Customer Reviews


110 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars German
Wish i had read the discription before i bought a german language film. Still a great film even though. h
Published 16 months ago by Martin L. Woodland

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Peckinpah muscles in on Burt Reynolds' turf
Somewhat surprisingly, the watchable but completely forgettable Convoy was the biggest hit of Sam Peckinpah's career, though by all accounts Peckinpah was so stoned on drugs and booze throughout the shoot that he directed little of it, with assistants and James Coburn filling in on the many occasions he couldn't get up the enthusiasm to leave his trailer. It's the kind of...
Published on 14 Dec 2007 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars German, 22 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wish i had read the discription before i bought a german language film. Still a great film even though. h
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Convoy (Blu-Ray) - A Beautiful HD Transfer, 14 Oct 2013
By 
A. Brooker (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Convoy (1978) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A review of the blu-ray, not the film. If you're on this page, it's almost guaranteed that you've seen the film and know exactly what you're watching.
I must have been 10 when I first saw this film. It's one of those films that I can just watch over and over again and still enjoy it as much as I did the first time I saw it.
When I read that there was going to be an HD transfer, my heart sank. Too many of my childhood memories have been destroyed in quick and dirty transfers to blu-ray in hopes of making a few quid on the quick.

I'm happy to report, that whoever was behind the scrubbing up of Convoy did a bang up job.
Listening to the revs of those engines never gets old, and the HD audio sounds tremendous. Easily up there with listening to the Harley's from Sons of Anarchy on Blu-Ray.
And the picture, wow. It's pixel perfect. A 35 year old film. And it looks better than half of my collection of "modern" blu-rays. Those gorgeous sweeping panoramic shots looks absolutely amazing in HD.
Considering its age, and it's relative cult status, especially in this country, he extras are relatively decent too.

Forget that terrible DVD transfer, ths is the definitive version of everyone's favourite road movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Good Second Time Around!, 7 April 2003
By 
Maximus (Bradford on Avon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Convoy [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
.
Chances are if you are buying this film you've already seen it long ago in your teenage years - you know the plot.
Under another director this movie could have become fluff. The master Peckinpah keeps it taught though, and along with the humour and good time fun injects a gritty quality that probably missed my perception in my youth.
The picture transfer is superb, with strong colours and tones. The one bugbear is the sound. Forget 5.1 Surround. Forget stereo even - this film is offered up in MONO. It's a truckin' shame! Get over it though and just enjoy the film.
Nostalgia is big business these days, and if a yearning for 70's teenage memories has drawn you here you will not be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maybe it doesn't deserve five stars, but......, 14 Sep 2013
This is an absolute hoot. You don't need to know the plot-it's totally unimportant.

Considering the subject, it's amazing that this could be made so endearingly daft, and you've got to give huge credit to the filmmakers for making it so enjoyable.

The great Ernest Borgnine- how much we miss him !- is brilliant as the nasty-but actually not so- cop.

Kris Kristofferson should've made more films like this, and gets a succession of brilliant quips and one-liners, and actually some quite piercing-and brilliantly timed- lines as well; a number of sequences show just how good KK really is.

The Country sound track is great, and the use of classical music around crashes adds to the way this just reduces me to fits of helpless giggling. Every time.

The political aspects were introduced just to give the thing enough of a plot to make it out to movie length, for it is only based on a song, after all. The destruction of the town by trucks is a masterpiece of slapstick. It's odd to see this from the director that gave us "The Wild Bunch", but it makes it one of the great fun movies of its period.

But, it's endearingly daft. I'm a car driver, so if the speed cops come off worst, how can I not enjoy it, even if it's lorry drivers doing it?

Great fun; it may not deserve five stars for Quality, but for sheer enjoyment it can have no less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Convoy, 1 May 2010
By 
Faith Tyler (Norfolk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Convoy [DVD] (DVD)
This was just as good as I remembered it and looked even better on the bigger tv set. I shall watch it when I need a good laugh and some excitement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Peckinpah muscles in on Burt Reynolds' turf, 14 Dec 2007
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Convoy [DVD] (DVD)
Somewhat surprisingly, the watchable but completely forgettable Convoy was the biggest hit of Sam Peckinpah's career, though by all accounts Peckinpah was so stoned on drugs and booze throughout the shoot that he directed little of it, with assistants and James Coburn filling in on the many occasions he couldn't get up the enthusiasm to leave his trailer. It's the kind of film that makes Smokey and the Bandit 3 look substantial and is pretty much a shoo-in as Peckinpah's worst film. There is one good almost balletic sequence of police cars running off dusty backroads set to the accompaniment of a semi-classical version of the C.W. McCall country-and-western song (originally written as a jingle) that provided what little inspiration there was for the film and some good support from Madge Sinclair's Widow Woman. But you can't help feeling that it's straining for significance a bit at times to hide the thinness of it all - truckers are the last of the real cowboys, just tryin' to live free without rules or reasons, don'tcha know - and that it would have been a whole lot more fun with Burt Reynolds and Jackie Gleason in the Kris Kristofferson and Ernest Borgnine roles. On the plus side at least the action scenes are better handled than in The Killer Elite, although even here some of the signature slow-motion here seems almost accidental, with some scenes fuzzily step-printed in post-production to slow them down (presumably because the few big stunts happened too fast to register onscreen) sticking out like a stylistic sore thumb amid the clarity of the much more effective sequences shot in genuine in-camera slow motion.

A word of warning on the DVD too - the English-language territory releases all omit the three-minute sequence of the governor's aide interviewing the truckers which contains Peckinpah's cameo as one of the camera crew. The German DVD is the uncut version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Convoy, 15 Jan 2012
This review is from: Convoy [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent film having watched it for years i really enjoy watching it. Very disappointed about it missing bits without even being told before i purchased it. overall very good film but it loses marks for being edited and not being informed about them before purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars can it get any better than this?, 13 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Convoy [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
one of the best films of the 70s is brought smack up to date with digital stereo and picture quality. the film itself is legendary among those of us who saw it, and loved it, as children. from the age of 5 all i wanted to do was be a truck driver like the immortal rubber duck. some say it is cheesy, and to some extent, i would have to agree - but it's definitely more of a fine matured cheddar that everybody likes rather thanthe stinky stilton some people would have you believe. made the lines "10-4 good buddy" immortal to a generation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent movie., 27 Oct 2007
By 
Steveml (Lancs, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Convoy [DVD] (DVD)
Watched this as a teenager. A great feel-good movie,
which makes you want to drive a huge truck and talk
to your mates via CD radio. Even if trucks or CB
radio doesn't interest you. A bit like watching Rocky 3
made people leave the movie thinking they were a boxer,
even if they weren't really interested in boxing.
Come on now - be honest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good Bt - at last extras, 5 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. S. A. Haynes (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Convoy (1978) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Very good hd transfer - plus features at long last. 70min documentary made about 5 years ago features Kris, Ernest and Ali - very good. Some interesting featurettes and trailer. A must have for a collector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Convoy (1978) [DVD]
Convoy (1978) [DVD] by Sam Peckinpah (DVD - 2013)
11.07
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews