Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EARLY 60S GIRLS
THE TITLE OF THIS CD IS MISLEADING AS THERE ARE NO NORTHERN SOUL DANCE TRACKS HERE THIS IS GIRLS AND GIRL GROUPS AT THE ONSET OF SOUL AND MOTOWN SOME GREAT TRACKS
Published 11 months ago by CENTRAL LONDON MAN

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Northern Soul CD
A few good tracks. A lot of tracks I would not consider Northern Soul as Title suggests. Still OK if you like 60's soul in general.
Published 5 months ago by Leo Brady


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EARLY 60S GIRLS, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Girls: Heartbreak, Revenge And The New Dance Craze (Audio CD)
THE TITLE OF THIS CD IS MISLEADING AS THERE ARE NO NORTHERN SOUL DANCE TRACKS HERE THIS IS GIRLS AND GIRL GROUPS AT THE ONSET OF SOUL AND MOTOWN SOME GREAT TRACKS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original release dates, 28 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. N. P. Fitzsimons (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Girls: Heartbreak, Revenge And The New Dance Craze (Audio CD)
It really infuriates me when record companies are too lazy or simply can't be bothered to include the original release dates of these wonderful compilations.So after a pleasurable hour researching these records - here are the original American release dates with the accompaning label and catalogue number.

1. I'm On My Way - Barbara Dane : 1960 (Trey 3012)
2. Stop Knockin' - Juanita Nixon : 1960 (King 45-5375)
3. The Chaperone - Labrenda Ben And The Beljeans : 1962 (Gordy Go-7009)
4. Tell Him - The Exciters : 1963 (United Artists UA 544)
5. What Kind Of Girl (Do You Think I Am?) - The Charmaines : 1961 (Fraternity F-880)
6. Party Lights - Claudine Clark : 1962 (Chancellor C 1113)
7. Bad Boy - The Donays : 1962 (Brent 7033)
8. Is It True (What They Say About You) - Hattie Littles : 1962 (Gordy 7004 - not issued)
9. Just A Little Bit - Tiny Topsy : 1959 (Federal 45-12357)
10. I'm Gonna Be A Fool Next Monday - Kitty White : 1955 (Mercury 70750X45)
11. Keep Your Hands Off My Baby - Little Eva : 1962 (Dimension 1003)
12. Let Love Go By - Jeanette "Baby" Washington : 1961 (ABC Paramount 10245)
13. I Sold My Heart To The Junkman - Patti Labelle And The Bluebelles : 1962 (Newtown 5000)
14. Puddentane - Lula Reed : 1961 (Federal 45-12416)
15. Take Your Heart - Betty Willis : 1960 (Rendezvous 190)
16. Sing On Baby - Meg Myles : 1956 (Capitol F3330)
17. You Ain't Such A Much - Blanche Thomas : 1954 (Imperial 5302)
18. Wanted - Bobbie Smith & The Dream Girls : 1961 (Big Top 45-3085)
19. Oh Lover - Sherri Taylor And Singin' Sammy Ward : 1960 (Motown 1004)
20. The Headshrinker - Johnnie Mae Matthews : 1961 (Reel 112)
21. The Sound Of My Man - Theola Kilgore : 1960 (Candix 311)
22. The Hammer - Faye Adams : 1956 (Herald H 489)
23. Baby Please Don't Go - Jo Ann Henderson : 1957 (Phonograph 1020)
24. Miss You So - Tiny Topsy : 1958 (Federal 12315)
25. Got My Mo - Jo Working - Ann Cole : 1957 (Baton 237)

Hopefully these dates gives this compilation a contextual time line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Northern Girls? If you like R&B screamers, this is for you..., 24 Sep 2013
By 
Sean (Chatham, Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Northern Girls: Heartbreak, Revenge And The New Dance Craze (Audio CD)
This is not a Northern Soul Compilation; it is a compilation of good R&B tracks that would probably have been familiar to some Modernists of the time. As such it has some real `R&B screamers' on it, but it is a very early 60s collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pleasure, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Girls: Heartbreak, Revenge And The New Dance Craze (Audio CD)
for type music,90% goods tracks,almost all right.
to people that like listen similar music.
sorry for my no good english
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Girls vs Boys....Girls win, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Girls: Heartbreak, Revenge And The New Dance Craze (Audio CD)
I purchased this album when featured on BBC 6music. John Cooper-Clark recommended both this and a separate Northern Boys compilation.

Firstly I agree with the other comments here that (both albums) are not Northern Soul, rather early R&B. However what you will get is an album packed full of gems, exploding crackling pieces of magic.

I have to say the hands down winner between Girls and Boys is the Girls. Whilst the Boys generally stick to the basic 'I got this girl.....and she's so fine...' routines, the 'Girls' album offers far more emotional depth / teenage angst. I particularly like 'What kind of girl' and the franky hilarious 'Chaperone'. The bands sound much tighter also.

John CC told me to buy it, so I'm passing on the instruction.

Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Northern Soul CD, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Girls: Heartbreak, Revenge And The New Dance Craze (Audio CD)
A few good tracks. A lot of tracks I would not consider Northern Soul as Title suggests. Still OK if you like 60's soul in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews