Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Open your eyes to a rotten establishment that appease the 21st century fascism that threatens us all
At last, clear evidence of the establishment's craven appeasement of Islamofascism - don't they learn that the more you give in to a bullies, the more aggressive they become? What I hate is the way Islamic fundamentalists whine about their rights, but as soon as they become the majority, they take away everyone else's freedom. Murray's wonderful book is memorable for a...
Published 9 months ago by Mr. Jonathon M. Stenner

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars For the amount of content it was still a great read though
Just wished there were more content for the price. The book as interesting as it was finished far too soon. For the amount of content it was still a great read though.
Published 3 months ago by jimmy


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Open your eyes to a rotten establishment that appease the 21st century fascism that threatens us all, 10 July 2014
By 
Mr. Jonathon M. Stenner (Halstead, Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Islamophilia (Kindle Edition)
At last, clear evidence of the establishment's craven appeasement of Islamofascism - don't they learn that the more you give in to a bullies, the more aggressive they become? What I hate is the way Islamic fundamentalists whine about their rights, but as soon as they become the majority, they take away everyone else's freedom. Murray's wonderful book is memorable for a single image - liberal secularists poking the paper hornets' nest of largely dead institutional Christianity for years, and they are shocked when they get stung by a living colony of religious hornets - running away as fast as they can. 'Brave', edgy comedians mock everything EXCEPT Islam because in essence they are neither brave nor edgy. The only exception to this is the wonderful Chris Morris and 'Four Lions'. Murray's book opens your eyes to the self censorship that Morris refuses to engage in, showing how freedom to criticise Islam is rapidly becoming illegal as a 'hate crime'. Read Murray's book and begin to see the conspiracy of silence...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-read for all Britons and everyone world-wide, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Islamophilia (Kindle Edition)
I have watched Douglas Murray in action in debates against the likes of Mehdi Hasan and Maajid Nawaaz, and I have been a fan ever since. While I may not agree with everything he says about neoconservatism, I do enjoy and look forward to hearing him espouse his arguments. And that's what this book highlights - the need to be able to have dialogue that others may find unsavoury. Islam and censorship have become almost synonymous in recent times, and it's high time that those who have enabled the despicable nature of this religion to stifle opposition, are held accountable. Which is what Douglas does so brilliantly, and humorously, in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Far too short., 26 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Islamophilia (Kindle Edition)
Read it in half an hour but it contained some extraordinary insights in to the bizarre world of Islamic apologists here and abroad. Timely... but I feel Murray should have held out longer for even more material that seems to surface on a daily basis. Obviously, if you read this essay, you will be partitioned by the left as an islamophobe, a racist, a nazi and a Zionist. However, this is the modern world and if you are equally angered and laughing out loud at its content, there are worse things than name calling. You will always know you are a realist and an intelligent human being, regardless of the apologists method of debate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Political satire at its very best., 28 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Islamophilia (Kindle Edition)
Aside from Chris Morris' Four Lions there have been virtually no satirical works of art on Islam in recent years. This is odd considering the potency of Islamic extremism. There have been fierce debates on the topic of integration. The Muslim population of France is now around 10% and France's values are really quite different to those of Islam. Marine Le Pen is looking like a plausible presidential candidate - scary considering her predecessor/Dad was a holocaust denier.

If moderate voices don't take the lead in this debate then extremists will. But so few liberal minded people have anything negative to say about Islam, whereas they will gladly attack the Judaeo-Christian tradition. It's as if post-imperial guilt is too much to bear, and one must reserve one's rage for America and Israel. Israel, its economy is smaller than Greece's and it's surrounded by enemies. Yet liberals in the West will go out of their way to denounce it - but will they extend those sentiments a Muslim country? Only if they really have to.

Douglas Murray describes, in hilarious detail, the moral cowardice of everyone from Prime Ministers to leading novelists. They present themselves as free thinking, maybe even radical, but they swiftly suspend their critical faculties when conversations turn to Islam.

The West is becoming increasingly secularised. Tony Blair's spin doctor famously said 'we don't do God'. Christian's say they feel increasingly marginalised and they kind of have a point - we tend to treat them with tolerance or ridicule. But why do we fear criticising Islam? Charges of Islamophobia are instantly bandied around when we do. Murray argues that the charge of Islamophilia - love of Islam - is a more appropriate accusation these days.

Question: would there ever be an Islamic equivalent of The Life Of Brian? I'd like to think so, some day - but it seems unlikely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant deconstruction of fear-based support for Islam, 23 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Islamophilia (Kindle Edition)
This is an essential critique of fawning celebrity endorsements of a religion singled out for uncritical praise by a host of well-known people whose privilege and basic freedoms reside in the liberal democracy they take for granted and which would be unceremoniously crushed if they actually lived under the Sharia law they claim to respect. Douglas Murray entertainingly shows that whilst naturally none of these fêted twits will actually convert to Islam and practise what they ostensibly preach, many are eager to be seen publicly to validate Islam, in a show of bad faith designed to avoid potential violence from the Prophet's adherents, which befalls some who dare to find fault with the religion. Murray argues that when even "independent -minded" and iconoclastic writers like Martin Amis backtrack so cravenly after fearing that their criticisms might cost them their lives, then we must strenuously oppose indiscriminate and baseless "Islamophilia" before a simply muted society becomes irremediably mutilated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truth long delayed., 18 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Islamophilia (Kindle Edition)
Following the London Bombings and listening to politicians, the BBC, news and current affairs shows we may well have, if taking the pundit view without any mental examination, believed that Islam is indeed a religion of peace and as they were so quick to point out, that the massacre of 52 Londoners had nothing to do with the faith.

Evidence from around the world showed otherwise so I got a bit of education.

This came via Amazon and consisted eventually around 35 books on the subject.

They ranged from history to doctrine and back again because in the final analysis it all boils down to the origin and its unchangeability by believers.

Our establishment has fallen hook, line and sinker for the disinformation, quite readily in fact, and those books set me on the straight and narrow of the truth.

Murray is a true gem and I bought this book, incidentally introducing me to kindle in the process.

He pedals lightly and there's no blazing fire, yet his understated British style resonates all the more because of that.

Confirming my view that the grovelling and lying appeasement does far more harm especially to Islam whereby a public perception that we are being lied to enrages an already unsettled public, this book opens up a debate which has been suppressed for far too long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Islamophilia, 28 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Islamophilia (Kindle Edition)
A different stance is taken in this book. Usually is is about Islamophobia. My guess is that there are many, many more people in government and other influential places who defer to Islam. Fear is a terrible breeding ground for this to happen, as Douglas Murray shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spot-on Squib, 11 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Islamophilia (Kindle Edition)
Douglas Murray sharply skewers the cowardice and ignorance of Islamophiles, those western "useful idiots" who enable and praise the retrogressive religion of Muhammadanism, or Islam as its benighted and touchy followers insist we call it.

The book's only fault is that it's a little too short, a squib when it could have been a metaphorical stick of dynamite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A recommended read, 4 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Islamophilia (Kindle Edition)
A superb account of Western reluctance to challenge Islam, and thereby giving a free ride to extremism, for which we all pay the price. The book also debunks some of the more extraordinary claims made for Islam by its adherents and accepted unchallenged by its apologists. This book is thought-provoking and raises its challenges from an intelligent and reasoned perspective. I thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 21 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Islamophilia (Kindle Edition)
This book was more than needed in contemporary debates. While Islamic terrorist attacks occur on daily basis all over the world, western elites' fascination with Islam is at least worrying and irrational. Islamophilia scratches the surface of much deeper problem, which is why it is an obligatory book for all people concerned about objectivity and future of Western societies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Islamophilia
Islamophilia by Douglas Murray
£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews