Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fitting tribute to The Few
Well what can I say, didn't really expect much from this book, probably just another "tally ho chaps" style book with tales of derring-do by Biggles type chaps wearing white silk scarves. I normally read historical fiction about the Roman period and thought this would make a change.

Actually what I got was a fantastically written record of how the fighter...
Published 10 months ago by D. Taylor

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK
In the spirt of fairness I have to say this is quite a good read, fairly well written, the love scenes are a bit hammy but the air battles are pretty good. Basically it's the story of an overworked fighter command squadron during the Battle of Britain as seen through the eyes of Jack and Alex. I can't vouch for the accuracy but it rolls along pretty well. Though having...
Published 5 months ago by A. Taylor


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings Over Summer (Kindle Edition)
I spotted this book while flicking through the Kindle store. I was actually trying to find another Spitfire book when I spotted this. Reading the reviews I thought I would give it a go. I'm glad I did. I really enjoyed reading it and found it hard to put down. Very well written and makes you really feel the terror these young pilots must have felt every day. Would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended, 28 Oct 2013
Bought for my aviation enthusiast husband. He couldn't put it down and is now recommending it to everyone! Well written with authentic detail apparently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good exciting read., 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings Over Summer (Kindle Edition)
Captures the atmosphere very well during this win or lose battle of the Britain. I could identify with the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, 20 Oct 2013
By 
RichC (Isle of Skye, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wings Over Summer (Kindle Edition)
I bought this kindle book based on the reviews and I have to say the reviews were spot-on. An excellent book and well worth the kindle price.If you like a good WW2 battle of Britain type book, do yourself a favour and read this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very realistic, 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings Over Summer (Kindle Edition)
I have read a number of books on 'the battle', but found this book very realistic in portraying the pressures and emotions on the RAF pilots involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brings to life the Battle of Britain, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings Over Summer (Kindle Edition)
Very well crafted story of The Battle of Britain. The characters are extremely believable and the flying scenes are some of the best I've ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Captures a feeling of reality, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings Over Summer (Kindle Edition)
Excellent read the action is non stop and captures the fear, elation and confusion in a way that makes it seem realistic as if you were there .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Realistic descriptions of air battles, 5 Oct 2013
By 
A. Sarjeant - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings Over Summer (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this book. Realistic descriptions of chaotic air battles and a great feel for life on the ground during the Battle of Britain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wings over summer, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings Over Summer (Kindle Edition)
A very enjoyable read, the author has balanced the human side with the flying. The story is told at a good pace that keeps the reader on the hook. Well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings Over Summer (Kindle Edition)
An excellent read. Once I got started I found it hard to put down. Got drawn in to a story about two young pilots from different backgrounds. A story of great bravery and comradeship. As has been written in a previous review, I too shared the anxiety and fear of these two young pilots, never knowing if they would return home, and when they did having to cope with the loss of others. An insight into their personal lives and relationships too. Sad ending. I would highly recommended this book. Looking forward to Ron Powell's next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wings Over Summer
Wings Over Summer by Ron Powell
0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews