Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Series, Great Book
I am a big fan of historical fiction but only found out about the Marius Mules series recently.
Finished the first book in two days then bought and rattled through the whole series in quick time.
Basically it follows one of Julius Caesar's Legion commanders (or Legate), Marcus Fronto, during the invasion of Gaul, each book taking one year of the campaign...
Published 9 months ago by HPDS

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's Just OK
This has been a great series of well paced and exciting tales. All books have been excellent. Unfortunately for me this one is 'just OK'. It is still well written, The characters are all there and there are the usual exciting battle scenes. However, the speed the story unfolds at is, for me, just too slow. It doesn't really take off until the arrival of a super cool...
Published 10 months ago by Eengland


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Series, Great Book, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a big fan of historical fiction but only found out about the Marius Mules series recently.
Finished the first book in two days then bought and rattled through the whole series in quick time.
Basically it follows one of Julius Caesar's Legion commanders (or Legate), Marcus Fronto, during the invasion of Gaul, each book taking one year of the campaign.
Marcus is a hard drinking soldiers' solider with little time for Politics which causes many clashes with not only Caesar but also some of the other commanders. He nevertheless is a masterful commander and doesn't mind getting his hands dirty to get the job done.
Well written and full of action, but also historically very informative.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hades Gate a BLOCKBUSTER., 11 Dec 2013
In HADES GATE the fifth in the Marius Mules series Simon Turney has penned a real blockbuster, with a great narrative bursting with historical facts, combined with plenty of violent gritty action. Fast paced and compelling, I found I could not put it down. I believe that Simon has now earned a place alongside all the great contemporary Roman fiction authors. Well done and keep it coming.
For those who would like further information on this epoch I highly recommend the OSPREY Campaign, Warrior, and men at arms booklets, with great overviews, excellent illustrations, and highly detailed maps.

THE PERFECT COMPANION TO THE SERIES IS THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKER.Calix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MMV-Hades' Gate, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marius' Mules V: Hades' Gate (Kindle Edition)
A fantastic and exciting read. Well done again. S.J.A..Turney.
So relieved that you are underway with VI and VII. It seems as though the series is going to get even better. Can't wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bring it on, 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marius' Mules V: Hades' Gate (Kindle Edition)
An excellent read. Each book has made me become more involved with both the story and the characters. Can,t wait for VI & VII
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MM V, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marius' Mules V: Hades' Gate (Kindle Edition)
Excellent story, just gets better! looking forward to the next two books if they are to be campaign based. Get writing Mr. Turney!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's Just OK, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marius' Mules V: Hades' Gate (Kindle Edition)
This has been a great series of well paced and exciting tales. All books have been excellent. Unfortunately for me this one is 'just OK'. It is still well written, The characters are all there and there are the usual exciting battle scenes. However, the speed the story unfolds at is, for me, just too slow. It doesn't really take off until the arrival of a super cool gladiator, with a major part to play, but this is well into the book. From his arrival Fronto and friends are back on form and the main action kicks off. Then it becomes the book you wanted - the book it should have been from page one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This series gets better and better., 8 Sep 2013
By 
A. Thomas - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marius' Mules V: Hades' Gate (Kindle Edition)
A fantastic series of books, can highly recommend them to anyone who has an interest in fictional history. Characters are realistic and come to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Improving with every book, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marius' Mules V: Hades' Gate (Kindle Edition)
I took a bit of a punt on the first Marius Mules novel and enjoyed it enough to keep going. The focus on the daily functioning of a legion on campaign and the inter-action of soldiers was an interesting viewpoint for me, as was Mr Turney's portrayal of Caesar. The battle scenes were also extremely well described - as good as anything I have read. There were some factual errors here and there but nothing too annoying, however my main criticism was that I found the dialogue a bit stilted and forced at times. I believe Mr Turney self-publishes, or at least did for the earlier books, which unfortunately meant a lot of typos in the kindle version.

However, the books have improved with each new installment and the dialogue has become much more "natural" with a good dose of humour thrown in. The fifth book in the series had me gripped from start to finish and there were very few typos for a kindle book. It seems to me that the author has grown and developed along with his main characters and has now hit his stride, with the result being a well paced, well written book with interesting characters and plot. I hope this carries on in the 6th book - due out next year I believe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another thrilling instalment ........, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marius' Mules V: Hades' Gate (Kindle Edition)
.... of Fronto and the myriad of amazing characters that Mr Turney has developed, blending fact and fiction into the most believable tales of battles, friendships, life, death, drinking, fighting, love and laughter - I could go on - around Rome and Julia's Caesar's campaigns across Europe

I started reading MM1 late last year after visiting Rome, Pompeii, Herculaneum and Vesuvius. I then read MM2, 3 and 4 in quick succession, and, as this one wasn't out, I then went back and read the first 4 all over again because I enjoyed them so much - and that does NOT happen very often!! We were even inspired to visit Brittany (Armorica) this year and the sites of some of Caesar and Crassus' battles! So all I can say is if you have an interest in this genre of book, or perhaps just wondered what it would be like to live in these times, then I am sure these books will not disappoint.

Anyway, all that is left to say is thank you Mr Turney for another enjoyable read and, how could I forget, for letting one of the ladies pitch into a fight this time too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a worthy addition to the series., 15 Aug 2013
By 
John H. Turner "balletomane" (indianapolis, indiana) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As dangerous as Gaul was, Rome was worse. While trying to absorb the Celtic tribes into their empire, the Romans were aggressively destroying their Republic. As Fronto, the protagonist, experiences the realities of both, we offered a choice of two evils to prefer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marius' Mules V: Hades' Gate
1.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews