Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT BLU-RAY QUALITY, BETTER THAN THE DVD RELEASE
I'm a big fan of the Poltergeist films, the first one is the best of course
the Blu-ray quality of the first Poltergeist looks and sounds amazing better than the DVD version
this review is about the sequel

i've had the U.K. DVD release for over 5 years now with only a Dolby Digital audio track
i've been hopeing for years if Poltergeist would get...
Published 13 months ago by Ben30

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The beast returns
"Poltergeist" is probably one of the most perfect horror movies ever made. Everything about the movie simply WORKS, from the still-impressive special effects to the acting.

But of course, they had to make a sequel. They always have to make a sequel. And while it's not terrible, "Poltergeist II: The Other Side" is not the tightly-written...
Published 13 months ago by E. A Solinas


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT BLU-RAY QUALITY, BETTER THAN THE DVD RELEASE, 21 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poltergeist II [Blu-ray] [1986] (Blu-ray)
I'm a big fan of the Poltergeist films, the first one is the best of course
the Blu-ray quality of the first Poltergeist looks and sounds amazing better than the DVD version
this review is about the sequel

i've had the U.K. DVD release for over 5 years now with only a Dolby Digital audio track
i've been hopeing for years if Poltergeist would get a special edition release on blu-ray
at least with some new interviews with Director Brian Gibson, Jo beth williams and Craig T Nelson
but i Doubt it that MGM will release a special edition version of this film
a special edition release would have been done by now, so i doubt it's going to happen
i do enjoy the sequel, but of course the first one is the best
it's emotional watching Heather O'rourke playing her part in the film
knowing she passed away back in 1989
only weeks after Poltergeist III was released in Theaters

so i thought to buy it anyway thinking there will never be a special edition of the film ever
this 2013 U.K. blu-ray release is exactly the same as the U.S. blu-ray release
because it's an ALL REGIONS blu-ray is says ABC on the back cover art
so this U.K. screen quality is the same as the U.S. Blu-ray transfer
which looks and sounds amazing, a beautiful blu-ray transfer of the film
with a new brand new 5.1 Master audio mix
Definitely better than the DVD release

it would've been Great to get new interviews with Brian Gibson, Jo beth williams, Craig T nelson
but very very unfortunately there are no special features, no extras at all, nothing
only the Theatrical trailer
I Doubt there will ever be a special edition of this film
but at least the picture quality has been given a new High definition transfer
with a new Master audio track
so scrap the old dvd release and get this new Blu-ray release
i gave it 5 stars for the amazing picture quality and new 5.1 master audio mix
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good for a sequel, 21 Jun. 2008
By 
taylzo "dvd addict / bookworm" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really liked this film. Sequels can often be a real let down, but Poltergeist 2 explains why Carol Anne was chosen by the poltergeist, with a bit more insight into the family.

I found myself asking a few questions throughout the film - where was the older sister, and how did they get a real person so skeletal looking to play Kane. I looked it up and discovered that she was sadly strangled by her boyfriend in real life after the 1st film, quite shocking as I assumed it was just due to a money dispute or something similar that caused her to be absent. As for Kane, he was so skeletal looking because he was dying from stomach cancer and passed away in the middle of filming, hence the appearance of the beast towards the end of the film.

I also discovered that Heather O Rourke (Carol Anne) died after making the 3rd film.

Given the tragedy invovled in Poltergeist 2, they have managed to make an interesting sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The beast returns, 24 Feb. 2014
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
"Poltergeist" is probably one of the most perfect horror movies ever made. Everything about the movie simply WORKS, from the still-impressive special effects to the acting.

But of course, they had to make a sequel. They always have to make a sequel. And while it's not terrible, "Poltergeist II: The Other Side" is not the tightly-written scarefest that the first movie is -- when it's good, it's very good... and when it's bad, it's unintentionally funny and tends to meander. It's a passable '80s horror movie with a wandering plot.

A year after their house imploded, the Freelings (minus the eldest daughter, whose absence is never explained) have relocated to Grandma Jess's (Geraldine Fitzgerald) house. They're still pretty paranoid about the paranormal, especially since Carol Anne (Heather O'Rourke) still has those mysterious clairvoyant abilities, and her grandmother encourages them shortly before her death.

Then strange things start happening. A weird old man starts following them and tries to enter their house, and Carol Anne receives calls on her toy phone. The supernatural attacks are back.

Then a Native American shaman named Taylor (Will Sampson), a friend of Tangina's (Zelda Rubinstein), appears to help them by making Steve (Craig T. Nelson) a "warrior" for his family. And Tangina reveals the horrifying history of the Beast -- aka a preacher known as Kane -- and why he and his followers are so determined to claim Carol-Anne. No matter where the Freelings go, the evil will follow them.

"Poltergeist II" is one of those sequels that has a fairly decent story on its own, but it keeps trying to one-up the original (let's have even MORE people fall into the other dimension!). Oh, and we're never told what happened to the eldest daughter. Yes, I know that the actress was murdered in real life, but a token mention of "She's at boarding school" would have been nice.

The plot tends to meander somewhat until the final third, when the whole thing finally gels into a real conflict. But that final third is a genuinely disturbing experience, and despite a deus ex machina resolution, it genuinely manages to be more terrifying in places than the original, inducing a wholly different kind of fear. Also, Kane is creepy. All those teeth!

As for the horror elements, they're hit-or-miss. Some are hilariously bad (the killer braces scene -- come on, who thought that was a good idea?), and some are skin-crawlingly creepy (the tentacled, slimy worm-creature with Kane's grinning face).

The cast (minus Dominique Dunne) is the same here, and they all do solid jobs (although at times Nelson comes across as a bit manic) -- JoBeth Williams gives a particularly good performance as Diane struggles to deal with her mother's death and her child's psychic powers. And despite some 1980s-style Native cheesiness, the late Will Sampson gives a great performance as Taylor -- he is a genuinely comforting, calming presence, with gentle humor.

"Poltergeist II: The Other Side" has some ups and downs -- not as good as the original, but a decent horror movie in its own right. The same can't be said for the next sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They're Baaack!, 17 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
Poltergeist 2 is a classic! If you liked the first one you will love this one!Carol Anne is brilliantly portrayed by Heather O'Rourke.The Freelings Have tried to start a new live but to o avail Kane comes back in Anger looking for Carol Anne.I loved this movie for it's wit and special effects and I would recomend it to any one who loves a truly good Horror movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BLU RAY REGION B from amazon.de, 26 Sept. 2011
The Poltergeist films are classics. Heather's performance still gives me the chills. The movies have certainly stood the test of time. I don't know what it is taking so long for the 2nd and 3rd movies to come out on blu ray in the UK.

A tip for fans - both Poltergeist 2 and 3 are available to order on region B blu ray from amazon.de at a very good price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT PERFORMANCE BY JULIAN BECK AS THE EVIL PREACHER, 5 Nov. 2013
JULIAN BECK IS SENSATIONAL AS THE DEAD INSANE PREACHER.THE CURIOUS SONG HE SINGS IS V HAUNTING.I RECOMMEND U WATCH HIS WONDERFUL PERFORMANCE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Decent Sequel To a Classic, 1 April 2013
Poltergiest II, doesnt always hit the mark but when it does it does so with quite aplomb.

It's a little scarier than the original classic and the casting is very good.

JoBeth Williams, Heather Rourke and Craig T Nelson all return as does their son. There is a cameo for the ever likeable Zelda Rubinstein.

However the two actors that steal the movie consist of one good guy and one evil one. Played respectively by Will Sampson and Julian Beck. Both sadly died very soon after appearing in the movie.

Sampson plays the very kind Indian who is out to help the family at all costs. Why a clearly looking ill Beck plays the demon- to such wonderful effect.

Perhaps the fact that many cast members have died in and around the sequels being made makes Poltergeist that much more eerie and scary- and I would be lieing if that wasn't the truth. However the movie as a package also holds it's own.

Sure there are a few cringeworthy moments in there and some of the FX looks dated- but this sequel is a solid horror film, that hits it's mark overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Poltergeist 2 US Blu-Ray, 19 April 2013
By 
M. Stewart "kimble" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Let's review the Blu -Ray first off this US disc is region free but take note their is a region A on the back of the box.

Pq is sharp and clear and has a thin layer of grain and looks like it has been re-mastered. The film is presented in 2:35:1 aspect ratio.

Sound is presented in DTS-HD 5.1.

Special features are poor just a theatrical trailer that is the reason the review has only got 4 stars.

Overall if you are a fan of this movie it is worth importing as their is no word on a UK Blu-Ray release.

Update there is a UK BD of this film getting released in october this year amazon have it up for pre-order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No stars should be allowed here, 15 May 2013
This review is from: Poltergeist II [Blu-ray] [1986] (Blu-ray)
Possibly the worst sequel ever made. Desperately inferior to the original and only trumped by the pitiful third in terms of everything wrong in film making. A truly pointless continuation of a story that shouldn't exist. One creepy scene aside that is rather good which, coincidentally has no 'special' effect in sight.I consider this to be right up there in terms of the absolute must avoid if you enjoyed the first. It captured nothing that was good from its predecessor. Awful, dire acting also. What a mistake. No features to comment on, nothing interesting or good. Poor all round. Avoid even if shown on tv.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars DVD Collection Must, 23 Sept. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love the poltergeist movies. The 2nd one I liked maybe not as much as the first. But the Caine story line gives it another eerie twist. I like all the characters in the movie all roles suited in my opinion. Plus the return of Heather O ' Rourke bless her. One to add to your dvd collection plus I saw this movie back in my teen years always been a favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Poltergeist II [Blu-ray] [1986]
Poltergeist II [Blu-ray] [1986] by Brian Gibson (Blu-ray - 2013)
£7.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews