Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mario has been usurped
Rayman genuinely has become the modern king of platforming, usurping Mario from his long held throne. Ubisoft have once again released a solid, challenging yet fun platformer with solid game mechanics.

Every element of the game has been lovingly and meticulously honed to perfection. The hand drawn sprites are stunning, the level designs have been lovingly...
Published 17 months ago by Honest Chap's Reviews

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The console/PC version is 100x better! DO NOT buy this if you have a console/PC!
Here's the deal. I had Rayman Origins on Vita and I LOVED it. It still is one my favourite PSV Games to date. Having said that, its successor, Rayman Legends is a different game than Origins in more than levels. It feels less of a full game and more of a combination of Rayman "stuff". it has many features, and many different minigames scattered around, but this...
Published 12 months ago by David


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mario has been usurped, 11 Sept. 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rayman Legends (Playstation Vita) (Video Game)
Rayman genuinely has become the modern king of platforming, usurping Mario from his long held throne. Ubisoft have once again released a solid, challenging yet fun platformer with solid game mechanics.

Every element of the game has been lovingly and meticulously honed to perfection. The hand drawn sprites are stunning, the level designs have been lovingly crafted and the music is a joy to behold. Enemy designs are varied and brilliantly comical, playable characters are numerous but a little less creative (many of the unlocks are the same as original characters with different colour schemes or with an additional element added, for example, a helmet on Rayman). The gibberish versions of popular songs such as Black Betty and the like never fail to raise a smile in the musical levels. Each platform, enemy and collectable has been placed with meaning and precision. All of these factors add up to a very enjoyable experience, possibly even better than the amazing Rayman Origins.

The game has oodles of content. A great number of humorously named stages are available from the start and more are quickly unlocked by rescuing trapped Teensies. Each unique stage has a musical level which the player must dash through as quickly as possible leaping obstacles and smashing enemies in time to the music. These levels are fantastic fun, definitely my favourite aspect of the game. Scratch cards are earned for collecting Lums (the currency of the game similar to coins in Mario or rings in Sonic) and these can be used to unlock other rewards such as levels from older Rayman games, multiplayer elements and collectable creatures who offer you daily rewards. There are many unlockable characters that can be purchased using Lums, however, as already mentioned, many of them are very similar to each other and a little uninspiring. The Vita version is missing a handful of levels that were available in the PS3, Wii U and 360 versions on release but Ubisoft have promised to patch them in with a later update. Granted, they should have been included from the off, but with a little patience we can get them with a future update.

Multiplayer fans might be disappointed by what is on offer in this version of Rayman as you cannot connect with random players via the internet, you need to have numerous friends with a Vita and the game and connect via the friends list or adhoc mode. To compensate for this, Ubisoft have included an online daily challenge mode in which you can compete against players from across the world by setting times in obstacle courses and distance challenges. This can be fun, but it is extremely difficult to reach the top of the leaderboards; there must be some cracking players out there as so far I have only been able to achieve silver medal rewards.

What are the downsides? Well, they are few and far between but some do exist. The Murfy levels on the Vita have been slated for their control mechanics and I must admit that these stages are somewhat of a lowlight for the game. They grow steadily more frustrating as you progress; the use of the gyroscope, where you tilt the Vita to move things on screen, is poorly implemented and sometimes you'll die as a result of this fault. Stages within the game are littered with hidden areas and rewards and some of these can be difficult to spot on the small screen of the Vita. Although this is not a gamebreaking problem it might cause frustration for completionists who miss a hidden door or Teensy. The biggest downer, however, is the final set of Legends stages, Livid Dead Party. This section is truly horrendous, essentially forcing you to replay the brilliant musical levels blind by heavily distorting the screen. Not at all fun and you can't help but wonder how the idea ever got the okay for inclusion in the final release of the game.

Overall, though, I highly recommend Rayman Legends to anyone who has ever had a love affair with the classic platformers of old. The game is ideal for playing on the go, has plenty of content and replayability and with the promised patch, there is yet more to come!

Move over Mario and Sonic, we have a new platforming king!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic game, 17 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Rayman Legends (Playstation Vita) (Video Game)
This game has been stuck in my vita ever since i got it when it was released. They really have upped the quality since the last game Origins which wasn't exactly shabby either. The levels are a work of genuis and you can't help but smile along as you blitz through the levels - often at breakneck speed whilst marvelling at the gorgeous graphics and vibrant sound. What keeps me playing daily, and for me is the best feature are the daily/weekly challenges. They are so addictive and have totally nalied the just one more go factor. How some people achieve the times/distances they do is beyond me!!

Another thing I love is that ubisoft have been very generous and have recently added 28 new time trial levels that add longevity and variety - they didn't have to do this, it could have easily been charged as extra DLC (take note other developers)....

The only (marginal) downside for me are the murfy missions - the controls do an admiral job to a point on the vita but i just feel when you get to the harder more frantic parts and precision is needed the touchscreen lets you you down and you lose out.

Overall though easily one of the best games on the vita and for �16-17 massive value for money. if you like anything oldschool platform you can't go far wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rayman Legends is a delightful platformer, and one of the best I’ve ever played., 5 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Rayman Legends (Playstation Vita) (Video Game)
Rayman, Globox and the Teensies are back to embark on a new fantasy adventure through a series of legendary worlds with new environments, characters and enemies.

Rayman Legends is a delightful platformer, and one of the best I’ve ever played. Thanks to clever level design that toys with genre conventions, it gets incredible mileage out of four basic moves. And with great local co-op and dozens of unlockables – including stages from Rayman Origins, special character skins, and mini-games – there’s a lot to do. The difficulty is so smoothly balanced that it can be played with with kids or adult friends and still have a great time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rayman Legends (Playstation Vita) (Video Game)
Stunning graphics and so funny!

A must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great sequel!, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rayman Legends (Playstation Vita) (Video Game)
So this game is really great but it has one MAJOR problem: it doesn't suport MP. I can't understand why but it doesn't make sense. You have a MP version where one controls the character and other the touch controls. It's really a shame. Another problem is the touch leves where the CPU tkes control and you are the touch controls. Other than that the game is great! It's a good handheld game since the levels are short and it saves all the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous family fun, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rayman Legends (Playstation Vita) (Video Game)
I am a 50 year old mother of an 11 year old. We have been looking for a game the whole family can play whether we were amazing at games (11 year old) or terrible (50 year old). We have had hours of great fun. If you are a beginner the harder levels will take a time and the music levels really do rock. 7plus is an appropriate rating and the co-operative play is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars glorious challenging platformer with a flare for style and gameplay., 24 April 2014
By 
M. Lee (Plymouth, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rayman Legends (Playstation Vita) (Video Game)
I have to admit I loved Rayman origins and this one has the same charming but well balanced game play.
If you want to collect everything and complete the hidden challenges then this is very challenging game. However, if you want you can ignore certain temptations and play a simpler more friendly game with still many levels of challenge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 12 April 2014
By 
Kayleigh Tipper "kayleighT49" (Rousay, Orkney) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rayman Legends (Playstation Vita) (Video Game)
I have enjoyed both Rayman games on the PS Vita. They both look absolutely stunning on the system. It is so easy to just pick up and play Rayman Legends. The gameplay, the graphics, the audio...it's all perfect, and exactly how a good platformer should be. The developers have got it spot-on.

As with most PS Vita games so far, it has been excellent value for money. Rayman Legends also contains many levels from its predecessor, Rayman Origins, which extends the game even further.

I cannot rate this game highly enough, and here's hoping that Ubisoft will follow this up with more Rayman, or similar games!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, 8 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rayman Legends (Playstation Vita) (Video Game)
Rayman Legends is pretty much the Mario of the Ps Vita right now. A true gem, Ubisoft didn't disappoint this time. Having some of the previous levels from Rayman Origins tucked away in here was also a huge plus. I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My first rayman game, 7 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rayman Legends (Playstation Vita) (Video Game)
After reading the reviews I decided to buy this for my new vita.
Although I have never owned a rayman I wish I had earlier!! I am really enjoying the game, it uses the vita features well and the graphics are second to none.

Quick delivery, highly rated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rayman Legends (Playstation Vita)
Rayman Legends (Playstation Vita) by Ubisoft (PlayStation Vita)
£15.43
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews