Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too
Janie believed it was under control. What began as just a little something to relieve that "full" feeling after a big meal at a Chinese restaurant became the focus of her life. Janie can admit now that she is bulimic. What she can't understand and admit is why she has let this disorder consume her.

Perhaps her family is to blame. Her father dotes on her...
Published on 22 May 2009 by TeensReadToo

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Starts well, ends unrealisticly
Despite being an older reader (I'm 25) I had hopes of this book being a realistic and solid read for others of the age this book is inteded for- I'm going for young adult to late teens.

Unfortunatly what started off as a bitter sweet compelling book turned into a hastely finished and unrealistic vision of recovery from Bulimia.

I have suffered from...
Published on 29 Jun. 2010 by C. E. Cree


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, 22 May 2009
By 
TeensReadToo "Eat. Drink. Read. Be Merrier." (All Over the US & Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Purge (Hardcover)
Janie believed it was under control. What began as just a little something to relieve that "full" feeling after a big meal at a Chinese restaurant became the focus of her life. Janie can admit now that she is bulimic. What she can't understand and admit is why she has let this disorder consume her.

Perhaps her family is to blame. Her father dotes on her "perfect" older sister. That older sister only pays attention to her own "perfect" wedding plans. Janie's mother not only has a career to attend to, but also that "perfect" wedding to orchestrate.

The boy of her dreams finally asks her out, but after only a few short dates expects her to sacrifice her virginity. Afterward, she doesn't feel loved, she just feels like a slut. Embarrassment keeps her from confiding in her real friends, which causes hard feelings and separation.

Now after total humiliation at her sister's wedding, Janie finds herself at Golden Slopes, a treatment facility for eating disorders. She is now one of the Barfers waiting in frustration for the Starvers to straggle in for every scheduled meal. In between therapy sessions, she shares her thoughts in a journal. More than anything she wants to go home, but first she must confront her situation and come to terms with the root cause of her constant desire to purge.

Author Sarah Darer Littman brings a fresh voice to this growing problem among teens today. Her story proves how wide-spread the problem of eating disorders has become. Among her cast of characters, readers will hear from males as well as females, the well-to-do as well as the disadvantaged, and even someone well beyond her teen years who has fallen victim to the disease.

Littman highlights the seriousness and the life-threatening effects of eating disorders, but at the same time, through humor and the results of positive treatment, provides hope and encouragement. PURGE is one you won't want to miss.

Reviewed by: Sally Kruger, aka "Readingjunky"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply amazing!, 21 July 2010
By 
Jo (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Purge (Mass Market Paperback)
Janie Ryman hates throwing up. So why does she binge eat and then stick her fingers down her throat several times a day? That's what the doctors and psychiatrists at Golden Slopes hope to help her discover. But first Janie must survive everyday conflicts between the Barfers and the Starvers, attempts by the head psychiatrist to fish painful memories out of her emotional waters, and shifting friendships and alliances among the kids in the ward.

Th above summary is from Amazon US.

This was such an amazing book! And in so many more ways than you would think from the blurb! I just loved it!

This is in no way a heavy book. As much as I was looking forward to reading Purge, I did assume it was going to be a pretty hard book to read emotionally. Although it's no picnic, it's not as hard as I thought it would be. It's actually pretty light and humourous in places, and I found myself hooked from the first line!

What I love is about this story is that it starts with Janie getting help. She's already int he psychiatric hospital, and although she doesn't think she has a problem, and would rather be anywhere but there, she is, and the people there are there to help. I think this is great firstly because from the start you know there's a way out for Janie if she chooses to take it, and secondly, because it shows you exactly what's involved in recovery for bulimia.

We do find out about Janie's story, about why she has bulimia and how she ended up at Golden Slopes, but Darer Littman trickles bits and pieces of her backstory throughout the book, so you're eagerly reading to find out what happened, but also engaged enough with Janie's here and now; with how she is dealing with her recovery, whether she'll make it or fall off the wagon. You're also kept engaged through the stories of the other patients. The other "Barfers" and the "Starvers" - those with bulimia and those with anorexia. Although we focus on Janie, you also come to care about the other patients and whether they recover. Some of the group therapy scenes are really heart breaking, yet eye-opening.

I noticed that not at one point in the novel do we find out what Janie's weight is. We don't get told her actual weight, and, although she thinks she's fat, we don't have her friends, family, or doctors try to convince her that she's not. She gets told she's pretty, but not whether she's fat or skinny. I just love that! It doesn't make a difference what her weight actually is, it's what she thinks about the way she looks that matters. Whether she is overweight or not, she is bulimic, and it's a change in attitude that's needed to help her recover, not necessarily a change in weight.

What I also found is that when Janie was describing how she felt, it seemed a whole lot more real, because Darer Littman suffered with bulimia herself. There's something that seems more believable when you know the author has been through what the main character is fgoing through, in comparison to an author researching and trying to get into a sufferer's head - not that I'm knocking it. It just felt at times like Darer Littman was speaking herself through Janie, and that made it hit home just a little bit more - Purge isn't autobiographical, but it's not just a story, some of those feelings are real.

This is such a brilliant book! Darer Littman also has resources for body image and eating disorders which I think would be so beneficial to those who are suffering with bulemia and anorexia. I really can't recommend Purge enough! You all really need to read this book! I am really looking forward to reading more by Sarah Darer Littman!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Starts well, ends unrealisticly, 29 Jun. 2010
By 
C. E. Cree "sereph" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Purge (Mass Market Paperback)
Despite being an older reader (I'm 25) I had hopes of this book being a realistic and solid read for others of the age this book is inteded for- I'm going for young adult to late teens.

Unfortunatly what started off as a bitter sweet compelling book turned into a hastely finished and unrealistic vision of recovery from Bulimia.

I have suffered from Bulima for 15 years and have been in recovery now for four months. Bulimia is as serious an illness as Anorexia, it takes time to recover from and the root causes of the illness can be as deeply buried as diamonds in the earth. If you read this book, you will think that after attempting suicide- as the charector does- and being admitted into and young adult psychiatric eating disorder facility, you will be released a few weeks later after having a miracle breakthrough and suddenly be able to cope with everything.

This is in probobly 99% of cases not the truth. This would NEVER happen, the risk to the paitent would be far too great. Going into respidential treatment is not something you can just do for a few weeks over the summer like some sort of camp.

This book gives a summing up sort of ending which doesnt answer questions such as how the relationship between Janie's mother and herself has contributed to her illness, how the family relationships are clearly very difficult and how Janie will require long term support to deal with many issues.

The fictitious hospital used in the book is deeply flawed- allowing paitents to insult and assult each other, which staff condone- something which no facility would allow.

The best that I can say about this book is that some of the urges Janie feels, some of her observations of Bulimia and feelings of not being able to communicate the whirlwind in her head are excellently portrayed.
However If you are looking for a book on Bulimia then I would recommend several others which give a more acurate display of the facts behind what is a rising risk for women of all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Purge, 17 July 2010
This review is from: Purge (Mass Market Paperback)
This book was very readable, but as someone who has been battling eating disorders for over 10yrs I felt it was a little too simple in the way the main character 'found' her way to recovery. At least it wasn't the typical 'she made her herself sick once & felt so out of control so went into hospital to come out 100% cured' storyline, but was only marginally better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality/badly made, 28 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Purge (Mass Market Paperback)
I returned this book because the quality was so poor. It had been badly made overall - it was poorly bound along the spine, so that when you opened the book, the pages were all 'bumpy' and looked as if they might come out. There was also a pen mark along the top of the pages. Shame, as it looked like a very good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Poorly written, predictable and boring, 11 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Purge (Mass Market Paperback)
Poorly written, not particularly captivating and to be honest I found it hard to read due to the predictability and lack of accuracy of the portrayal of a psychiatric unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Purge (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book. I actually read it in one sitting. it reveals the underlying issues of bulimia and why some succumb to this illness. Very well written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 2 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Purge (Mass Market Paperback)
Just finished it and it had me in tears near the end! Great book and very honest about bulimia and other subjects. Would strongly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but definately for teen readers, 26 Aug. 2013
By 
Ms. Cj Denney - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Purge (Mass Market Paperback)
had good, interesting parts but was not necessarily for me. There are memoirs more written for an adult audience out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5*, 21 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Purge (Kindle Edition)
I usually don't do reviews. But this book is just brilliant. A great journey. So down to earth and honest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Purge
Purge by Sarah Darer Littman
£4.20
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews