Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars19
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£15.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 October 2013
The film of course (even with the changed ending due to censorship reasons) is great. I was looking forward to this blu ray (region B) because I couldn't played the zone A locked Criterion (damn that region system!), so it was very, very frustrating to see such a terrible picture quality! Regardeless of the actual state of the camera negative, this 4 k transfer should have been much better. The colours are terribly faded ( like an old photo from the 60s) and this cannot be the way the director envisioned his film. Not to such a degree at least. The contrast is also very bad and I couldn' put it right even fidgeting with my player and TV picture settiings. Funnily, the sequences shown during the new interview with Delon, offered as an extra, look noticebly better than in the actual film, though not as good as I think they should. I haven't seen the Criterion edition, but i bet it is better. What a pity.
33 comments|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2015
DVD Version: This is not a restored print of the film.
The first image is a still from the first French DVD Edition of the film that I bought in the year 2000. Notice the vibrant blues, the darker browns of the suitcase.
The second image is a still from the DVD purchased here: notice how washed out the image looks, the wall in the background is not blue, but an insipid brown...it's as if the whole thing was filmed with a sepia filter over it.
I chose these stills deliberately because in the Special Features on the DVD, they show you a comparison of before the cleaned it up, and after they cleaned it up: this was one of the scenes they use to illustrate the enhancements. Enhancements that are visible in that Special Feature only, because the film itself does not look like the alleged restored version. Ironically, the version on my French DVD from the year 2000 looks what the restored version should have been.
StudioCanal should hang their heads in shame at this. Either something went wrong and the unrestored version of the film was used for the main feature, or they're cynically advertising it as restored when in fact it's not.
The film would get five stars. This edition does not.
review image review image
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2016
A fascinating interpretation of Patricia Highsmith's novel 'The Talented Mr Ripley'. Beautifully filmed (the SD Amazon rental is surprisingly good quality) and superbly acted. As would be expected, there are changes to some of the action of the novel and to some aspects of character (notably in Marge). Most of it works well - the dramatic effect is artfully manipulated - but the ending fails. Whether it is an appeasement to conventional morality or the desire for a neat ending, the director's decision to make Greenleaf's body reappear (bizarrely still tied to the boat) and the implied subsequent arrest of Ripley, seems a rather craven finale. However, I would highly recommend viewing this film - as I would Anthony Minghella's markedly different film interpretation of the same novel.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2014
We found this film gripping to watch in this newly restored 4K scan, Blu-ray version. The sequences on the yacht were simply stunning, and Rene Clement's magnificent casting & directing was evident. I had to set the TV in a custom mode though, as the colour in the 'true cinema' setting was a bit washed out. You should select the original French soundtrack (with English subtitles) as the English dubbed version soundtrack is inferior in every way. Also if you are expecting this to be like Anthony Minghela's 1999 'Talented Mr. Ripley' be warned that the screenplay is different and this film starts in the middle of the story and has a different ending.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2013
If Mr Clement's claims that he was done over by the Cahiers du Cinema mob are true, then it is a sad indictment of the general wrong-headedness of most cultural movements. Here is a beautiful restoration that not only showcases the indisputable mastery of this great director, but also shows us the combined artistry of the director and the great actor, Alain Delon. Mr. Delon gets us deep into the dark heart of the nihilistic Mr Ripley and shows us the true evil that dwells in the human condition.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2016
A good film let down by a seriously flawed blu-ray transfer from Studio Canal. As others have noted, despite a restoration, something has gone wrong in the transfer to blu-ray. Colours are washed-out and flat looking. Contrast levels are off and the the image looks too bright in places. In short, this does not look anything like a late 1950's colour film should look.
33 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2016
The masters of Cinema : ALAiN DELON , MAURiCE RONET and RENEE CLEMENT created the BEST CiNEMA EVER ! In this SUPERFiLM , the one and only MEGASTAR ALAiN DELON performed outstanding !!! - DELON was born to play this role . DELON , RONET , CLEMENT : Timeless and outstanding performances ! ( Gentille Adrian Buzatu )
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2013
The picture quality of this BD is appalling!
Washed out colours, no BD detailled image whatsoever.
Terrible. The DVD looks better in comparison!
The movie itself is 5 stars, the BD one star.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2014
Although the French conversation is very rapid at times, and with a fair amount of slang, it is still quite easy to follow. The ending is a Gothic surprise. Well done !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2014
Terrific as another version of The Talented Mr Ripley. rather rewarding to read the Patricia Highsmith novel, see the Mighella film, then see this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)