Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fitting tribute to The Few
Well what can I say, didn't really expect much from this book, probably just another "tally ho chaps" style book with tales of derring-do by Biggles type chaps wearing white silk scarves. I normally read historical fiction about the Roman period and thought this would make a change.

Actually what I got was a fantastically written record of how the fighter...
Published 21 months ago by D. Taylor

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK
In the spirt of fairness I have to say this is quite a good read, fairly well written, the love scenes are a bit hammy but the air battles are pretty good. Basically it's the story of an overworked fighter command squadron during the Battle of Britain as seen through the eyes of Jack and Alex. I can't vouch for the accuracy but it rolls along pretty well. Though having...
Published 16 months ago by Ludovico Sforza


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fitting tribute to The Few, 24 Aug. 2013
By 
D. Taylor (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings Over Summer (Kindle Edition)
Well what can I say, didn't really expect much from this book, probably just another "tally ho chaps" style book with tales of derring-do by Biggles type chaps wearing white silk scarves. I normally read historical fiction about the Roman period and thought this would make a change.

Actually what I got was a fantastically written record of how the fighter pilots and others surrounding them must have felt every time they heaved themselves into their Spitfires, not knowing whether they were going to return to their friends and loved ones, with all the emotions that go along with it.

I can't remember the last time a book moved me so much, by the end I couldn't put it down, had a lump in my throat and a tear in my eye.

A beautifully and sensitively written book about one of the most important two weeks in our history, and I hope it's not the last from Mr Powell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great story of young mens' courage in a terrible period of our history., 23 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings Over Summer (Kindle Edition)
A very enjoyable read.Good descriptive writing about the main characters,showing the great fortitude and courage that these young men faced at this critical period in our countrys' history. Exciting action narrative, found the book hard to put down. I dread to think what would happen to England if this was to happen again in this present decadent society. Well done Mr Powell! Look forward to your next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling Spitfire Action!, 7 Jun. 2013
By 
R D DAVIES (Cardiff, South Glamorgan United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings Over Summer (Kindle Edition)
This is a novel about the Battle of Britain pilots of whom Winston Churchill spoke when he said, 'Never was so much owed by so many to so few...'. Not only do you get historical accuracy and authentic details in this novel but you get a gripping story told through the eyes of young pilots who never knew if their next sortie would be their last. The descriptions of the aerial battles between the Spitfires and Messerschmitts are breath-taking and left this reader with sweaty palms! An excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exciting action, well-drawn characters, 7 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings Over Summer (Kindle Edition)
I knew relatively little about the events of this important period in our history and had only the vaguest idea of how it might feel to be in the thick of it as the protagonists here undoubtedly are. Powell quickly engages the reader not only in the events but in the lives of his characters. His own experience as a pilot and his research obviously inform his writing but it never becomes exclusive. The scenes of combat are fast-paced and well written but the quieter more intimate moments in the lives of Jack and Alex are conveyed effectively to the reader also.
An excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 29 Aug. 2013
By 
G. S. Dover (Devon . England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings Over Summer (Kindle Edition)
I think this book is as good a read as any that I have read on the Battle of Britain, well done come on Spielberg this would make a great film.
G.S.Dover
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Battle of Britain, 1 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings Over Summer (Kindle Edition)
Good account of the start of WW 2 Battle of Britain, with both factual and seemingly related stories, providing a good read with the emphasis on reality of relationships and their associated mortality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wings over summer, 1 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The author conveyed a real sense of the atmosphere of the life or death struggle in the Battle of Britain, with excellent descriptions of the flying sequences. The mental strain on both air and ground crews were brilliantly explored. Altogether a good and evocative read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 1 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings Over Summer (Kindle Edition)
An absolutely superb story, one of the best I've read this year.

The flying/action passages (a good part of the book) are gripping. However, there's also a good back story about happening on the ground with fellow pilots, girlfriends and families.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent, well-balanced read., 31 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings Over Summer (Kindle Edition)
With well-crafted characters the book stays the right side of sentimentality and gives a gripping and thoughtful insight into the tense existence of those involved in the Battle of Britain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ron Powell's. WINGS OVER SUMMER, 8 Sept. 2013
By 
penno (Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings Over Summer (Kindle Edition)
A first -class read I enjoyed every word! Strangely I actually finished it on Friday 6th September!? Look forward to Ron's next novel - thank you - Tally ho!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wings Over Summer
Wings Over Summer by Ron Powell
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews