Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic final instalment.
The final instalment of this anniversary series exhibits a writing style and structure perfect for a novella. As a master of child and adult fiction and a huge Doctor Who it comes as no surprise that Neil Gaiman has been chosen to produce this final story. He is well suited to the task and this Tory delivers.

In the last few years, particularly in the 'The End...
Published 9 months ago by Alaran

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kin good.
There was a lot of potential here. A good portrayal of The Doctor and Amy, the spooky masks, the ancient and malicious Kin that (nearly) outlasted the Time Lords. But the story was let down by a weak ending. The basic idea (and the title) is great, but it was too easy. You can almost hear the Kin say "Oops!", or "Curses! And I would have managed it if it hadn't been...
Published 8 months ago by Number Six


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic final instalment., 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Nothing O'Clock: Eleventh Doctor (Doctor Who Digital) (Kindle Edition)
The final instalment of this anniversary series exhibits a writing style and structure perfect for a novella. As a master of child and adult fiction and a huge Doctor Who it comes as no surprise that Neil Gaiman has been chosen to produce this final story. He is well suited to the task and this Tory delivers.

In the last few years, particularly in the 'The End of Time', the destruction of the Timelords in the Time War has virtually been seen as if it as good for the universe as the destruction of the Daleks. This story redresses the balance a bit by being concerned with what could go wrong in the universe or threaten it with the Timelords absence. In this story a dangerous species known as the Kin have been able to escape their eternal prison once the Timelords are no longer there to contain them.

The Kin are quite a good invention, certainly they possess some individuality amongst Doctor Who monsters. There probably isn't that much scope for them to be reused because they are more of an interesting concept than anything. It is definitely an idea for an alien that makes you think and it is used to great advantage in this story. They also have a somewhat disconcerting presence.

Set somewhere in the early days of the Doctor and Amy being together, Gaiman captures their pre-Rory relationship perfectly and their characters are spot on. Polly is little more than the stereotypical child role that has become almost generic in this novella series though.

This is a fine story for adults and children alike but one of the series that features a bit more fan indulgence than some. There is even a topical reference in there to the John Hurt version of the Doctor. Overall though it is a strong ending to a generally enjoyable series and I personally prefer this story to Gaiman's two televised Doctor Who stories. But now I'm looking forward to reading Maximelos and the three Orgrons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kin good., 4 Dec 2013
This review is from: Doctor Who: Nothing O'Clock: Eleventh Doctor (Doctor Who Digital) (Kindle Edition)
There was a lot of potential here. A good portrayal of The Doctor and Amy, the spooky masks, the ancient and malicious Kin that (nearly) outlasted the Time Lords. But the story was let down by a weak ending. The basic idea (and the title) is great, but it was too easy. You can almost hear the Kin say "Oops!", or "Curses! And I would have managed it if it hadn't been for you meddling Time Lord!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sorry..., 19 Mar 2014
By 
Kenneth W. Day (Lancing, West Sussex, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Nothing O'Clock: Eleventh Doctor (Doctor Who Digital) (Kindle Edition)
Not bad, not bad! Unfortunately we had too much of it over Christmas. Have to admit, personally, I prefer the video/program to the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very very good, not my favorite but a close second, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Nothing O'Clock: Eleventh Doctor (Doctor Who Digital) (Kindle Edition)
Gaiman is a very good writer and has a great feel for science fiction, sometimes a bit on the improbable side but he makes it believable. you cant put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best for last!, 1 Feb 2014
By 
Christopher Long "Phone Monkey" (Rugby, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Nothing O'Clock: Eleventh Doctor (Doctor Who Digital) (Kindle Edition)
The Doctor Who 50th anniversary short stories certainly were a rollercoaster. There were highs. There were lows. There were lulls. Finally, after a couple of solidly entertaining stories, we reach the pinnacle of this experiment. Seeing that Neil Gaiman was going to be writing for our floppy haired, bow tie wearing, (then current) Doctor gave me a little hope. Although it did feel like a trap.
Oh, how wrong I was! Not only is Nothing O'clock the best one we've had in a mixed bag but it introduces perhaps my favourite all time DW villain. I'm not going to say much about them or the plot they drive right over your nerve endings but I will say this....
The Kin are truly awesome!
Mr Gaiman, I take off my fez to you. This a wonderful curtain call to a very big year for our madman in a box. I can't thank you enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 14 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Nothing O'Clock: Eleventh Doctor (Doctor Who Digital) (Kindle Edition)
excellent read couldnt put it down must read more like this. great value for money as well as a good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 12 Jan 2014
This review is from: Doctor Who: Nothing O'Clock: Eleventh Doctor (Doctor Who Digital) (Kindle Edition)
This is the first thing I've ever read by Neil Gaiman (shocking, I know) and I bought it to test the water, I suppose? It was fantastic. He writes The Doctor very well, and the story was brilliant; just the right amount of tension and humour and plot. I would definitely recommend this for fans of the Eleventh Doctor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gaiman and Who?, 3 Jan 2014
By 
Tim Parsons (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Nothing O'Clock: Eleventh Doctor (Doctor Who Digital) (Kindle Edition)
Was there ever a more perfect mix than Neil Gaiman and Doctor Who?

I'm not going to try to review this: it's a short story with a very different take on the alien invasion theme that just cries out to be adapted for a TV episode. Brilliant. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great read and a great villain..., 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Nothing O'Clock: Eleventh Doctor (Doctor Who Digital) (Kindle Edition)
Considering I've read this shortly after seeing Matt Smith leave our screens as The Doctor, it was a pleasure to dive back into the days when it was simply his Doctor and Amy against the world. I think I'll have to read the rest now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classis Gaiman, 29 Dec 2013
By 
C E. Moss - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Nothing O'Clock: Eleventh Doctor (Doctor Who Digital) (Kindle Edition)
Very fun, exactly what you might hope to expect from a Neil Gaiman short story. I'd love to see this one make it as an episode!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews