Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fitting tribute to The Few
Well what can I say, didn't really expect much from this book, probably just another "tally ho chaps" style book with tales of derring-do by Biggles type chaps wearing white silk scarves. I normally read historical fiction about the Roman period and thought this would make a change.

Actually what I got was a fantastically written record of how the fighter...
Published 16 months ago by D. Taylor

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK
In the spirt of fairness I have to say this is quite a good read, fairly well written, the love scenes are a bit hammy but the air battles are pretty good. Basically it's the story of an overworked fighter command squadron during the Battle of Britain as seen through the eyes of Jack and Alex. I can't vouch for the accuracy but it rolls along pretty well. Though having...
Published 11 months ago by A Happy Chappie


‹ Previous | 15 6 710 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Takes you there......., 1 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. John Matheson "edzelljohn" (Beautiful Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings Over Summer (Kindle Edition)
One of the best-written books on the subject I have read, outside of a real-life account. The author obviously has a really good knowledge of the art of flying, and his research included talking to some of the people I would have given a pension to speak to! I have no hesitation in recommending this book, it would be a bargain at any price. Simply superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wings over summer, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings Over Summer (Kindle Edition)
Excellent read, great book. I felt as if I was in the cockpit with them! A true insight into the horrors of war
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful and absorbing., 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings Over Summer (Kindle Edition)
An excellent story and well researched historical background. Probably as close to the fear, fury and horrors of the air battle fought over our shores in 1940 as it is possible to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings Over Summer (Kindle Edition)
I spotted this book while flicking through the Kindle store. I was actually trying to find another Spitfire book when I spotted this. Reading the reviews I thought I would give it a go. I'm glad I did. I really enjoyed reading it and found it hard to put down. Very well written and makes you really feel the terror these young pilots must have felt every day. Would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended, 28 Oct 2013
Bought for my aviation enthusiast husband. He couldn't put it down and is now recommending it to everyone! Well written with authentic detail apparently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good exciting read., 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings Over Summer (Kindle Edition)
Captures the atmosphere very well during this win or lose battle of the Britain. I could identify with the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, 20 Oct 2013
By 
RichC (Isle of Skye, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wings Over Summer (Kindle Edition)
I bought this kindle book based on the reviews and I have to say the reviews were spot-on. An excellent book and well worth the kindle price.If you like a good WW2 battle of Britain type book, do yourself a favour and read this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very realistic, 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings Over Summer (Kindle Edition)
I have read a number of books on 'the battle', but found this book very realistic in portraying the pressures and emotions on the RAF pilots involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brings to life the Battle of Britain, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings Over Summer (Kindle Edition)
Very well crafted story of The Battle of Britain. The characters are extremely believable and the flying scenes are some of the best I've ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Captures a feeling of reality, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings Over Summer (Kindle Edition)
Excellent read the action is non stop and captures the fear, elation and confusion in a way that makes it seem realistic as if you were there .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 710 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wings Over Summer
Wings Over Summer by Ron Powell
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews