Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good old Charlie
I remember my mum taking me as a child to see the Charlie Chan and his Number one Son films, when I was a child. I am almost 74yrs old now, but still love his stories, and his way of talking, and his wisdom in solving crimes. Brings back many memories as well.
Published 16 months ago by P. dawson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Humble work is huge bargain
I rate this product ok because it entertains rather than enthralls. I can remember Charlie Chan films on the TV when I was a child. For that reason this purchase rates highly on the nostalgia scale. However, there would seem to be a vast gulf between one's tastes as a child....Nevertheless, the stories are well written and diverting. They also contain some brilliant...
Published 13 months ago by Bronstein


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good old Charlie, 6 July 2013
By 
P. dawson "Pamela Dawson" (Devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Charlie Chan Megapack: The Complete 6-Book Series Plus 16 more by Earl Derr Biggers (Kindle Edition)
I remember my mum taking me as a child to see the Charlie Chan and his Number one Son films, when I was a child. I am almost 74yrs old now, but still love his stories, and his way of talking, and his wisdom in solving crimes. Brings back many memories as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent service, fast delivery, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Charlie Chan Megapack: The Complete 6-Book Series Plus 16 more by Earl Derr Biggers (Kindle Edition)
I purchased this Charlie Chan set to replace a compendium bought years ago and just prior to my vacation in Waikiki. Reading these stories in their original locations - although down town Waikiki is probably no longer conducive to high speed dashes down Kalakaua avenue as they were when these novels were written - evoke a Hawaii of an unspoilt era that everyone should read. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read, 24 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Charlie Chan Megapack: The Complete 6-Book Series Plus 16 more by Earl Derr Biggers (Kindle Edition)
Brings back memories of watching black and white movies. Good plots and characters with gentle Chinese humour and well described locations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than just Charlie!, 21 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Charlie Chan Megapack: The Complete 6-Book Series Plus 16 more by Earl Derr Biggers (Kindle Edition)
This is excellent value for the Kindle including as it does a comprehensive collection of all Earl Derr Biggers. The tales are very filmic and give a wonderful feeling for the period. The Charlie Chan mysteries are great fun but I found the other stories, irrespective of length, to be equally enjoyable and a great undemanding, relaxing, holiday read. So if you enjoy adventure, romance and mysteries set in the 1910's-1940's then this collection is a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable so far, 8 July 2014
By 
Amazonian "Badger" (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Charlie Chan Megapack: The Complete 6-Book Series Plus 16 more by Earl Derr Biggers (Kindle Edition)
This rating is based on the first book in this collection of Charlie Chan stories "The House Without A Key". Set in Honolulu in the 1920s, this story introduces detective sergeant Chan, who is apparently based on a real-life police detective in Honolulu. Chan is a larger than life character, Chinese, very fat, a family man who has lived in Honolulu for 25 years and who seems to love all things American, but who speaks pretty appalling English (at least grammatically). He is astute, observant, dogged, patient and a very likeable character, although his respect for the well-heeled white Americans in this story seems to me to border on the obsequious.

The story revolves around the murder of a prominent citizen in Waikiki, Honolulu, a citizen, it turns out, with a very murky past. Although Chan is involved in the investigation, the central figure of the book is a well bred and well to do young man, John Quincy Winterslip, who travels to Honolulu from his native Boston to retrieve his aunt. No sooner has this very proper, conservative young man arrived than he finds himself involved in the investigation, in which he works at times with Chan and at other times following up different leads. The story is as much about the transformation of Quincy from a straight laced and very conservative Bostonian into a much more laid back islander as it is about a police investigation, although it is certainly this too, with numerous clues and a veritable procession of suspects.

It gives an interesting glimpse into the past of the islands made famous in more recent times by "Hawaii Five O" and I enjoyed it, even if I was a little disappointed that Chan wasn't in it more. I'm looking forward to reading the next book in the compilation with the hope that there might be a more prominent role for the great detective.

I've just finished the second book and was pleased to find that Charlie played a much more prominent role than in the first book and that he's been on a diet (he's now chubby rather than very fat!). He's on a working vacation, looking after a valuable string of pearls for a former employer, and finds himself heading out to the Californian desert with an accomplice, Bob Eden, the son of the dealer in precious stones who arranged the sale of the aforementioned pearls. Strange things are going on in the desert and it's up to Charlie and Bob to get to the bottom of the mystery. It is a very different setting from the first book and has a different feel, more of a mystery than a straightforward murder investigation as in the first book, although, as in that book, this story follows the young man Bob Eden more that it does Charlie. I still found it an enjoyable read. Four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good read, good value., 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Charlie Chan Megapack: The Complete 6-Book Series Plus 16 more by Earl Derr Biggers (Kindle Edition)
Enjoying the book. Good value for money. Certainly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Charlie Chan Megapack: The Complete 6-Book Series Plus 16 more by Earl Derr Biggers (Kindle Edition)
I bought this out of curiosity, having read a remark somewhere that the speaker couldn't understand how they had made such poor films out of such good books. So far I've read books 1 and 2, and each one has left me with a smile on my face, and keen to start the next one.

Charlie Chan is a Chinese detective living and working in Honolulu. Although he is the one who solves the crime and brings in his unique insights, he is not the main character in each book, nor is the location limited to Honolulu.

The protagonist in the first book is a young, aristocratic Bostonian who reluctantly goes to Honolulu to 'retrieve' his aunt who seems to be behaving quite frivolously. The stuffed shirt gets involved with a murder, discovers scandal in the family, finds romance and danger, and has his life turned completely upside down. It's a lot of fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The Charlie Chan Megapack: The Complete 6-Book Series Plus 16 more by Earl Derr Biggers [Kindle Edition], 6 Jan 2014
By 
L. Stone - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Charlie Chan Megapack: The Complete 6-Book Series Plus 16 more by Earl Derr Biggers (Kindle Edition)
I suffered the first two stories and found them to be the most boring books I have ever read. I'll delete the rest, money and time wasted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Humble work is huge bargain, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Charlie Chan Megapack: The Complete 6-Book Series Plus 16 more by Earl Derr Biggers (Kindle Edition)
I rate this product ok because it entertains rather than enthralls. I can remember Charlie Chan films on the TV when I was a child. For that reason this purchase rates highly on the nostalgia scale. However, there would seem to be a vast gulf between one's tastes as a child....Nevertheless, the stories are well written and diverting. They also contain some brilliant catchphrases which should come in handy. A good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars absorbing, satisfying... intrigue & charm, 7 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Charlie Chan Megapack: The Complete 6-Book Series Plus 16 more by Earl Derr Biggers (Kindle Edition)
Yet another forgotten and/or under-rated brilliant writer [Earl Derr Biggers] & story teller - never disappointing... the Charlie Chan and the many other short stories..[Never mind the non-intrusive typos... at that price.]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews