Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed this film more than any oter films BruceLee made i
I enjoyed this film more than any oter films BruceLee made in his entire career.This film has a well thought out plot.The fight scenes are put together well and the fight on the motorbikes is extremely memorable as is the end showdown between bruce and a much larger opponent
Published on 17 Nov. 2000

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the best cinematic testament to the memory of Bruce Lee
Game of Death was a project Bruce Lee had originally dreamt up, prior to Hollywood tempting him with the offer of starring in Enter The Dragon.Game of Death is a film which Bruce Lee had set his heart on once camera's stopped rolling on Enter The Dragon. He even cast former one time James Bond, George Lazenby as a villain, who himself was a brown belt in karate and a...
Published on 14 Aug. 2001 by ndhanjal@hallmarknetworkuk.com


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the best cinematic testament to the memory of Bruce Lee, 14 Aug. 2001
This review is from: Game Of Death [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Game of Death was a project Bruce Lee had originally dreamt up, prior to Hollywood tempting him with the offer of starring in Enter The Dragon.Game of Death is a film which Bruce Lee had set his heart on once camera's stopped rolling on Enter The Dragon. He even cast former one time James Bond, George Lazenby as a villain, who himself was a brown belt in karate and a close friend of Bruce Lee's. However, as we all know Bruce Lee passed away as Enter The Dragon was completed, therefore the much anticipated Game of Death was shelved. Bruce Lee had said, this was to be his next big project following Enter The Dragon. Nevertheless six years on from his untimely demise, Game of Death was released in 1979.It has to be said, this film was a dire cash in on Bruce Lee's sudden surge of popularity during the tail end of the 1970s.Robert Clouse and Raymond Chow, who were the production team behind this celluloid farce and attempt in paying homage to the late great king of kung fu, tried to utilise editing as their weapon of perfection, rather clumsily piecing together out-takes and scenes of Bruce Lee from earlier films, along with casting in the main role, what they thought was a Bruce Lee lookalike, by the name of Tong Lung, doesn't exactly bode well as an example of good film making.The scenes we do actually see of the man himself, are a treat, if an extremely rare one at that.The scenes we do see were filmed in early 1973 when Bruce Lee had the idea of putting together Game of Death.All in all, three fight scenes were caught on film however, due to the nonsensical censcorship laws in the UK, the best scene of all which is the incredible and breathtaking nunchaku duel between Lee and the Phillipino master of the sticks, Dan Inosanto (Bruce Lee's tutor of the nunchaku)is CUT!This means, unless you are prepared to pay a pricely sum for an imported version of the video, once again UK martial arts film fans and Bruce Lee enthusiasts are robbed yet again due the BBFC-come on its the 21st century. How offensive can two sticks joined together by a chain be deemed offensive in an age where film scenes showing graphic murders with guns and knives, etc escaping the machete of censcorship pratically everytime.So in the end, all we are left with is a film that promises much, but fails to deliver what would of have been a cracking martial arts thriller. Granted, there are some credible fight scenes as Tong Lung is a rather athletic and polished martial artist in his own right, but at the end of the day, Robert Clouse and Raymond Chow and the rest of the marketing team behind Game of Death have tried to sell this film off to members of the unsuspecting public as being a true Bruce Lee film, when we all know better.What fans desire, is the real Bruce Lee, and aside from the few treasured minutes of the Little Dragon in action, Game of Death is quite sadly an anti climax. But wait, I haven't even commented on the acting and script yet, in a nutshell, very poor, and not what Bruce Lee had envisaged at all I am sure.If you do decide to watch Game of Death, make sure it's the full uncut version, which in addition to the classic nunchaku battle, also features a furious fight scene of epic proportions shot in a greenhouse between Tong Lung and legendary leg fighter, Ka SaFa, also known as Casonova Wong, which was to later resurface in Game of Death 2.Maybe my comments are a trifle harsh, but hey, the makers of Game of Death promised us a real Bruce Lee movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars film looks weird at the start, but ends off with a bang, 30 Oct. 2007
This review is from: Game Of Death [VHS] (VHS Tape)
at the beginning scene, we see The Legend in a movie star trailer and what appears to be a still photo of Bruce staring into a mirror. It appears so odd, especially after you translate the mumbo jumbo roman numeral outdated system the film studios use to date movies. (mmcxi), or something to that effect, translates into 1979. a kung fu tournament poster in the movie has the dates 1974-1977. When I was only 5 years old in 1976 my mom and dad took me to a movie a young Gig Young starred in (who also was in The Game of Death", yet greying) called "The Hindenburg", yet we all know Bruce died in 1973.

Confusion aside, the credits don't seem to mention a "double" who is so skinny that one really wonders if this is the cut up, 0% body fat, powerful, true Bruce Lee. Ray Chow, the producer, should be ashamed of himself, not only is the double not mentioned in the opening and closing credits--there is no ending memoriam or dedication to Bruce's untimely death.!Principles aside and thinking of the practicality of the situation, we don't like to be confused and deceived), but the last fight scenes starting with Dan Inosanto and Kareem Abdul Jabbar (Lee's friend) are fantastic and is worth the price of owning this movie in your collection. It is also recommended to the African American audience which is so enamored by Kung Fu movies and Bruce Lee in particular as Bruce Lee emphatized during his life with African Americans and the racism they endured, much like Bruce had to endure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Only my opinion, 11 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Game Of Death [DVD] (DVD)
There have been many views and opinion over the last 35 years about Game Of Death, whilst I understand and in many ways agree with past reviews regarding the missed opportunity in not going ahead with Bruce's original version of this movie or as close to it as possible. I do think that there are some good point within this production {ie} the motorcycle fight scenes along with the fight scene in the baddies garden. I do like the opening and closing titles montage as well as John Barry's music score. Game Of Death was for many years heavily cut by the BBFC and as a result of this the movie was understandably panned by critics and fans alike. Since this movie has been released uncut {Originally by Hong Kong Legends} It has always been good to see the Nunchakus scenes put back in place. My only real concern for all of the Bruce Lee movies {except Enter The Dragon} is that we here in the UK still do not have a Blu Ray release of his movie at this time. I have sent E.One entertainment several emails to request info on this matter but have not as yet received any replies. It looks as as if I will be forced to purchase the Bruce Lee Legacy box set from the USA.
Just in case anyone is interested, it would be best if you waited for the newer version of the box set to be released as the first release was a catalogue of errors. I have recived confirmation from SHOUT FACTORY that the new versions {release date late October 2013} are new HD masters. Any way E.One Entertainment the ball is in your court, it could not be more simple..Just for once give us the buying public what we want..in short Blu Ray releases {new masters please} and plenty of extras. AS THEY SAY IF YOUR MAKE IT AVAILABLE THEY WILL BY IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Awful cash-in on Lee's sudden death., 30 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Game Of Death [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Bruce Lee is in this film for about 10 minutes, the rest of the film it is either a very poor double with huge comedy sunglasses to hide his face or, even worse, poorly edited clips from previous films just stuck in for more or less every close up shot. In the film "Bruce Lee" plays an action film star who, coincidently, is threatened by local mob bosses to join their organisation or die. Bruce Lee's original self penned script was actually about a "Game Of Death", a gauntlet style game, in which every floor of a building has a different fighting master to defeat until he reaches the top floor. Due to the plot being shamelessly thrown to one side Bruce Lee only stars in the final few fight scenes. These scenes are pure class. One features a giant of a man, who was a former basketball star and student of Lee. This film is truly awful and does not stand as a fitting tribute to the true master of martial arts. The only reason that I've given this video 2 stars is the final few scenes, they are some of his finest. Without these precious few scenes this film would be in the minus marks. Watch it by all means but fast forward through to Bruce Lee's real scenes, anything else in the film just isn't worth the effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed this film more than any oter films BruceLee made i, 17 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Game Of Death [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I enjoyed this film more than any oter films BruceLee made in his entire career.This film has a well thought out plot.The fight scenes are put together well and the fight on the motorbikes is extremely memorable as is the end showdown between bruce and a much larger opponent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Game Of Death [DVD]
Game Of Death [DVD] by Robert Clouse (DVD - 2013)
£6.05
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews