Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible story linking the 18th century with the present day.
I bought Karen Perkins 'Thores Cross' after reading a sample on Kindle. As a fan of Historical/Paranormal/Romance I was completely lost in Ms. Perkins novel. It tells the sad story of the plight of Jennet an eighteenth century witch seduced by a wealthy sheep farmer. Her words are spoken by modern day author Emma who is drawn into Jennet's tale when she finds an old ink...
Published 16 months ago by maureen turner-books by maureen

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Problematic
Writing a dual-time novel is not an easy thing to do and Karen Perkins should be given credit for trying. However, I think there are some problems with this novel. The historical story is problematic because the heroine loses the reader's sympathy by moving from a state of foolishness to a state of vindictiveness. It's true that she is badly treated by others in the...
Published 2 months ago by Morris


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible story linking the 18th century with the present day., 20 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thores-Cross: A Yorkshire Ghost Story Novel (Kindle Edition)
I bought Karen Perkins 'Thores Cross' after reading a sample on Kindle. As a fan of Historical/Paranormal/Romance I was completely lost in Ms. Perkins novel. It tells the sad story of the plight of Jennet an eighteenth century witch seduced by a wealthy sheep farmer. Her words are spoken by modern day author Emma who is drawn into Jennet's tale when she finds an old ink pot. Although a somewhat scary character you can't help but root for Jennet as her world descends from misery to downright gut wrenching poverty. You can feel her rising panic as all around her ostracize her. As the narrator of Jennet's story, Emma too is dragged into re-living the former's sad life.The book is most skilfully written in a similar vein to Barbara Erskine, one of my favourite authors. There were times when I couldn't put this book down. I cannot recommend it too highly to anyone who likes this genre and I have no hesitation in awarding it five stars. I will certainly be reading more from Karen Perkins...she is way up there with many of the famous authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes writing look easy, 5 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thores-Cross: A Yorkshire Ghost Story Novel (Kindle Edition)
This was the first of Karen Perkins's books to visit my kindle. It tells the story of Jennet Scot, a girl orphaned at 15 in the 18th Century. She inherits a small farm and must use all her ingenuity to survive. Her mother was a `cunning' woman who taught her daughter all her skills with herbs and incantations. Taken advantage of by the local landowner, she soon finds herself pregnant, shunned and ostracized by the villagers. Things can only go downhill from there.

The novel also tells the story of an author in the present day, writing Jennet's story. The two story strands are interwoven cleverly as it becomes increasingly clear that the spirit of Jennet is playing more than a passive role in the writing -- and then in the life of the author.

Ms Perkins makes the art of writing look easy, a sure sign of a talented writer and gifted story-telling. 5 stars. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunted by the past, 25 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Thores-Cross: A Yorkshire Ghost Story Novel (Kindle Edition)
I almost had a problem with this book on account of its excellent writing. It is written in the first person, with alternate chapters told by Emma, a young married woman living in the 21st century, and by Jennet, an orphaned fifteen-year old living in the 18th century. After reading the first 'Jennet' chapter, I struggled to keep myself from skipping ahead and reading all the other Jennet chapters as fast as I could, forgetting about the overall flow of the story.

This is not a criticism of the Emma chapters; they are well-written and engaging. But, the heartbreaking story of Jennet, and the fascinating language used to tell it, both the speech patterns and the words themselves, would overshadow any story set next to them. (By the way, there was an interesting moment in the 21st century story when Mark is introduced and you realize from his grammar that he's a native of the area. And yes, that becomes relevant.)
But, the story arc belongs to Emma. She is a young married woman, a writer, newly moved into her dream home. She struggles to deal with a miscarriage. Her husband is loving, but spends much time away from home. She hears church bells tolling from under the water of the lake, where a drowned village lies. She begins having nightmares. (Those are the parts of the 'Emma' story that are as vivid as the 'Jennet' story--more than once I had to stop reading for a moment to deal with what seemed to be happening--it was so horrifying.) And, then she starts doing things that she does not want to do, that are contrary to her nature. And what is happening to her seems to parallel the story of Jennet that she is obsessively writing.

That story, Jennet's story, goes from one disaster to another worse one, with just enough hope along the way to make the final catastrophe even more devastating. And Jennet's character, Greek tragedy style, helps bring about that final catastrophe. (By the way, I love the character of Mary Farmer, who started out seeming fussy and irritating, and revealed herself to be someone filled with love and courage.)

The ending of the entire story felt a little rushed, when I first read it. When I look at it again, it seems just fine. So, I would highly recommend this to anyone who is intrigued by the idea of a gripping historical story intertwined with a modern ghost story.

I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A haunting tale of obsession, 2 July 2013
This review is from: Thores-Cross (Paperback)
This is a beautifully written tale of obsession and possession. Two women, Emma and Jennet, are separated by time, yet inexplicably linked by a chance discovery.

Emma seemingly has everything; a loving husband, a fulfilling career, and now the house of her dreams. A house built near the remains of a flooded village where a young woman named, Jennet, lived more than two hundred years before. Jennet's life is filled with pain and loss, so many cruelties piled one atop the other, that it soon becomes unbearable. And yet she endures.

Emma and Jennet's stories alternate; the prologue and the first chapter begin Emma's story, then we are introduced to Jennet. Both stories are so well told; the characters feel true to life and the countryside is described in such vivid detail I could almost feel the rough ground beneath my feet and chill wind against my cheek. And though the modern story is engaging, it's Jennet's tale that truly captivates and appalls. As much as I liked Emma and her husband, I was enthralled by Jennet's story. Actually, for me the last third of Emma's story was a little off. I wasn't quite sold on the intermingling of the two stories, but I loved Jennet's story so much that I could give this novel nothing but the highest of stars.

I would highly recommend this story to anyone who likes historical fiction as well as those who might enjoy a little dose of horror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thores-Cross by Karen Perkins, 30 May 2013
This review is from: Thores-Cross: A Yorkshire Ghost Story Novel (Kindle Edition)
As a North Yorkshire lad, I simply had to read this.

I was astonished at the almost flawless narrative and beautiful flow of this story.
The startling, but extremely accurate use of language, only goes to enhance the period scenes within the book. I don't think someone reading from another area would realise just how precise Jennet's speech is.

As for the story itself, wonderful. We have the haunting intro, short and scary. Then, onwards to Jennet's awful circumstances. I found the whole experience with her father to be harrowing but quite brilliantly done.
The contrast to the fresh and youthful Emma and Dave was superb. The couple that we at first think have it all but are soon to realise haven't.
Then back again to the past and the bitterness of the funeral. Very emotive and skilfully handled.

The use of italics works extremely well and the whole story leaves a definite chill.

I found the writing fluid and accurate but more importantly, completely enthralling. I would buy this having read the intro alone. I rarely say such things in a review of any kind.

Highly recommended and a sure-fire crowd pleaser.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brontesque tale in the Yorkshire Moors, 7 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thores-Cross: A Yorkshire Ghost Story Novel (Kindle Edition)
Just as I finished this gripping and at times terrifying tale, I heard the bells ringing in the Priory here in Malvern. Was Jennet's ghost come to haunt me now? I don't think I slept well that night!

This is a great piece of writing. Ms Perkisn captures the atmosphere of the old Yorkshire folk with their superstitions, prejudices and savagery as well as kindnesses; people of the 17th century. She also captures the - at times banal- dinner time conversations of the 21st. However the story moves in time between the two centuries and placid, everyday comfort and certainties of the 21st century become entangled in an ancient tapestry of characters and situations. The story does have a Brontesque feel in its wild, moor loving heroine, Jennet. I was truly transported and think it's one of the best stories I've read in a long time.
I highly recommend it to lovers of hisotrical fiction and the supernatural.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Skilfully written and highly entertaining, 7 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thores-Cross: A Yorkshire Ghost Story Novel (Kindle Edition)
This is a very enjoyable example of the timeslip genre, with both the historic and modern timeframes skilfully handled, each with its own distinct voice that perfectly suits the characters. The way Jennet's awful experiences in the 1770's are described makes you admire her inner strength, and retain sympathy for her, even while she is plotting revenge on those who have wronged her.
The switch to Emma's point of view in the 21st century works very well, keeping Emma and David as plausible modern people while integrating them into Jennet's world via the ancient ink pot. The pace and dialogue are good throughout, and there is just enough description and historical detail to give a sense of time and place without it getting in the way of the action. There's plenty of suspense, both in the protagonists' own worlds and across the two hundred year gap between them. An absorbing, entertaining tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An engrossing, chilling story, superbly written., 11 July 2013
This review is from: Thores-Cross: A Yorkshire Ghost Story Novel (Kindle Edition)
Thores-Cross is much more than a classy ghost story. This intriguing book draws you in as all well-crafted novels should. The time-shifting between the eighteenth century narrative and the modern-day story is beautifully handled and testament to the author's skill. Thores-Cross seeps into your bones and then takes you over...what more can you ask of a ghost story? The characters are likeable and believable and the novel moves along at a cracking pace. It's North Yorkshire setting comes alive and Karen Perkins imbues it with a sinister quality that certainly spoke to me! I enjoyed this novel very much. Karen Perkins is an author to watch and I'll be downloading her other works in the coming days.I can give no higher recommendation than that! Try Thores-Cross- it's a terrific read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW brilliant read, 3 Aug. 2014
By 
Cutesmile (Kingston Upon Hull) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thores-Cross: A Yorkshire Ghost Story Novel (Kindle Edition)
Emma and Dave have had a bad year with suffering a miscarriage and building their dream home in the area of where Emma grew up.

Emma is an author and is hoping that living here will help her get writing again.

But no sooner have they moved in then strange things start to happen which takes over her life.

She starts writing but its as if she's been possessed by someone from the past making her tell a story.

Wow this books is brilliantly written, I couldn't put it down as it was that gripping.

The story flits back and forth between Jennet's life from the past of how her life was forced to become due to people of power at the time to what is happening with Emma making her do things that aren't her doing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real page-turner!, 12 July 2013
This review is from: Thores-Cross: A Yorkshire Ghost Story Novel (Kindle Edition)
I cannot recommend Karen Perkin's novel, Thores-Cross highly enough. If you enjoy a truly intriguing paranormal story, this one is sure to get under your skin.

This is more than a story about ghosts and witches, it's also a contemporary story of a woman who must delve into the mysteries of the past in order to come to terms with the difficulties she faces in her own present.

I could not put this book down, and it's been a long time since I've enjoyed a story so much. Kudos to Karen Perkins and I look forward to reading more of her work in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews