Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars the dogs, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
read this in the early seventies and at that time was a huge fan still am and although lennon said it was a whitewash this was as near to the truth as you could get hunter davies was hands on and did a great job any new fans this is the book you need
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 24 May 2013
By 
Rorymchugh - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As a huge fan, this is the best book I have read about the greatest band of all time.
You can tell that the author spend a lot of time with the four!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fab, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good when it was first published and still extremely interesting especially with the modern updates. It does bring home the pressures on successful groups and most of all how short was the existence of four as a group but oh how productive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good book, 5 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
bought as a gift, the guy loves it, he would have liked perhaps more photographs, but is engrossed heavily in reading the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating insight, 25 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book transports you back to the formative years of the Beatles and provides a level of detail such that you really feel you know what made them tick. I can't believe I have left it this long to read this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The beatles side of the story, 18 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good read for anyone interested in the Beatles, obviously! My only gripe is that there seems to be no sordid moments. I secretly still hope that the goldenboy persona is not 100% true.. Well written and still very enjoyable.. Highly recommend x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Beatles: the Authorised Biography, 4 Feb 2012
By 
Alf (Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a must have for those people who like The Beatles - young or old. It is a classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The original and the best, 28 Aug 2012
By 
I'm sure Hunter Davies couldn't really have envisaged how long this book would be in print. There are better written books about the Beatles available but none have the unprecedented access to the fab four that this one has. Here you will see into the (often mundane) lives of global megastars at the peak of their success. Just after Sgt Pepper,just before the trip to India.

In a way I didn't want to read all the afterwords, it was nice to leave them all at this point. Here they are speculating about the future that you know they won't really have. It is pretty clear that post touring the Beatles are grinding to a slow and agonising halt. Without McCartney's pushing and cajolling the band would have quickly dissolved. Ringo was bored by touring and even more bored at being in the studio with often nothing to do. George had already mentally moved on. John was in an almost catatonic state. Only Paul had any ambitions left to fulfill. In effect the Beatles limped on for 3 more albums until they all accepted the inevitable.

Even the four Beatle relationships seemed doomed with the benefit of hindsight, Paul and Jane, John and Cyn, George and Pattie, Ringo and Mo seem stuck in a rut. Yoko essentially HAD to happen in John's life such was his torpor. More than anything the tone of the writing and the opinions expressed regarding relationships made it clear to me that the Beatles belong to my parents generation and not my own. Everything from womens roles in the home to foreign food seem staid reactionary and very unPC.

Hunter Davies has a quaint writing style locked in it's timewarp and seemingly written for a teenage audience, the language reminds me of the news bulletins on Radio 1, essentially dumbed down. There are annoyances in his lack of understanding of instrumentation, melody and the recording art that sometimes irritate but often raise a smile for their naivety. There is also the oft criticized lack of research about the hamburg days. However, what you have with this book is a unique, contemporary, fly on the wall view of the biggest band in the world when they were still together. No other book will ever be able to do that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 24 May 2011
By 
Mark Shutleworth (Preston, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've read The Glory Game by Hunter Davies. This is just as good. Great value for money - and a terrific insight in to The Beatles by someone who was with them at the time, even taking holidays with them whilst compiling this authorised biography. From pre Hamburg to their rise to fame, the family and people that shaped them right through to the late 60's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Beatles, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My husband will be delighted with this book he is a real fan. I cant wait to see his face on Christmas Morning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews