Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The big wedding
The film was interesting. I enjoyed every minute of it however I wouldn't recommend it to families as there are a lot of explicit scenes in the film that I wasn't aware when I purchased it. All in all though it was a brilliant film with great actors.
Published 9 months ago by satnam kour

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars COULD WE PLEASE JUST SKIP TO THE HAPPY ENDING
The theme of this film is that "there are different kinds of love." Alejandro (Ben Barnes) was adopted from Colombia by Don (Robert De Niro) and Ellie (Diane Keaton). Alejandro is getting married to Missy (Amanda Seyfried) whose parents (David Rasche/Christine Ebersole) are embarrassing white. Don is divorced and married his mistress Bebe (Susan Sarandon). After a...
Published 18 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars COULD WE PLEASE JUST SKIP TO THE HAPPY ENDING, 19 May 2013
This review is from: The Big Wedding [DVD] (DVD)
The theme of this film is that "there are different kinds of love." Alejandro (Ben Barnes) was adopted from Colombia by Don (Robert De Niro) and Ellie (Diane Keaton). Alejandro is getting married to Missy (Amanda Seyfried) whose parents (David Rasche/Christine Ebersole) are embarrassing white. Don is divorced and married his mistress Bebe (Susan Sarandon). After a decade his wife and ex-wife get along very well. Robin Williams plays the priest that will preside over the ceremony. There are also two siblings. Dr. Jared (Topher Grace) is a 29 year old virgin. Lyla (Katherine Heigl) just left her husband. Just about everyone in the group has a dirty little secret that comes into play, but for the most part doesn't mesh well.

If this wasn't enough, Alejandro's biological mother (Patricia Rae) is coming up from Colombia for the wedding. She is very Catholic and considers divorce a sin. She doesn't know Don and Ellie are divorced so they will pretend they aren't (yawn). She shows up with a daughter (Ana Ayora) who has designs for Jared.

The film has great stars and a great indie style plot and characters. The secrets make for a great story. However it didn't come together. The dialouge failed to create on screen chemistry. Too much of the film seemed fake, the characters never hooked you. The humor consisted of embarrassment more than anything. Attempts to make fun of the Catholic Church were weak. It would make for a decent one night rental, but not the heart warming indie keeper we love.

Parental Guide: F-bombs. Brief sex, brief nudity (Ana Ayora).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What a remarkable ensemble, and what a disappointment., 29 Oct 2013
By 
Lola (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Big Wedding [DVD] (DVD)
Oh no, what happened to the romantic comedies recently? Have they become completely extinct? Please alert me if you come across a decent romantic comedy (I am serious!), which does not involve Robbie Williams playing a priest, Robert De Niro playing an ageing dad and Katherine Heigl tagging along with the rest of the cast of yet another "comedy" of dated jokes and clichés.

Okay, I give you my honest opinion. Compared to the truly mediocre attempt at romantic comedy such as The Knot [DVD] and/or Playing for Keeps [DVD] [2012] [2013], "The Big Wedding" isn't great, but it's not horrible, either. It's the sort of film that you can easily watch while being sick at home on a weeknight, or, like me, on a plane (and not regretting wasting your flight time on it!). Two and a half to three stars. Or maybe I am just generous with stars today.

Interestingly, if not surprisingly, Sarandon, Keaton and De Niro mesh almost organically, fully convincing as a trio of old friends, and are very watchable. As to the rest of the cast - there is simply no magic or believable chemistry between the younger actors. And once again, this film proves that no matter how many Hollywood stars you throw in production, [just] the impressive names rarely make picture work, the blue-screen magic requires a decent script, some original funny jokes (not just gross-out stereotypes like accidental throwing up and racial labels), and definitely more than just a wedding with a bunch of goofy characters thrown in.

You know what, I will go and re-watch Silver Linings Playbook [DVD]. I suggest you do the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Big Cliche, 6 April 2014
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Big Wedding [DVD] (DVD)
At the outset, the house is gorgeous! The food looked okay. Diane Keaton wore some nice outfits. Kathryn Heigle's clothes weren't so good. Robert DeNiro's red blazer after taking a ducking was fabulous. Other than that, I would be interested in your assessments.

Diane Keaton and Robert De Niro star as divorced parents with three children. De Niro, is a sculptor and recovering alcoholic, now lives with his girlfriend, played by Susan Sarandon, who secretly wants to be married. Everyone is meeting at the house for the youngest adopted son's wedding. Ben Barnes plays , Alejandro, the bride, Amanda Seyfried. Alejandro's real mother is coming to the wedding,and everyone must play a part to fool her. Why and how these talented actors came together for this film is the big question. Anyone have any ideas, except they did it for the money?

Not worth your money folks, people should pay us to watch it. prisrob 04-05-14
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hope they had more fun making it ..., 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Wedding [DVD] (DVD)
... than I had watching it. It's only mildly funny, the twists and turns are telegraphed, the bad language falls flat and the ending ... Well, don't want to spoil the "plot".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Standard Rom Com, 1 April 2014
This review is from: The Big Wedding [DVD] (DVD)
Not bad. It's nothing new, same old jokes and gags but overall a nice film of you're looking for a feel good movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dire, 31 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Big Wedding (DVD)
gave it 20 minutes and then had to turn it off, that is 20 minutes I am never going to get back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your time, 31 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Big Wedding (Blu-ray)
It really is that poor, in shocking taste and I was surprised that such great actors signed up for this at all. I rented it in the hope that there was at least one comedy that would at least raise a chuckle but I am still searching for that elusive new funny, relatively clean movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The big wedding, 4 Feb 2014
This review is from: The Big Wedding [DVD] (DVD)
The film was interesting. I enjoyed every minute of it however I wouldn't recommend it to families as there are a lot of explicit scenes in the film that I wasn't aware when I purchased it. All in all though it was a brilliant film with great actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars False advertising, 17 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Big Wedding [DVD] (DVD)
The reason I say this film suffers from `false advertising' is because of the poster. If you look at the (all star) cast on there, you'll see that most of them are laughing. I find this misleading. It makes it seem as if there's at least one funny moment in this film. And there isn't. There really isn't.

Right from the word go we're treated to an `American Pie for adults' scenario which might have been funny ten years ago, but really is just cringeworthingly bad when it's with adults who supposedly should know better. And it's not just the characters that should have known better - it's the cast, too. Like I said `The Big Wedding' boasts an impressive all star cast. That begs the question why any of them would sign up for this. It simply isn't funny.

The plot is tedious, too. A couple divorce because the man finds a new woman. The new woman and ex wife get on brilliantly. If that isn't impossible enough, their son is marrying a `good catholic' who's birth mother thinks divorce is a massive sin. Therefore the original couple must pretend to be married for the duration of the wedding. That's it. And it's not funny.

The characters, as well as being unfunny, are actually pretty unlikeable. It takes some good actors to make every single character as horrible as they possibly could be. And not funny.

All in all, just avoid this film. Most people hate it (based on what I've read on other reviews and Internet message boards), but the few people that seemed to like it used words like `charming' to describe it. I guess there must be some people out there who enjoyed it after all. I noticed they never used the word `funny' though. Did I mention it's completely devoid of humour?

Shame on you Bobby DeNiro
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Wedding [DVD] (DVD)
not as good as I thought it would be from the trailer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Big Wedding [Blu-ray]
Big Wedding [Blu-ray] by Justin Zackman (Blu-ray - 2013)
£5.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews