Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short and to the point
I actually quite liked this, even though it didn't have any particularly well-known actors in it, memorable special effects or was even that original.

It borrows elements of various genres, i.e. horror, thriller, home-invasion, stand-off and creates a simple enough story which I won't go into too much detail about, as there are a couple of plot...
Published 6 months ago by Albatross

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars No One Lives
One of the most bonkers horror films I've seen for a long time. The title is very descriptive of the plot, it's got a great twist on the usual horror plot thread and there are some very inventive gory scenes which are all needed to make up for the so-so acting. If you're looking for something a little different in the horror genre then you could do worse than check this...
Published 1 month ago by Mr. R. A. Stanton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short and to the point, 28 Sep 2013
This review is from: No One Lives [DVD] (DVD)
I actually quite liked this, even though it didn't have any particularly well-known actors in it, memorable special effects or was even that original.

It borrows elements of various genres, i.e. horror, thriller, home-invasion, stand-off and creates a simple enough story which I won't go into too much detail about, as there are a couple of plot twists/unexpected moment which you might not see coming. Don't think the title is a spoiler in itself - nothing seems to go as planned here.

It is violent. Expect a high body count, filled with some particularly grisly deaths. I can also see some people not liking it due to the characters - they're all pretty unlikeable and you may find it hard to care whether most of them live or die, let alone identify with their plight. But I think that's kind of the idea.

It's supposed to be dark and nasty, so, if you're in the mood for that and can put up with dialogue that sometimes can be a little ropey, then this one will fill an hour and twenty minutes of your time. You'll either think it's complete rubbish, or an undiscovered cult classic.

A generous 4/5 stars (maybe more of a 3.5, depending on your mood)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A decent, well made, horror gem, 14 Jun 2013
By 
D. Krol "deano76" (bradford) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No One Lives [DVD] (DVD)
I wasn't expecting much from this low budget horror gem from the director of the excellent and criminally unseen Midnight meat train.

***May contain some spoilers***

The film starts off by making the viewers aware of the high profile kidnapping of a rich Texan girl, then we cut to a couple, who at first seem to be trying to reconcile over some sort of tragedy by going on a road trip. They stop at a diner and get harassed by a local gang of thieves and bandits and upon leaving, they get attacked and kidnapped by the same gang. Without giving too much away, something happens that results in the death of the mans girlfriend and this is where it all kicks off. The enraged man (who we never get a name for) escapes his captors and begins to hunt them all down one by one. There's a nice twist thrown in regarding the missing Texan girl and you are left in 2 minds about which of the movies villains you want to root for.

No one lives was a really nice treat for someone expecting something really average and cheesy. It's very well made for its modest budget, is fast paced and exciting and has quite a lot of blood and gore thrown in to boot. Luke Evans (clash of the titans, immortals, the hobbit desolation of smaug) is on excellent form as the twisted anti hero of the film and is genuinely menacing. The rest of the cast do an ok job and the gang of thugs are genuinely dislikeable enough for you to take great pleasure out of watching them suffer for their evil deeds. Some of the kills are really imaginative as well.

I have watched a lot of pap horror films of late so it was nice to see one rise above the usual trash that's out there just now.

By no means the best horror film around but definitely a worthwhile watch if you're after a good, solid, horror fix.

7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great slasher thriller, 19 Dec 2013
This review is from: No One Lives [Blu-ray] [DVD] (DVD)
A slasher thriller that follows a formulaic plot, this is brought to life by brave plotting, great direction, and a brilliant turn by Luke Evans.
I'm not giving anything away that's not broadcast loud and clear in the trailer, so No Spoilers:
In a great twist on the usual 'gang of criminals kidnap a wealthy couple a torture them' storyline, a gang who have just brutally screwed up the robbery they'd planned think their luck has turned when a couple arrive at their local diner. However once they make their move and kidnap the couple, they realise their terrible mistake.
There's a girl locked in the couple's trunk, screaming for them to 'make sure he's dead', and it turns out that Luke Evan's mild mannered character may be far more dangerous than the lot of them...
The movie is brilliant fun once it 'hits the fan', and Evans' character is thankfully given tremendous moments, including a lot of unexpected emotional depth and layering that makes him far more complex and interesting than the usual movie psycho.
Many of the other characters are shallow-ish cyphers, but once the action starts you really won't care much, and the violence and big set-pieces are choreographed so well that it's a joy to watch.
A fantastic slasher with funny, wry dialogue, tension built in spades, and sudden, harsh violence.
Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gore aplenty in this very original horror., 7 Dec 2013
By 
Tommy Dooley "Tom" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: No One Lives [DVD] (DVD)
This is an indie film and shows that with a bit of originality, good acting and great camera work that you can make a good film for a fraction of a blockbuster budget. We meet a couple who are moving homes; they seem to have everything they need in a trailer and the car they are towing. We learn early on that there has been an issue regarding `another woman' that has come between them, but are told no more. Then we meet a gang of `ruthless highway killers'. Their panache for unrestrained mayhem is shown early on.

Then chance has it that the two groups meet at an isolated diner. Not wanting to miss the opportunity for a fast buck, the gang decide to kidnap the couple. What they think is going to be an easy meal ticket turns out to be something altogether more sinister and the scene is set for a bit of a gore, splat fest with more twists than you can shake a stick at.

I did not expect anything from this, but as it started to play I was really hooked (no pun by the way). The acting is all very credible to excellent, Like Evans as the unnamed `driver' has smouldering charm and malevolence in equal measures. He says at one point, `it's only in mendacity that we achieve our very best' - excellent stuff. Some of the support does try a bit too much but that does not inhibit the central plot. Director RyŻhei Kitamura is probably best known for `Azumi', but has proven he can make a great film in English as well as he can his native Japanese - I would avoid his Godzilla one though, - only joking it is actually highly rated too. So for an hour and a half of gore, fun you could do a whole lot worse than giving this a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Typical horror plot: a psychopath looking to get even..., 6 Oct 2013
This review is from: No One Lives [DVD] (DVD)
This movie is a bit like: 1, Ripley's game (2002) - centred around a clever psychopath; 2, Taken (2008) - man on a mission to save loved one from bad guys; and 3, The Silence of the Lambs (1991) - creepy romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good B-Movie, 5 April 2014
This review is from: No One Lives (Blu-ray)
Short and sweet and really rather good in a B-Movie like fashion. Luke Evans is execellant. Its full of great twists and turns
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars No One Lives, 2 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. R. A. Stanton (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No One Lives (DVD)
One of the most bonkers horror films I've seen for a long time. The title is very descriptive of the plot, it's got a great twist on the usual horror plot thread and there are some very inventive gory scenes which are all needed to make up for the so-so acting. If you're looking for something a little different in the horror genre then you could do worse than check this out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Violent over the top Action Movie in the Best Possible Way, 13 Jan 2014
This review is from: No One Lives [Blu-ray] [DVD] (DVD)
Nice twists, incredibly dark and violent, this is another film in the action/horror genre which seems to be so popular at the moment with the WWE studio. This is never going to get any critical acclaim (although Mark Kermode did do a positive review), but if you want to watch a popcorn flick with nasty kills and a really grim vein running through it then you should definitely check this out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the box, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No One Lives [Blu-ray] [DVD] (DVD)
The title is more than appropriate for this one and says it all really. Bit of weird start and took a bit of time to understand what was going on. Loads of ruthless action and Luke Evans certainly takes no prisoners. Not much of a plot and a weak story line but watchable. Bit of a twist/surprise at the end to cheer you up. If you are squeamish I would suggest you don't watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb film., 26 Oct 2013
This review is from: No One Lives [DVD] (DVD)
I absolutely loved every second of this brutal killfest. That may sound a tad sick,but it is only a film,not reality. I am not going to bother with the plot. I will just say the film is brutal,gory,violent and great fun to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb2deeec0)

This product

No One Lives [Blu-ray] [2012] [US Import]
No One Lives [Blu-ray] [2012] [US Import] by Lee Tergesen (Blu-ray - 2013)
£14.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews