Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DO YOU RECYCLE?
John Waters does it again with another classic that epitomizes his post-Divine era. Beverly R. Sutphin (Kathleen Turner) is an immaculate mother who recycles and listens to Barry Manilow. She lives in the Baltimore suburb with her dentist husband (Sam Waterston) and two children, Chip (Matthew Lillard) and Misty (Ricki Lake). Everything is seemingly normal except mom has...
Published 22 months ago by The Movie Guy

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 5 star film let down by a poor blu ray transfer!
I am a massive fan of this film and I purchased it right away when I found out it had been released on blu ray. However, i was really disappointed with the blu ray transfer given to this little gem of a movie. The picture quality is not at all what we have come to expect from the blu ray format and really is not much better than the dvd version.
So if you are...
Published 19 months ago by MICHAELM


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DO YOU RECYCLE?, 11 May 2013
John Waters does it again with another classic that epitomizes his post-Divine era. Beverly R. Sutphin (Kathleen Turner) is an immaculate mother who recycles and listens to Barry Manilow. She lives in the Baltimore suburb with her dentist husband (Sam Waterston) and two children, Chip (Matthew Lillard) and Misty (Ricki Lake). Everything is seemingly normal except mom has some issues that she works out differently than most folks.

The film oozes with satire of the modern vs. 50's family, the celebrity status we bestow on criminals, plus other topics. I liked the background details such as the monster models I remember having as a kid as well as the Spiro Agnew painting in the courthouse. There were numerous memorable scenes and lines as in most Waters' films. Worth owning.

Parental Guide: F-bombs, magazine/movie nudity, weird sex scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh out loud black comedy, 12 April 2014
By 
David H J Ashdown (Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Serial Mom [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
Hilarious black comedy about a mother who solves her problems by killing people who annoy her or her children. Plenty of laugh out loud scenes especially if you've got a cynical sense of humour. It's loosely based on the true story of a Texan mother but exaggerated for comic effect - one of the better comedies to come out of the USA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Juicy Suburban Serial Killer Who Knows Her Rice Krispies, 16 Jun. 2013
By 
Stephanie De Pue (Wilmington, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
"Serial Mom," (1994), a gory comic crime caper that's another in director John Waters' wickedly twisted salutes to Baltimore, Maryland, his home town, had been difficult to get for years; it now is available in this deluxe version with some interesting, entertaining commentaries that make it even better worth the price.

First things first: it's very entertaining, but it is, of course, a one-joke movie. That being that title character Beverly R. Sutphin,( played by Kathleen Turner, Peggy Sue Got Married , The War of the Roses , Body Heat ), is a buttoned down 1950s suburban housewife in the June Cleaver mold. Yet she also happens to be, occasionally, a juicy serial killer - -though she claims the only cereal she knows anything about is Rice Krispies. She is portrayed as the last suburbanite you'd want to live near: a woman so obsessed with doing things the right - suburban--way that she kills one neighbour for not separating her recyclables, and another neighboring kid for unceremoniously dumping her daughter. They say, by the way, that Waters' original choice for the part was Susan Sarandon, but she was too expensive: that's just as well, as, anyone who's seen the picture can tell you, Turner made the part her own. Sam Waterston, who would achieve wider recognition as a U.S. President on American television, plays Beverly's husband, Eugene Sutphin, D.D.S. (a gormless dentist). Waters' regular Ricki Lake plays their daughter Misty; Matthew Lillard plays their son Chip. Another Waters' regular, Mink Stole, is along as Dottie Hinkle, another cross-dressed suburban housewife. Former porn queen Traci Lords twinkles, fully-dressed, in a bit part. The closing courtroom scenes are hilarious, as Beverly achieves celebrity defendant mode in her hometown, long before the O.J. Simpson murders and trial. Notorious heiress Patricia Hearst, who was kidnapped by crazed radical left-wingers in the late 1970's, and paid dearly for the privilege, is very funny as Juror #8, the one wearing the white shoes after Labor Day: don't you just love the conversation in which she desperately tries to convince Beverly that fashion has changed its views in that matter? And Suzanne Somers is along playing her usual pixilated self.

The movie's got some of Waters' typical touches: an autographed photo of Charles Manson; an actual Christmas card made and sent by John Wayne Gacy, and his own (Waters' voice) as Ted Bundy's, on a cassette found under Beverly's bed: you see, she collects serial killer memorabilia. And it's time to say now; he's a very good woman's director: even if that woman is a cross-dressed man (see Divine in the director's original Hairspray), which, let's agree, was a wonderful creation of his. In fact, Waters, who recently did a whistle-stop tour, and stopped here -- this is off message as they say, please forgive me -- said he was most proud of two things in regard to HAIRSPRAY. If any local theater or college group decided to do the play, there'd be a part in it for a fat girl; and one for a cross-dresser. The man just loves his twisted sisters, doesn't he? And he's created a fine one here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 5 star film let down by a poor blu ray transfer!, 9 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Serial Mom [Blu-ray] [1994] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I am a massive fan of this film and I purchased it right away when I found out it had been released on blu ray. However, i was really disappointed with the blu ray transfer given to this little gem of a movie. The picture quality is not at all what we have come to expect from the blu ray format and really is not much better than the dvd version.
So if you are thinking about upgrading your dvd to this blu ray, then I would wait until the price comes down to around £5 because I think that it isn't worth more than that unless you really are a die hard fan of this movie, or just keep your dvd version, as you won't see much of a picture upgrade in the blu ray transfer.
Come on universal pictures, if you are going to release these titles on blu ray, then at least make sure that they are given decent transfers or don't bother at all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not very good!, 23 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Serial Mom [Blu-ray] [1994] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I am not writing about the movie but the blu ray transfer! The movie is brilliant! If you already own the DVD release don't bother buying the blu ray. It is exactly the same transfer of the original picture. It's not remastered. You might still be watching the old VHS cassette instead this bad blu ray release. Really disappointed!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kathleen Turner is fantastic, 20 Sept. 2008
This review is from: Serial Mom [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
Serial Mom is the funniest film I have seen in a very long time, Kathleen Turner playing the psychotic Beverly Sutphin is hilarious. The best part of the film is when Beverly is in court, I was laughing the whole way through.

There are no extras on the DVD though, just a trailer but this is one funny film, buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must see!!!, 25 Oct. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Serial Mom [VHS] [1994] (VHS Tape)
Hilarious. Love the black comedy. Couldn't stop watching it. It's a must see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sadly , no EXTRAS, 28 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Serial Mom [Blu-ray] [1994] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
AMAZING MOVIE!! AMAZING PICTURE (i know some reviewers disagree here but i was genuinely impressed taking into consideration the age of this film.
HOWEVER, what is NOT amazing, is that there NO EXTRAS WHATSOEVER!!!
This was a real disappointment because I assumed it included the audio commentary done by John Waters and Kathleen Turner, which features on the collector's edition DVD of this film... sad, sad, sad!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray picture quality is a big disappointment, 15 Aug. 2013
By 
gaattc (Berne, Suisse) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Serial Mom [Blu-ray] [1994] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I concur with the previous reviewer: this is a very poor Blu-ray transfer. From the looks of it, the studio just re-used an old DVD master, slapped a lot of Edge Enhancement - and I mean a lot - on it, and done was the Blu-ray. As always with EE, the picture looks very artificial and processed. This movie would have deserved so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, funny, Dark...Watch it!, 27 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Serial Mom [Blu-ray] [1994] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
You have to love this gem.
Kathleen Turner is amazing and so very funny in this underrated film.
It's a little blood thirsty in parts, however I think you laugh as you can identify slightly with her character when people get on her nerves !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Serial Mom [Blu-ray] [1994] [Region Free]
Serial Mom [Blu-ray] [1994] [Region Free] by John Waters (Blu-ray - 2013)
£7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews