Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Refreshed in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars56
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 DownloadChange
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
on 17 June 2013
I first discovered Jon's music a couple of years ago and, like many, was enamoured by Opalescent. It was melodic and ethereal without being 'new age', and struck a great balance between emotion and electronics. Likewise with Contact Note, which I saw as a decent step forward for Jon's sound. When Insides hit in 2009, I was at first shocked by the harder-hitting more industrial sound but soon fell in love with that album too (particularly Light Through the Veins which I play almost daily on my commute).

So here we are in 2013, and Immunity is finally upon us. I've read a few customer reviews and some seem disappointed by Jon's slightly 'glitchier' sound, but I personally see this as a huge step forward. Rather than being synthetic and false-sounding like some downtempo artists, Jon uses real-world sounds to create a far more organic feeling that permeates the disc. Tracks like 'Open Eye Signal' and 'Sun Harmonics' benefit from these inclusions. Additionally we're treated to Jon's masterful use of the piano, and the closer - 'Immunity' - is now firmly one of my favourite Hopkins tracks. Sure, it's a slow burner, but this is music that's meant to be listened to more than once; it's an album you really need to immerse yourself in. One listen just won't cut it.

If you're still on the fence about Immunity, I urge you to spin it a few more times before casting judgement. It's a journey that may take a while to get underway, but once it does, it's one you'll want to take again and again.

Top-notch stuff, Jon; long may it continue.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 12 June 2015
Listen several times before judge.

It's a real masterpeace, how electronic music could be so rich and emotional? Every single bit of sound is crafted with care and perfectionism. Just set up a right mood and listen it from the beginning to the end and enjoy high speed emotional journey coming to its exhaustion at "abandon window" and going a slower pace until the end. It's still gives me shivers. This music is so abstract that everyone will find something "proper" in it. Althoung it's quite different from his previous works I really hope Jon will continue in this way although Immunity's perfection will be extremely hard to beat,
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
on 14 July 2013
There seem to be two periods that Hopkin's solo albums fall into; "Opalescent" and "Contact Note" are the first pair and shimmer with an elegiac beauty that transcends nearly all other electronica. Hopkins was reputedly disenchanted with the lukewarm response to these works and responded with 2009's "Insides" and this latest "Immunity" this year (2013). Both are harder sounding, crunchy, and superficially more edgy than the warm and immersive comfort of the first two. "Immunity" is a superb album, rhythmically intricate, sparse at times, but always underpinned by a classical sensibility that comes through with the use of piano and poignant melodies. This is no Basic Channel: this is the sound of a fantastic British artist producing wonderful music that is staggering under-recognised.

Heard through dCS/Bryston/ATC, this is an extremely clean, dynamic and sharply etched modern recording, full of spatial and textural detail, but never sounding coarse or uncomfortable. There is little musical hyperbole with loads of low frequency speaker-stretching, but not so crude as to become comic. This is a wonderfully subtle and maturely recorded electronica album, with plenty of contrast in the mix. Overall levels have not compressed things too much so there's a good dynamic range to be heard. A great system test if you're into that kind of thing.....
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2015
Listen closely to this album and you will find that it has not been produced - it has been crafted. With love and precision. You can sense the thought that is gone into this with the end result being an album that is completely immersive and does not let you resurface until it is finished. There are no tracks that "jar" you back to reality for being out of place or of poor quality: everything is perfect and interlaced

Put simply, "Immunity" is the reason why terms like "hidden gem" were coined. Seeing as I've only just discovered this album and indeed Jon Hopkins himself, it makes me wonder: what else have I been missing?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2015
I can't rate this highly enough, I bought it as someone on a different review compared the CD they had bought unfavourably to this one, and I'm glad I did - Immunity is a fantastic CD, used in the National Theatre's production of Hamlet no less.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 22 November 2014
How can electronic music be human, passionate? Well if you have ever asked yourself this, then you have not heard Jon Hopkins "Immunity" yet.
There are in this passages of music one can actually become emotionally effected, it is not just a computer program playing in a background of ambiance created by another computer program, or is it, well on the whole yes, although the fingers of a human shine through to save the day, so the difference is this one works on many levels.
You do not have to sit and listen to it many times to "feel" the strengths in this, it can be appreciated from the start.
Give it a go and relax into a state you may not have gained before.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2015
Modern electronica reaches new levels of magnificence with Jon Hopkins' Immunity. At one turn piano melodic and another jittery and and bass heavy. Brilliant stuff and a vinyl release to boot.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on 4 July 2013
'Immunity' is a massive step forwards for the talented musician and producer Jon Hopkins, bringing togeather myriad strains of his work in cinema soundtracks, production on other excellent albums and his own detailed yet melodic style of electronic music. There is variety here that is a joy to discover, with certain tracks proving to be harsh and unforgiving and others sublimely smooth and gentle. This album is a masterful sonic journey and will be a favourite for many years!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 17 July 2014
Wow this guy sure knows how to move you very emotional album up there with the likes of Burial, scratchy glitch breaks and warping techno. My fav track has to be Open Eye Signal has amazing soundscapes and the last two minutes he brings the funkiness in. Bought it on iTunes though £4.99. This guy is someone to look out for well worth a listen.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 16 November 2014
This is a double CD, consisting of the unadulterated album ('Immunity') and a CD maxi-single/EP ('Asleep versions', with four new mix versions of tracks in 'Immunity' totalling another 25 mins of music). The new mixes are chill, minimal, occasionally beautiful, and entirely listenable -- abt 3.5 stars overall. But they're not essential like the original album, which is extraordinary (5 stars) [please consult the previous reviews for that original release]. It really is another ruse by the industry to plonk down again for the same offering, with a few extra tracks. The extra CD sits in the other side of the gatefold cover, and, like the original LP, has its own sleeve. No other changes. Is it worth it (at time of writing, 8 quid)? Marginally, if you're a completist and if only because the original album is so excellent: one could always give the extra disc as modest gift. But why not sell the 'Asleep versions' CD for just a few quid?
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Asleep Versions
Asleep Versions by Jon Hopkins

Opalescent by Jon Hopkins

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.