Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A strange and unsettling film
This is a strange and unusual film which I greatly enjoyed but also found slightly unsettling. It is marked by some outstanding performances - particularly from Fabrice Luchini and Ernst Umhauer (astonishingly sophisticated performance from a 16 year old!) - also, it goes without saying, Kristin Scott Thomas. Beautifully photographed, well paced, very entertaining...
Published 11 months ago by Wil Andersen

versus
8 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Promising start that descends into farce
I guess it would be easier if the entire movie was a let-down; I could dismiss it as the case of "emperor's new clothes" seen so many times with certain directors. However the first half hour is genuinely intriguing, which makes the utter failure that follows more difficult to watch, and a failure more difficult to comprehend.

I enjoy movies that challenge us,...
Published 16 months ago by MT


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A strange and unsettling film, 25 Sep 2013
By 
Wil Andersen (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: In The House [DVD] (DVD)
This is a strange and unusual film which I greatly enjoyed but also found slightly unsettling. It is marked by some outstanding performances - particularly from Fabrice Luchini and Ernst Umhauer (astonishingly sophisticated performance from a 16 year old!) - also, it goes without saying, Kristin Scott Thomas. Beautifully photographed, well paced, very entertaining.

I am not going to try to summarize the story. I have seen it described as a hilarious comedy - it has some very funny moments but I did not see it that way. Almost a thriller but not really - almost a fantasy but not that either. It is best approached with very little knowledge of what you are about to see which involves shifting realities. I feel a plot summary would significantly reduce your enjoyment!

As so often with Ozon it is one of a kind - and rewarding viewing. I need to see it again and am glad it is now available on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surreal French Drama, 15 Mar 2014
By 
This review is from: In the House (DVD)
It takes some time for you to realise that the story does not take place in the here and now. You are drawn into the plot and have to navigate your way around the possibilities. Whose mind are you seeing the story through? Who is the arch manipulator? It is very well acted and quite evenly paced. I have never been disappointed by Kristen Scott Thomas' performance - she I so gifted and hard-working. I would trust any script she chose to star in. This is an intriguing and skilful original script.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very clever, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The House [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this film. Really cleverly made. I love the "a suivre..." at the end of each essay. This is the story of a teacher who's pretty dissatisfied with his job as none of his students care about writing or reading and write extremely badly. This is until he stumbles on a piece of writing from Claude.Claude writes extremely well and is extremely cynical about his friend and his family. He says that he loves going to his friend's "normal" house and starts to make fun of the bourgeoisie and middle class parents.
I loved the element of "morally wrong" that the teacher will take a dangerous path to satisfy his curiousity and help his student develop his writing skills.
Of course Claude is a disturbed teenager, and as the story unfolds, a series of event will change the professsor's life forever...A MUST SEE! Also, Kristin Scott Thomas is amazing and her french is perfect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars film of the decade, 18 Jan 2014
By 
P. Micklem - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The House [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Really good plot which keeps twisting. Should watch it on a big screen, espcially for the last shot. Film is not over-long either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Obsession, 2 Aug 2013
By 
This review is from: In The House [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this film. Funny and subtle. It's about a school teacher and his wife who becomes obsessed with the literary outpourings of one of his students. The student himself is obsessed by the middle-class family of one of his friends, and so insinuates himself into their home to write about their lives. He is particularly obsessed with the attractive mother. It is about voyeurism and vicariously feeding off other people's lives. This might almost be a description of art, and particularly film and literature.

The film is really a black comedy and it moves at a satisfying pace. There is never a superfluous scene. It moves toward what is the inevitable tragi-comic conclusion with perfect finesse. I have seen François Ozon films before but I was never moved to write a review. It is certainly worth a watch if you like French films and like films which have an artistic flavour but don't take themselves too seriously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Young boys crush on his friends mother, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The House [DVD] (DVD)
The main reason I bought this was Kristin Scott-Thomas and Emmanuelle Seigner, cause then I usually are left with some quality
that last. This film is a real masterpiece, and the only drawback is that I don`t speak french, and has to take my eyes away to
read the english subtitles. But I guess this is one of the films I will watch many times, and learn the lines by memory ;- )
There are many good actors in this film, and they deliver the right atmosphere all the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good Ozon, 10 July 2013
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: In The House [DVD] (DVD)
In The House tells an intriguing tale of a teacher (Fabrice Luchini) and pupil where the latter is a gifted writer, much more so than his frustrated mentor. The boy starts writing a serialised piece of 'non-fiction' involving a friend of his and this friend's family, with whom the writer appears to get very involved ... the friend is also in the same teacher's French class. All this is developed through some individual classes Luchini gives to help bring out the youngster's talent. We quickly get drawn in to the ever more lurid revelations, both funny and titillating, that follow, as do Luchini and his wife, played with customary stylishness by Kristin Scott Thomas at her elegant best. It's a light souffle of a film, not very deep, but which holds you somewhat on the edge of your seat ... As real and imagined become more and more confused, Ozon shows himself once again to be a master of a surreal tone that he last handled with this incisiveness in Swimming Pool. Admirers of Scott Thomas need not hesitate - this is one of her best roles, and Luchini also manages to get right inside the role in a way no one else could, you feel by the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars `Even barefoot the rain won't dance', 26 July 2013
By 
Tommy Dooley (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: In The House [DVD] (DVD)
This is quite simply a delightful and engrossing French film. It tells the story of Claude Garcia (Ernst Umhauer), he is a student at Lycee Gustave Flaubert and a bit of a loner. He specialises in maths, but has written an essay for his cynical and dismissive literature teacher, Professor Germain (Fabrice Lucini `The Women on the Sixth Floor'). In it he tells how he had become obsessed with entering a school mate's house, just to be with a `normal' middle class family. His mother having left and him having to care for a father he clearly has little in common with has left him on the periphery of life where he seems to be more of a spectator than a participant.

His essay details how he managed to inveigle his way into the home and what his thoughts and feelings were. He ends his essay with `to be continued'; it is the best piece of creative writing Germain has seen in a long while and he encourages his young charge to continue. This he does with increasing flair and increasing artifice.

What started out as well written reportage quickly becomes a blur of fact and fiction. The resulting release of emotions for all involved soon leads to circumstances spiralling out of control. Kristen Scott-Thomas plays Madame Germain, she runs a modern art gallery that has some truly uninspiring and ludicrous exhibits check out the `penile swastika' to give you a taste. Her job is juxtaposed to her husbands and the increasing obsession he has with the `story' compared with her struggling in the reality of her life.

This is just a sublime film, director François Ozon has made a film that is perfectly balanced, billed as a thriller, mystery, it is also a bit of a comedy and a study in obsession and the inter relationships that can happen just by chance in ones life. Every single player puts in great performances and the direction and attention to detail is outstanding. This was released as `Dans la maison' and it is in French with very good sub titles and runs for 106 minutes, but it seemed a lot less. Just brilliant for all Francophiles and lovers of European, stylish cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful film, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The House [DVD] (DVD)
It's like a great Henry James novel - very well observed, slightly dark and morbid - but told with a modern, playful and often funny language. I rate this as François Ozon's best film so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth seeing more than once, 25 May 2014
By 
P. BAILEY - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The House [DVD] (DVD)
A funny thought provoking film where reality and imagination merge together. The dvd is excellent for all the background about how the film was made, deleted scenes and clips of the caste corpsing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In The House [Blu-ray]
In The House [Blu-ray] by François Ozon (Blu-ray - 2013)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews