Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars59
3.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 September 2013
This is a no brainer, in terms of value for money. I have a Nikon D3200, and by adding this grip, it not only removes the worry of running out of power during a photo-shoot, it also makes the camera a lot more stable. Finally, it also makes the camera look more professional, as like the more expensive models.
11 comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2014
as the title says- really good value for money, just upgraded to a d5100 from a d3100 and found that with a very sturdy sharp knife it can be made to fit the d5100 just by trimming the little bit of plastic opposite the battery 'spike'. be careful with sharp knives!!!!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2014
Bought this for my D3200 as I needed a little bit more grip for my big hands. Its very sturdy especially when on the tripod. It is a slightly different shade of black to the camera body but I'm not that bothered about it. Only slight niggle is the cable you have to put in to get the other shutter release button to work on the grip but to be fair I've had this for about a month and have never had to use the button yet. Great bit of kit at a good price.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2013
The grip works OK with both original and aftermarket batteries on a Nikon D3100.

The build quality is good, the plastic is a little lighter in colour than the plastic of the camera. The tripod screw is OK, works well with a tripod and over-the-shoulder sling. I have read some reports saying it is too short - it is definitely shorter than the original one on the bottom of the camera body, but it does the job adequately. The cable is solid, be careful when inserting and removing because it is too tight a fit.

Final word:
This is a good basic grip for the price.

There are other aftermarket grips for the Nikon D3100 with more functionality (LCD screen with time-lapse, controls on the grip mirroring the ones on the camera for easy portrait-orientation shooting, etc.), but it comes with a bigger price tag.

If you are looking for a simple, no-frills grip to hold two batteries having a dedicated portrait-mode shutter button, this one might be just the one for you.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
This grip is exactly what i was looking for. it fits my Nikon D3200 perfectly, so i don't understand why another reviewer commented about it not fitting this model?! the shutter button works perfectly, but is slightly wobbly, but you can't complain at this price range. after a few hours of constant use with two fully charged batteries, my camera is still saying it is fully charged!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2013
The build quality on this product leaves much to be desired. It does not look or feel like a high-quality product which is mostly due to the heavy use of plastic and visibility of ridges in the construction. It feels as if it could break very easily.

That being said, it works perfectly in my D3200, even when using batteries from different brands. It is quick and easy to attach and there is a vertical shutter button to help you take shots.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 16 June 2016
I bought this to complement my Nikon D3200 - and it works perfectly. To fit, you simply detach the small battery cover on the camera, then connect this to the body of your Nikon. At that point, you tighten it until it's secure.

This item allows you to have two batteries available. And the moment one battery dies, the other is automatically used. This is great for functionality. Moreover, by adding this device to your camera, there's much better grip available. Also, while the Nikon D3200 (and similar cameras) look good, this item adds a certain heft - and, in my view, makes such a camera look more 'professional'.

This device can be mounted to a tripod. There is also a second shutter button on this device, for taking photos side-on - and this is a useful button, but can only be used if you've attached this device to your camera via a cable (which is included with the purchase).

Overall, I'm very pleased with this battery grip. I fully recommend it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2014
I use a Nikon D3200, and it goes through batteries quite quickly so this seems like and ideal thing to have. But unfortunately even with Genuine Nikon batteries installed the camera will keep telling me that the wrong battery is installed when they are installed in the Grip. But for making the camera a much easier thing to hold its brilliant.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
This is permanently attached to my Nikon D3200, it works very well and gives the convenience of having two batteries available. Saves time in terms of having to change batteries, ideal for doing very long exposures or time lapse.

The only grip is that the you have to take of the battery cover, but that is a small price to pay.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2014
The item came in good time and was competitively priced for what it is, it's easy and straight forward to use and has a feel of a much more expensive unit.

The Pro's
Has a good external feel, like a more expensive unit.
Has capacity for two batteries at the same
Has a shutter release on the side which enables the user to release the shutter whilst holding the camera the other way around.
Fairly competitively priced.
Allows the camera battery door to be safely stored away to prevent it being lost or misplaced.

The Con's
The internals feel rather flimsy, and the batteries didn't feel secure.
The batteries also weren't easy to remove for charging, which could pose an issue for those who regularly need to change batteries.
There wasn't a great deal of feedback from the shutter release, although some may point out that would be typical of such a priced item.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 8 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)