Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet...
5 sweet, sweet stars for the final chapter in the Slammed series.

I have adored these books, not only for the beautiful storytelling, but for the connection i made on every butterflying page!

I had read Slammed & Point of Retreat quite some time ago & was concerned I may have struggled to remember, but it all came racing back as we recalled certain...
Published 13 months ago by Janey

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars this girl
echo jazzy's comments, based on the contents of this book, apart from the honeymoon and epilogue, the book was just cut and paste of book one and two. I was expecting much more with substance; for example moving the story on to careers and the boys grown up. What the hell, having a baby already, surely, they would have wanted to enjoy what was left of thier youths...
Published 14 months ago by booksandmore


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet..., 8 Jun 2013
By 
Janey (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Girl (Kindle Edition)
5 sweet, sweet stars for the final chapter in the Slammed series.

I have adored these books, not only for the beautiful storytelling, but for the connection i made on every butterflying page!

I had read Slammed & Point of Retreat quite some time ago & was concerned I may have struggled to remember, but it all came racing back as we recalled certain poignant times from Will's POV. That was interspersed with current day catch ups, which just made This Girl nothing less than awesome.

One of my all time favourites, but then Colleen can do that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Bemazing Stars, 15 Jun 2013
This review is from: This Girl (Kindle Edition)
**Advance copy Received in exchange for honest review**

Colleen Hoover, I am totally in love with you! Every single book I've read of yours are worth more than 5 stars -without a doubt!!

I have read so many books in the last year and Slammed was one of the first books I read when I started this mad kindle book addiction. The thing is that some of those books I can't really remember, but some books you'll never forget and Slammed (& POR) I will never forget. I felt there was so much emotion and heartache in that book, it was brilliant.

Can you hear how much I loved Slammed? but to love This Girl I needed it to be different, I didnt want to just read the same story again and I didn't - it felt like a different book, but at the same time familiar. I wondered how I would feel, whether I would still have all those emotions because I know what happens, but reading it from Will's pov, understanding how he felt, definitely draws you in emotionally again. I fell in love with Will all over again and harder than before. But that's not just it - because of how the story is told you get to see Lake's reaction to Will's side of the story, sometimes it's happiness, sometimes it's sadness and sometimes it's torture.......

"what the hell do you want me to say Will? Do you want me to admit that i'm not perfect? That i'm jealous? I know you said that it didn't me anything to you, but that doesn't mean that it didn't mean something to me"

"Its just.... I know we don't believe in soul mates" she says "There are so many people in this world that can be right for each other. If there weren't, then cheating would never be an issue. Everyone would find their one true love and life would be great - relationships would be a piece of cake. But that's not how it is in reality and I realise this. So.... it just hurts okay? It hurts me to know there are other women out there in the world that could make you happy. I know it's immature and I was being petty and jealous, but... I just want to be your only one. I want to be your soul-mate even if I don't believe in them. I overreacted and I'm sorry"

And that's the other thing about Colleen's writing that I love, her books aren't fantasy, the situations are believable, something you could see in your real life, the people in them have real emotions, real beliefs, its not all "you're my soul mate, the only one for me"

The ending did have me in tears, for two reasons, the thing that Julia had the foresight to do, along with the last poem, but also because I knew it was the end of Will and Lake's story. As Donna says that was definitely my suck for the day.

All I can say is that if you have read Slammed & POR, you must read this, you will not be disappointed! and if you haven't read Slammed & POR why the hell not? Go read them - now.

A butterflyingly brilliant bemazing book (and series) from a butterflyingly brilliant bemazing author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars **************5 Incredible Stars**************, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Girl (Kindle Edition)
**************5 Incredible Stars**************

"Those are the hardest pieces of all to accept.
The pieces of our puzzle
That just don't belong"

This final instalment of the Slammed series was told from Will's point of view and flashes back from their current lives to how they came to be together. It tells the story of slammed and point of retreats main moments, giving different pieces of info from what we were given in the first two books which makes it utterly captivating.

I laughed.
I cried.
I smiled.
I hurt.
I ached.
But more than anything...

I Felt.

For those who have read Slammed and Point of Retreat, this book is an awesome final installment.

These three books will stay with me for a long time, and in the best possible way.

XxX
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are you sitting comfortably? Then let Will begin..., 30 April 2013
By 
Nicola_1202 (South Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Girl (Kindle Edition)
When I discovered we were to be treated to Will's side of 'Slammed', I was delighted yet at the back of my mind there was a tiny pocket of hesitancy at the thought of a repeated story. Yes it is a retelling of 'Slammed' which I purposefully chose not re-read beforehand as I wanted that feeling of remembering the little things you tend to forget. Whilst we know how Will and Lake's journey ended, I devoured this as if I was clueless to the story. It is quite simply its own book and Colleen Hoover has done an outstanding job in keeping the story fresh and full of every possible emotion.

I love getting into the head of a male character and discovering their thoughts, feelings, hopes and fears as well a greater insight into them as a character. As much as I thought I knew Will, there is so much we were never privy to; his confiding moments with Julia, his friendship with Gavin and just how deep his inner turmoil ran. 'This Girl' reinforces what an exceptional man he is and I fell in love with him all over again.

Will and Lake's situation over all 3 books has been heartwarming, heartbreaking, filled with happiness, sadness, frustration and humour. I felt their joy and their pain and I laughed and I fought the tears. Their brothers deserve a special mention as those little boys brought many of the uplifting moments, from laughing at their innocent comments through to the touching nature of their unconditional love for each other, Will and Lake and not forgetting their resilience against the loss of their parents.

Whilst I am sad to have finished this wonderful series, the final chapters and the epilogue did it a serious justice and finished the story beautifully. I have no doubt that Colleen Hoover will treat us to more gems in the future and irrespective of your age (I'm mid 30's) 'Slammed', 'Point of Retreat' and 'This Girl' are unmissable reads.

Two words to sum up...Butterflying Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great follow up, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Girl (Kindle Edition)
Colleen Hoover loves the English language! This book was just as butterflying beautiful as the other two in the series. I will really miss the characters.... but then again I will be reading all three again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply brilliant, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Girl (Kindle Edition)
I absolutely loved this book. Colleen Hoover does not disappoint. Highly recommend the Slammed series. Will just have to read them all again :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Girl, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Girl (Kindle Edition)
WOW is all I can say, I didn't think I could love Will and Lake any more but in this book their journey from Wills POV, if you enjoyed Slammed and Point of Retreat you will love this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Omg, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Girl (Kindle Edition)
More tears, more laughter omg I've loved loved loved these book, great ending to a beautiful well told story....I'm only sad it's the end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 25 May 2013
By 
hkw31 "hkw31" (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: This Girl (Kindle Edition)
I loved it. I'm not sure I can say much more than that. I really, really loved it.

Colleen Hoover was my introduction to good YA writing - real, powerful characters that she makes you fall in love with, and tense heartbreaking situations that she deals with sensitively and with enough realism that you can't help but be drawn into them.

I think what I love about this author so much is that she gets the mix between character and situation spot on. There are so many authors out there who rely on heaping tragedy upon tragedy on their poor characters to keep the story going. This means you never get a feel for the people. Ms Hoover is fantastic at showing her characters in crappy situations, but being crystal clear that what gets them to their HEA is who they are, both as individuals and together. That gives her stories the depth and complexity that others lack, and it's what makes me engage with her books.

I confess that after another recent male POV book from a series I liked (I think we call all guess which one I am talking about), I was hesitant about reading this one. I shouldn't have worried. This was more than a re-telling on the story, this was genuinely the male POV, and because of that it added to my understanding of this couple and their journey rather than bore me with repetition.

The only downside is I am really going to miss Will and Lake, but I'm looking forward to what this author does next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, WOW, WOW!!, 21 May 2013
By 
Vel "Vel" (United kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: This Girl (Kindle Edition)
What a beautifully written book from Will's POV.

I thought after reading Slammed and Point of Retreat, there would no tears left for me to shed, How wrong was I !!!

I just fell back in love with Will & Lyken!

Colleen Hoover manages to reflect Will's POV so wonderfully revisiting his thoughts and feelings more or less covering the main tragic points from both the previous two books, bringing an absolutely brilliant ending to this series.

This wil be a series I will be reading many times over again & again in the future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

This Girl
This Girl by Colleen Hoover
3.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews