Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slasher for the dark ages!!
Imagine if our favourite survival horror/slasher films were to be set upon the dark ages.
Now imagine lord of the rings clashing with the hills have eyes.

Escape is nitty gritty suspense in survival tactics set upon the medievile times, Dark imaginatively enjoyable and quite unpredictable in places.

Note! This is not an action film...
Published 3 months ago by Elizabeth

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Medieval revenge film
Much is good in this film, a medieval chase/horror/revenge tale ... with some great acting, locations and props, but the clichéd story and bad guys lets it down. Effective tension and action however.
Published 27 days ago by Josh


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slasher for the dark ages!!, 19 Mar 2014
This review is from: Escape [DVD] (DVD)
Imagine if our favourite survival horror/slasher films were to be set upon the dark ages.
Now imagine lord of the rings clashing with the hills have eyes.

Escape is nitty gritty suspense in survival tactics set upon the medievile times, Dark imaginatively enjoyable and quite unpredictable in places.

Note! This is not an action film. "Instead this is a survival slasher film during the dark ages" Shows many brutalised violence and near sexual and perverse tries of rape.

This is based on a family of 3 living in poor conditions who are in current search of a better shelter and better conditions. Things take a tragic turn when the 19 year old girls brother and father are killed by a clan of sadist barbarians who are led by their leader, a female woman with corrupted desires that were triggered off by her terrible past indecent, soon enough the 19 year old girl is taken hostage by the clan of ruthless cold blooded evil barbarians. Bad happenings start to escalate soon as she realises the barbarians have a ghastly thirst to use their sexual needs on their hostage, Turning into a race for survival and dignity.

This is certainly an enjoyment and pleasurable to view, faultless acting and absolute equals of horror survival sexual depravity and dark age terror.

Bloody cold hearted brilliance.
This is one to watch by all means.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Medieval Must-See, 14 July 2013
By 
K. Daniels - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Escape [DVD] (DVD)
Being a big fan of the Cold Prey trilogy, I couldn't wait to see what the director's new film would be like and luckily Escape not only delivered the goods, but exceeded them too! Set during the 14th century after the Black Plague had ravished the lands, Escape is full of action, gruesome moments and a fantastic plot!

With an excellent cast, set and great costumes, Escape is a must see for all fans of films like Braveheart and Robin Hood. With the director's previous work being the much loved Cold Prey series, there's plenty here that horror fans will eat up as well as action and adventure fans too!

Highly recommended - check out this little gem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent acting and a great storyline, 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD arrived only 18 hours or so after I ordered it, and not only that it, it was a magnificent film. The storyline, one of vengeance, escape (hence the name) and sisterhood with an unlikely friend of the heroine, makes for a wonderfully juicy movie. Furthermore, the 'baddies' of the film, or at least their leader, are not set up in the typical Hollywood 'they're mean because they just are' format; they, or rather she, also has a story behind her. Finally, for any fans of Gaahl (Kristian Espedal) out there, although he has virtually no dialogue in this movie, he, above all others, adds to the menacing, predatory and medieval nature of this film and it's plot. Unfortunately, as is expected of a 'baddie' in the Medieval times, he is killed, though, unsurprisingly, the shot doesn't exactly show him die; no doubt the film crew, like those who admire him the world over, know that it's difficult to imagine a figure like Gaahl die, or even be born for that matter...

Anyway, great movie, great plot, great cast, great acting, great review; what else matters...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good story, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape [DVD] (DVD)
Did not know what to expect from this movie when i bought it. But was surprised how good the story was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Medieval revenge film, 16 Jun 2014
By 
Josh "The Claw" (Wherever I'm needed) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape [DVD] (DVD)
Much is good in this film, a medieval chase/horror/revenge tale ... with some great acting, locations and props, but the clichéd story and bad guys lets it down. Effective tension and action however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected, 8 April 2014
This review is from: Escape [DVD] (DVD)
Although I enjoyed the director's other movie, Cold Prey, I really didn't expect to like this one as much as I did. The acting is great (by the child actors as well), the cinematography is amazing, and the eerie soundtrack fits perfectly. Its story isn't very original (reminds me a bit of Apocalypto, though I'm sure that wasn't the first one), but it's executed so well it didn't bother me at all.
If you're into movies like Black Death and Evil Rising (Sauna), definitely check this one out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sub Titles.., 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape [DVD] (DVD)
Was suprised to find that this movie was not in English. However,with such a small ammount of dialogue,it was not a problem. So I enjoyed it. I don't usually.. Worth seeing,glad I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing much, 13 Nov 2013
By 
This review is from: Dagmar, l'âme des vikings (DVD)
There must be no more than a dozen actors. Do not expect anything viking. It's just about revenge against big meanies who killed family, children and all.
It reminds me of Charles Bronson's movie plots. The bad guys are really really bad and there will be no remorse if they all get killed in the end.

I did not enjoy it, to be easily forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just......, 12 Mar 2014
This review is from: Escape (DVD)
Sh****t!!!!!! Loads of crap! Very bad made, waste of time too poor! I think is even waste of time to review it!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Didn't enjoy, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape [DVD] (DVD)
A family is butchered by bandits and eventually the sole survivor, the 19 yr old daughter who has zero combat experience, manages to kill all the baddies who clearly have plenty of fighting & weapons experience. Just implausible.
In the meantime, everyone runs around the countryside. Sorry, found it boring and very small scale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Escape [DVD]
Escape [DVD] by Roar Uthaug (DVD - 2013)
£4.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews