrilling, what more can I say. I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read, 17 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saving Grace (Safe Havens Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Story line was very intriguing did not want to put the book down . Did not want it to finish .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 15 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saving Grace (Safe Havens Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
What a well written story, my emotions were all over the place. I love it when that happens, I read this in one go, needing to know the next bit then the next!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saving Grace, 20 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saving Grace (Safe Havens Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is not usually the genre I would pick but the reviews I read were good and besides it was a free read. I really enjoyed the story and would recommend it. I will certainly look out future books by this author. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars delightful read!, 26 Jun. 2014
By 
Debbie (Nottingham UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saving Grace (Safe Havens Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Grace has been running, with your younger brother for 20 years. When somehting happens, something BAD, she runs again, but this time lands on the doorstep of Adam, a rancher who took in the boy she has been looking for, for as long as she has been running. Jake isnt there, but Adam knows where he is. Grace, however, falls ill and needs to rest. Once she meets up with Jake, she'll be fine and all will be will. BUT it isnt. Her brother Matthew turns up, takes a shine to Adam's daughter, Victoria. The feeling is almost entirely mutual! When the said something from before finds its way into WHite Pines, Grace's first instinct is to run, and run far. Adam stops her. But she still has to tell who Jake really is, and why she has been running. Will he hate her? Will Jake??

A delightful historical romacne, nothing too complicated, just the thing when coming down from a previous book hangover! I would have liked the secret Grace is keeping to have been kept a while longer, but that said, it didnt spoil the story for me. The relationship between Grace and Adam is lovely, it shows that even after being so badly hurt, love can bloom. Matthew and Victoria are just plain funny together when they are fighting, the mud scene turned quickly into something else. I felt somewhat for Victoria while Matthew was fighting his demons though. Some witty one liners from Will, Jake'sw father in law gave the book a lighter feel, while dealing with some difficult issues, rape of a minor being the main.

Ive read a few historical romances, and this is on the more steamier side, but that said, its nothing like the new adult books! also some violence to Grace when said something turns up. still, a really really nice read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good story, 13 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saving Grace (Safe Havens Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Couldn't put it down needed to read read n read again..loved this story. Don't want to spoil story for other readers. Give it a go you won't be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saving Grace by Sandy James, 14 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saving Grace (Safe Havens Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Such a wonderful feeling of euphoria after reading this book. Out of such a struggle to survive the clutches of a mad man who degraded her and terrorised her into constantly running away from his clutches. Manages to find not only her son, but also to find love and happiness she so richly deserved. Well written,most enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Too Many "Main" Characters, 23 July 2014
This review is from: Saving Grace (Safe Havens Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book had some great characters - but... normally, in a book of this length, the author is able to fully flesh out the relationship between the primary H/h while filling out the story with the lesser characters within the the main story. In this book, although I loved Adam - in fact, there was the potential for his character to be one of the best among heroes in this genre of the books I have read - there just weren't enough pages given over to Adam and Grace.

I may not have read as many books as some, but I have read about 1000 historical romance novels during the past couple of years. So... I think I have the right to state again - there was potential in Adam's character to be one of the best ever. Grace also had super potential but with the amount of storyline given over to Matthew and Victoria, there wasn't room for the slow, romantic build-up in the development of the romance between Adam and Grace.

Also, Stephen Shay had the potential to be a grand villain but, there again - not enough was made of his villainy. Yes, he was a brute and we finally get to read about just how and why he was so intent on having Grace, albeit not until the book was pretty much over. Indeed, when Grace finally reveals the truth of exactly how and what happened in her young life, the truth was horrible just as the reader suspected it might be. But, at the end of the day, Stephen's deed was done many years ago and although the reader is thinking there will be another big crisis when he actually finds Grace, that part just kinda bombed for me - totally predictable and uninteresting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a good read, 12 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saving Grace (Safe Havens Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I wasn't sure about this book as it's not really my sort of thing being set back in history.
This book is set in the 1800's its skips to twenty years to the present time with grace having a few secrets and setting of on a journey to find someone she has been looking for for a long time.
However when she knocks on arms door she didn't know she was running a fever.

Adam is a man protecting his family and he is not sure in graces story but he wants to find out.
Grace is not ready to share her whole life with Adam even after they share the emotions that are running though them both.
Graces brother shows after tracking her and he falls in love with Adams daughter however he feels he is not worthy of her love back.

The selects come one due to an unexpected visitor from graces past and the book the transports to twenty years in the past where graces journey starts.

Now she's at the hands of a man she hates and hopes Adam can save her before anything else happens to her at the hands of Stephen shay.

I enjoyed reading this book however I was lost in some parts due to never reading a book based in this time before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good historic romance a must holiday read, 10 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saving Grace (Safe Havens Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
What can I say.... was a bit unsure as was a free book...... but actually this was a really good historic romance, I don't usually go for romance books but would recommend this one, in my opinion would make a good holiday read,not complicated as you get into quickly and pick back up quickly, also this is not a short book which I was quite surprised about as was a free book, give it ago nothing to lose!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Saving Grace (Safe Havens Book 1)
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews