Customer Reviews


407 Reviews
5 star:
 (339)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Angst filled NA goodness
There's been a lot of hype surrounding Real and I wanted to wait a while before reading the book to make sure I ignored the hype and developed my own opinion.

Real is one hell of an emotional story; I both loved and hated it. I found myself struggling to get through certain sections. The two MC's Brooke and Remy 'Riptide' are both intense and extremely...
Published 20 months ago by Zili Robins

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 stars
*I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review via Netgalley. Thanks to Gallery Books and Katy Evans*

Brooke Dumas is a young woman with a broken dream.
Remington 'Riptide' Tate is a boxer with a medical condition.
As soon as the two see each other their chemistry is undeniable.

I have mixed feelings about this book. I...
Published 19 months ago by Jess Watkins (A Book Addict's ...


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Angst filled NA goodness, 29 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Real (The REAL series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
There's been a lot of hype surrounding Real and I wanted to wait a while before reading the book to make sure I ignored the hype and developed my own opinion.

Real is one hell of an emotional story; I both loved and hated it. I found myself struggling to get through certain sections. The two MC's Brooke and Remy 'Riptide' are both intense and extremely complicated. Theirs is the all encompassing, ground-breaking, obsessive type of relationship which can either be something beautiful or implode into something horrific.

I'm a big fan of Beautiful Disaster and Real is in a similar ballpark. Like Travis, Remy is a strong, dominate, Alpha-male, who once he finds something he wants goes all out to possess it. From the first second Remy sees Brooke he wants her and comes up with a complicated way to have her.

Remy has a large amount of baggage (his parents are hideous), but when I discovered the reasons behind most of his actions I could totally understand why he behaved in certain ways. He's never had anything 'real' or anybody who see's past the fame, money, fights etc to simply see him... until Brooke.

I liked Brooke (far more than Abby from Beautiful Disaster) and could understand why she's so guarded. A lot of Remy's actions are bizarre and extremely controlling; I'd personally have considered running on several occasions. Sometimes I really wanted her to realise what she was doing to Remy. Towards the end of the book, I was torn between wanting to salute her courage and smacking her for doing the one thing Remy was afraid of.

The sexual tension is extreme, I found myself really wanting them to channel 'Nike' and just do it! When they finally er... get together, it's all kinds of smexy. There's a lot of naughty sections, so keep this one away from the kiddies - Real is most definitely a New Adult book.

A brilliantly complicated story, which puts both the reader and characters through the ringer, yet manages to make you smile!

4 Stars in my Sky!

My fav non-spoilery quotes:

*"I don't know if you're good for him, or the worst kind of Achilles' heel there is to him."

*"I'm every woman's adventure, damn you, and I don't want to be yours."

*"I've never seen a man go after a woman like that. Holy shit, it's like porn with the romance."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZEBALLS, 16 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Real (Kindle Edition)
5 big fat twinkly amazing hot REMINGTON TATE RIPTIDEEEEEEEEEEEEE shamazeballs stars.
This book is seriously amazing, one of my all time favourites and one that I will read again and again and again..chemistry...more like nuclear reaction...absolutely LOVED IT...and Remington Tate is mine (just saying!!) and I'll fight you all to the death!! pmsl

Review: What can I say....amazing for a debut book, totally got me hook line and sinker, pulled me in, put me through the emotional wringer and spat me out at the end..I was a mess, red puffy eyes, heart thumping, I looked like my best friend had died and it some ways it had as I didn't want the book to end and when I saw those words THE END I was bereft...I need book 2 NOW!! I need more Remy, purleasssssse.

Brooke dreamt of being an Olympic athlete she was certainly good enough and was heading in the right direction when it all went wrong, she was seriously injured tearing her anterior cruciate ligament, she went through rehab but returned too soon and tore the ATL again thus ending her dreams and career, she throws herself into uni and decides to become a sports therapist she has just graduated and finished her internship when this book begins. Melanie her best friend takes her out one night to an underground fight, she looks and feels out of place and wants to leave. Melanie tells her that she has to stay for the main event and that is one Remington RIPTIDE Tate... All the girls have their eyes on him but Remy only has eyes for one and that is Brooke...she turns to leave unable to take the screaming girls and the fighting..when Remy knocks the guy out for the count and chases after her...holy smoking hotness...pheww[...] It is a case of instalust which most find difficult to believe but I did actually believe this..the chemistry was amazeballs I felt the heat pouring out the kindle thinking it may actually combust...I know I was close! Melanie gives Remy Brooke's number and so the story begins...and boy does it begin!

Remy is extremely broken and misunderstood..he has been deserted and unloved by everybody that he has loved and was left to fend for himself in a mental institution at a young age, he was very aggressive and his parents could not cope so they sectioned him. He found a vent for his anger issues when he was 18 with boxing, however an out of ring fight led to him being banished and so he became the king of the underground. He chases after Brooke and eventually persuades her to take a job as his preventative therapist on a 3 month contract to the end of his tour. Brooke has an attraction to Remy but being the consummate professional that she is tries not to act on it but eventually she capitulates but this time it is Remy that pulls the brakes. He wants her to love him for him, not for RIPTIDE. He just wants to be loved, he wants her to see him, warts and all, he knows he his difficult, he has his issues and problems which we find out towards the end of the book and it is all explainable. Can she fall for Remington?....

Of course she can, how could anybody not, he is totally adorable and has just jumped straight to number 1 in my little black book of book boyfriends...I love him!

This book is amazing in the way that he communicates, he finds it hard to express himself so he does so through music, the scenes on the aeroplane are heart wrenching..I will never be able to listen to Iris without thinking of Remy and Brooke, in fact I have downloaded it from iTunes and listen to it and always end up crying..that is how sad I am and how much a lasting effect this book has had on me.

I don't really want to say much more about the plot as I do not want to spoil it for the readers but this story follows their 3 months together, secrets are revealed, things happen, ups downs, angst, love, anger it is all there in spades.

Such an emotional book that I will read again and again and it is certainly going on my favourites shelf..could even be right at the very tip top, it is a hard battle! I really cannot pimp this book enough, it has touched me and wrung me out like a wet sponge and the tears that fell during this boom were big fat and ugly..but I loved every one of them..go out and get this book, you will not be disappointed, I certainly wasn't. I cannot wait for book 2 "Mine" and on that note I wish Remy was! Cannot believe that this is a debut book, massive congrats to Katy Evans!

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hot, 27 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Real (The REAL series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Real could have gone two ways for me. It was one of those books that just yelled at me to make fun of it - and I did at times but then it surprised me by becoming so much more than it's raunchy, slightly cringe-worthy, naughty fiction status. It showed itself to have real depth and emotion and had me literally screaming at times that my heart couldn't take any more. It was truly a book of two halves with the first half just one big session of foreplay before we really got to know the characters and care for them.

Real is the story of Brooke Dumas, former Olympic hopeful who's dreams of winning the Gold are shattered along with her knee in a freak accident on the track. Picking herself up from a depressive spiral of self pity and pain, Brooke has remoulded herself into a Sports Therapist who's looking for work the night her best friend Melanie drags her to an Underground Fight where she locks eyes with Remy Tate and her world changes forever.

Okay let's be "Real" for a second (see what I did there? ;p) I honestly didn't really get what Remy saw in Brooke that caused such a visceral reaction of pure animal lust and as the book went on I liked her less and less. Brooke was very much driven by her lady garden in this book. Seriously, the entire book, her "sex muscles clench" (NOT my words trust me) and they don't release! She was more turned on than a fourteen year old boy who discovers what his "sex muscle" (can't help myself) is for and doesn't come out of the bathroom for a weekend. She begs Remy to make love to her over and over and it got a bit demeaning to be honest! Like have some self respect girlfriend! She was also a bit of a loose cannon, particularly when a major secret of Remy's is uncovered and we realise just how regimented his life has to be. Instead of ensuring things run smoothly, Brooke deliberately rocks the boat in favour of her selfish whims. She doesn't just cross the line at times, she comes dangerously close to destroying it.

Remy at first appears to be the typical NA "Grunt" with a pea-sized brain. Horridly possessive and obsessive at times, his control over Brooke appears disturbing however as the book unfolds we discover just what a delicate grip he has on his life and those around him rely on him keeping it together. His sacrifices for Brooke made me weep at times and he truly grew as a character.

The sexual tension was blisteringly hot. By the time they actually did the deed I was as unravelled as Brooke was! However as hot as the prolonged foreplay was, the real gem of the story was the quiet moments when Remy and Brooke bonded over their love of music and used it as a way to communicate their innermost thoughts, desires and fears without fully letting go. When we find out later why music is so important to Remy my heart melted. I swear after you read this book you will never listen to Goo Goo Doll's "Iris" the same way again.

This book is dripping sex and it got a little much at times partly because of the many cringe-worthy euphemisms used for the female genitalia, surprisingly tho this complaint mostly centres on the first half of the book with the prolonged displays of sexual frotting that two frustrated Christian teens stealing moments away from the Pastor would be proud of. The actual sex scenes are handled with a tenderness that juxtaposes with the somewhat animalistic tendencies of one Remy Tate. Scenting anyone?
The last 15% of the book was an emotional roller coaster that I needed days to recover from. My heart pounded as Brooke and Remy's world fell apart seemingly beyond repair. The secrets divulged stunned me and I was breathless by the end.

It wasn't without its faults and it was the embodiment of CRINGE at times but it was definitely more than the sum of its parts. Steamy, emotional, and utterly consuming, I dare you not to get caught in Remy's spell! Where's book two?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fan-F'kin-tastic!!!! ♥♥♥♥♥, 12 May 2013
By 
An avid reader. - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Real (The REAL series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Oh my god, Oh my GOD, OH MY GOD! I absolutely loved this book, I would rate it much higher than it's 5 stars too, it is without a doubt bloody brilliant.

One hot, fiery, troubled, testoterone oozing fighter - check!
One smitten female, whose had her own hurdles in life and now faces a mahoosive one in Remy - check!
A love story with a twist that absolutely screams of the title - REAL - check!

The author obviously really knows her stuff about muscles and the human body and rehab and conditioning and that really shines through, that she's either done her homework or it's her forte and that is part of what sets this book apart to being a really great read.

The way Katy describes Riptide and his primal marking ways of Brooke simply oozes his maleness off the pages, and it is as though your being scented too, excellently written.

The use of music instead of words and the playlists on their ipods was great too, I absolutely love books where music plays an important part. I was sitting on the plane with them swapping songs and in their bed in the hotel suites listening to their choices, it all added to the whole romance and was a fundemental part of their romance.

But I think what I loved most of all was of course Remington 'Riptide' Tate with his 'condition' and how his friends and himself dealt with it and indeed Brooke when she finally finds out, oh boy this only made you love him more.

This is definitely a book I will re-read again and again, it's awesomely put together and executed brilliantly, I am a total Katy Evans fan after this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sweet, tough hero with a dark side, 13 April 2013
By 
S. Richards - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Real (Kindle Edition)
For a first book, this is a fine debut, and I love this hero the author gave me. Remy's such an imperfect hero. He's moody and dark at times; jealous, needy and possessive; gruff and not much with words, more likely to use his fists to make a point, but there are moments, beautiful moments, when you see what a deep man he is. In his eyes, you see what he's thinking and feeling. I love that he's a damaged soul, a bruiser of a hero, but more than that, there is sincerity and emotion in his intensity. I personally know what it's like to live with someone who has a 'secret' like Remy's. It's hard and difficult and requires patience and love. I appreciate how the author wrote that flaw of Remy's, how she explained it with care and sympathy.

The story is told in first-person from the heroine's POV, with only the epilogue told by Remy, and I think I would have liked seeing an alternating-POV approach to the story-telling. Sometimes I was tired of only having Brooke's feeling and thoughts, and when the author would show me what Remy was feeling, especially with a song, I just wanted more of that. This hero was so heartbreaking at times, and when he'd pick a song from his playlist to play for Brooke, it was his way of expressing himself. He's so not good or easy with words, but deep down, he's full of emotion and need. He really made my heart hurt at times. For me, he outshines the heroine. Even without having his viewpoint, he dominated the story for me.

For the first half of the book, I admit I was sexually frustrated. I enjoy sexual tension, but I was really getting too wound up. I just wanted them to have sex already! Of course, I see Remy's reasons for waiting, for being sure, but I wish that aspect of the story hadn't been prolonged as much. I needed them to be together sooner, for them to be intimate, and when that finally did happen, it was hot and sexy, just the raw connection I needed to feel between Remy and Brooke. It was incredibly sexy when they came together, the way Remy would lick and claim Brooke, the way he needed to know that she was his and only his. There was so much tender neediness and vulnerability on his part.

As for Brooke, I liked her for the most part, but I didn't love her. I do wish she'd been more tender to Remy. I wanted to see her stroke his hair and give him the tender love this man had long been denied from most everyone; those sweet moments like that, the touching and holding, I needed more of from Brooke. I felt she was into him, but I needed more from her. I know how a person like Remy needs validation, comfort and reassurance from the one who holds all the meaning in his life, from the one person who can make everything wrong be right again. He wants Brooke to know him, to understand him, and then, despite any broken or flawed thing she may find in him, to still love him anyway. So, I liked Brooke, but at the end, she did let me down. It took a lot for me not to throttle her and break my kindle while doing so. I was completely on my hero's side, I hurt for him, and I wanted Brooke to grovel over it.

I enjoyed the songs the author included in the story, have heard and love most of them, and I think they really added to the story and aided in getting across Remy's feelings and thoughts. And there were times when Remy did really open up, times when I wanted to cry for him, especially when he tells Brooke, "You're all I think about, dream about. I get high and low and it's all about you now, it's not even about me anymore. I can't sleep, can't think, can't concentrate worth s*** anymore and it's all because I want to be the f***ing 'one' for you and as soon as you realize what I am, all I'll be is a f***ing mistake!" This sort of rawness made me love him even more.

Even with the couple of things I would have liked differently (more Remy and his POV and less of Brooke, and more get up and go in the first half of the story), I still really liked this story. REAL was a good read for me, and definitely, it's a strong first effort by this author. With only a few minor editing issues, the writing felt real and honest, the emotion at times raw and intense. The hero is just awesome in his imperfection, in that dark side of his. The author managed to convey Remy's fragile side, that softly tender man inside the tough fighter. This is a hero who would fight for you, die for you; a hero who would forsake everything in order to be the One for you. It's sweet, dark Remy who makes this story special for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 stars, 7 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Real (The REAL series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
*I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review via Netgalley. Thanks to Gallery Books and Katy Evans*

Brooke Dumas is a young woman with a broken dream.
Remington 'Riptide' Tate is a boxer with a medical condition.
As soon as the two see each other their chemistry is undeniable.

I have mixed feelings about this book. I know lots of people love Real and I was really excited to start reading it. I liked the medical condition aspect as it gave the story an interesting edge. Brooke was an okay protagonist. The plot was average but not particularly gripping. I didn't like how possessive Remy was and how at one point he told Brooke he was going to break her into submission.

Overall slightly disappointing but with an interesting edge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I have never been OWNED by a book like this before!!, 13 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Real (Real 1) (Paperback)
Oh my lords, this book is unique, it is one of a kind! I have NEVER and I mean it literally. I have never in my life read a book like this. It is phenamenol, beyond anything I have ever expected. I have heard so many readers and reviewers RAVE about this book, I was a little afraid of getting disappointed. I was NOT, I could KICK myself for not having read this book sooner!

Remy is a beautiful man inside and out. He is intense, witty, intelligent, and so sexy! He blew me away from the very first words out of his mouth.
- “'Brooke Dumas. I'm Remington'. He just f***ed my name right in front of me”

This book was really a surprise for me, I expected it to be good but it was AMAZING and and plot and storyline was an original, I have never read a book like this one before. oh my god I could rant and rave about this book to the moon and back, here is what you need to know:
- Remy is sweet, sexy, intense and you WILL love him
- Brooke is strong, a fighter and a role model, she is not one of those 'weak' female characters.
- This story is so unique, I kid you not, this is an ORIGINAL!
- It is not a five star, it is a million times infinity stars!!
- I loved this book so much I reread the entire series 5 minutes after I finished the series for the first time.
- In the month I have owned the books I have reread the series three times AND bought the paperbacks.
- I do not regret it, because Remingtion is delicious and worth doing twice ;)

Trust me ladies, this is a highly recommended book and I promise you it is not a book you want to miss!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, Amazing, Amazing!!!!!!!!, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Real (Kindle Edition)
**This may contain small spoilers**

5 Million Passionate Stars

"A fallen boxer
A woman with a broken dream.
A competition"

Amazing, incredible, brilliant, perfect, orgasmic!!!!!!!!!WOW!!!!!!!!!!

There aren't enough words for me to describe how fanfreakingtastic 'Real' is????

It is the story of "The one and only, Remington 'Riptide' Tate an alpha male with "black hair......Cheekbones......strong....beautifully slim hips.....narrow waist......broad shoulders.....eight pack.....sexy v......powerful legs, thick with muscle.....Celtic tattoos....bulging biceps.....entrancing blue eyes.....My sex clenches tight...." Are you getting the picture people? Remy is gorgeous, sexy and deliciously hot!!!!

Brooke Dumas is our lady "...this lovely girl...with big gold eyes....pink, full lips....." She is pretty gorgeous herself with the most delectable inner thoughts about our man Remy who seems to have a direct line to the area between her thighs......(hot, hot, hot)

Their relationship is intensely passionate, I had to catch my breath many times.

They spend a lot of time
kissing

"He kisses me so slowly and so deeply that I run out of breath¡¦.stroking my lips, the roof of my mouth, and my teeth. He suckles, sucks, turns, twists. I fall in love with his kiss so fast......."

cuddling
sleeping
touching
feeling .....very, very intimate and sensual....without actually getting down to business for quite a long time; this doesn¡¯t matter because the visuals the author exudes in her writing are orgasmically amazing!!

"When I take you you'll be mine"....."I want him so bad I feel consumed inside, like he's already possessed my soul, and now my soul aches for him to possess my body"

When will it happen......the anticipation......the longing.......

When it finally does......you feel their relief; it goes on and on and on.......scrumptiously hot, yummy, mind blowing, descriptive writing.

"My breath just goes."
"And now I want him like I want to breathe, to eat, to live a happy life."

Remy and Brooke use music to say the words they find so difficult and this provided some truly beautiful, romantic, touching moments.......

Possibly my favourite part is when they swapped a song, (you'll have to read the book to find out what it is)...just beautiful......(sigh)

"I'm just a female. Seeking my male. His hardness. His touch. I can't breath, can't think, want him want him want him....connection....exhilarating contact......his touch......his kiss......I'm just starving to be fed, and my body has never been this hungry."

In Brooke's words.....

"The earth moved. Yes! It was that freaking.......tastic OMG!!!!!!!!!!!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Real . Can you be high on a book? A million times yes!, 27 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Real (Real 1) (Paperback)
I have just finished the book and it left me feel so... touched.I will not rave about the fact of how wonderful and fast-paced/engaging the book is.It has been said enough and by now i am sure people who want to find all the roller-coaster turn details out for themselves, will purchase it.
All i want to mention here is how the novel actually deserves its title.It`s real.Every emotion and thought,every physical and visual sensation is clinging on to you, making you feel it for real as well. Heartbreaking at times and uncontrollably sweet and satisfying at others, everything is laid out there for you to absorb.And you will... like drink, drug, food- whatever you prefer, but it will not leave you indifferent.
The author must have some experience in feeling such complicated and raw storm of emotions or she is simply... gifted.

I sure will be purchasing the next book without a second thought.

PS By the way, "Love Bites" has almost instantly become my favorite!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cannot wait for the 2nd book!!, 17 April 2013
By 
gm83 (Untied kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Real (Kindle Edition)
What I liked most about this book was that is had a different spin on their romance. Even with everything also happening in their life's you can really feel their connection and love for each other straight from the start. I also love the fact that you really feel that Remington is really starting to come out of shell too. 5 stars from me :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Real (The REAL series Book 1)
£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews