Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is great!
I dont normally do reviews but am driven to say something about this album cos i dont get why there is only to poorish reports on this when it is so good! I love this album - loved the others and this is a great fifth - lots of old school vibes great riffs and really catchy tunes - buy it now and play it loud!!
Published 14 months ago by Steviemf

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor
I considered Dizzee Rascal to be the UK's antidote to the chart-dominant American rap mono-culture, but now he has joined forces with them to produce this mishmash of cliched modern rap-cross-dance hybrids that nobody can escape from these days. Quite often the hard work sounds like it was done by producers across the atlantic, with Dizzee just contributing the vocals...
Published 15 months ago by zootweller


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor, 3 Oct 2013
By 
This review is from: The Fifth (Audio CD)
I considered Dizzee Rascal to be the UK's antidote to the chart-dominant American rap mono-culture, but now he has joined forces with them to produce this mishmash of cliched modern rap-cross-dance hybrids that nobody can escape from these days. Quite often the hard work sounds like it was done by producers across the atlantic, with Dizzee just contributing the vocals from some London basement. Quite disappointing. On one track he teams up with the anti-christ of modern pop music himself, Willy-am.
There are many times when I felt like I was listening to the Lonely Island, except they would have made a much better job of it.
The tracks "Don't Need A Reason" & "Bassline Junkie" are the only standouts on this release, and prove that he is still capable of making great music when he tries, but two tracks do not an album make.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's not bad, 30 Oct 2013
By 
This review is from: The Fifth (Audio CD)
It is a good album with some good stand out tracks. "Arse Like That" is certainly a club banger.
I much preferred Dizzee with the "Boy In The Corner" album when his music was more grimey.
Worth a download though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best., 25 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Fifth (Audio CD)
Dizzee Rascal, one of the masters of grime and famous for his début album Boy In The Corner has expanded from the UK and has expanded to a mainstream audience. When I heard that his 5th album was coming out, my hopes were high. However, this doesn't seem to be the case any more.

The Fifth starts off with (mostly) auto-tuned tracks, many talking about fame and swagger, and continues to until the end.

With the singles, Goin' Crazy with Take That star Robbie Williams has Dizzee singing about the price of fame and Bassline Junkie is just a song for Dizzee's affection for bassline beats.

The good news about this album is that lyrics are witty at places and the beats on the LP. Additional vocals like Jessie J and will.i.am make some tracks worth listening to. The bad part is that the lyrics don't actually mean anything and the addition of auto-tuned lyrics in some places make some tracks not worth listening. BITC had meaningful lyrics and top-notch songs like I Luv U and Fix Up Look Sharp. Another problem is that Dizzee tries to attract a larger audience by trying to make it mainstream so it can appeal to the listeners in the USA. Dizzee tried to do this on Tongue and Cheek, his last album.

To me, its funny how albums which are 4th or 5th can get (not all the time) mediocre or appalling reviews, take for example, Encore, Eminem's 5th (counting Infinite, his 1st album) album and Results May Vary, Limp Bizkit's 4th album. Both albums were released to mixed or average scores. So looking at this album, not really a surprise.

Overall, The Fifth is a album which is very lukewarm. If you are a typical mainstream music fan or want to give this to a kid (be warned, explicit content), then I suggest so. But if you are a die-hard grime, Brithop or Dizzee fan, give this a miss.

I didn't want to give this album 3 stars.

2.5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is great!, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fifth (Audio CD)
I dont normally do reviews but am driven to say something about this album cos i dont get why there is only to poorish reports on this when it is so good! I love this album - loved the others and this is a great fifth - lots of old school vibes great riffs and really catchy tunes - buy it now and play it loud!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this album so much, 10 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Fifth (Audio CD)
I love this album so much. Yes it is different to his early stuff but I sometimes think artists cant win. If they stick to the same sound people say they r boring and churn out the same stuff all the time. If they change like dizzee has they accuse them of selling out and going 'mainstream'. I just enjoy this for what it is, a very good album! 'Love this town' is absolutely amazing! What a tune! Well done dizzee :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars WT F DizZY, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fifth (Audio CD)
U dozzy person why so many horrible tracks there like 1 track that decent on here which i don't like paying £12 for this is his worst album behind maths and english.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good cd, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fifth (Audio CD)
Best price was amazon.bought this for my daughter, had one happy girl.she 15 yrs old so more her type of music rather than mine but whatever keeps her happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album., 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fifth (Audio CD)
What a excellent album, Loved all the songs. So pleased to have this album among my vast collection. Quality of the highest extent in every possible way. So very many THANKS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My other-halfs' music., 29 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. E. B. Stead "beasthead" (letchworth garden city, england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fifth (Audio CD)
Not my "cup of tea".
But what a great CD. Very very well done.
Thios man is an absolute pro.
Get it bought. Even though it migh not be your "cup of tea."
Broaden your musical mind!
Brilliant stuff.
Bazo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars ordered wrong, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fifth (Audio CD)
i was told it was wanted but when opened i had been tole wrong cd i have had to return it sorry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fifth
The Fifth by Dizzee Rascal (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews