Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars61
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.86+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 June 2013
Kix ( Lee Thompson ) and his band of merry men, recently played at the Band on the wall in Manchester and did not get a good review off some punters, which must have been more to do with night itself, because once I had listened to this debut cd I wanted more and still do. one thing I am going to do, is post a message on the madness website in chrissy boys cupboard, and demand more, although Chrissy may have visions of the demise of madness and the rise of Lee Thompson and his orchestra, But I could live with both. One down side to it, is that there are only 12 top tracks on it and once listened to, you will want more, more and more. This is a deffo must have for all ska/reggae fans.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2013
The Lee Thompson Ska Orchestra Give Us Ska in a traditional sense and boy is it hot from the current Single Fu Man chu with Bitty Mclean to the Joy of Mission impossible and Bangarang its a great tribute to the classic sound of ska from the 60's and 70's and get ready to dance.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2013
Was lucky enough to see LTSO last week & be able to purchase CD before release date. This CD is one to buy, it is wonderfull & full of great tunes with superb musicians & the added extra of Bitty Mclean.
And if they tour again do not miss it a truly wonderfull gig.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2013
Its great to have a Ska Cd back in the charts again with Lee, Bedders & co. Yet to catch them live but will try. Top job
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2013
Old school ska done properly amazing album definately recommended hope this is not the last we here of these gentlemen, lee Thompson you really have stepped up to the mark excellent!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2013
Became interested in the album after their appearance with Jools Holland which gave me the hope that they could revive British ska from the days of two tone.
The album commences with real promise but just seems to drift into what appears more of a tribute act rather the real macoy having said that still make a good album for a summer party to bounce around the barbie
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
Having been teased by their appearence on Jools Holland I couldnt wait to get my hands on this album and I wasn't dissapoined. Lee Thompson and his band take a respectful bow to the traditional origins of SKA and then inprint their own mark on 12 wonderfully crafted songs. If there is one gripe, I would have liked to have heard Bitty McLean lead vocals on more than one track, but given the professional musicianship of the band, it's difficult to find any fault. As close to a perfect SKA albums as you're likely to find.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2013
top album well worth the money would highly recommend it to any 2 tone ska music fan waiting for more and looking forward to see them in concert
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
Fantastic sounds, quite varied in terms of ska, reggae, two tone. Little bit of blues mixed in occasionally. Fabulous album, recommend
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2013
I must admit that I approached this purchase with some caution and was initially attracted by the fact that it was a collaboration by Lee Thompson, yee of Madness saxophone fame.

The album name was intriguing and the collaboration name equally so.

HOWEVER, I've not stopped listening to it since I bought it, EXCELLENT and exactly what you'd imagine a 'ska orchestra' to be.

If you like reggae and ska then you'll love this album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)