Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read
A great insight into life as a pro golfer. Showing that even at they're level of skill they can still be affected by all the same troubles us amateurs have. John's other books including " a golf swing you can trust" is in my opinion a very good book which breaks down the golf swing in easy to understand stages which helped me a lot and is definitely worth a read if your...
Published 14 months ago by mark kelly

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars AN OK READ
I am a keen golfer but I hadn't heard of John Hoskison prior to reading this book. It was an interesting read to some degree and I enjoyed going back the days when he was trying to mix it with the young Seve, Woosie and Faldo. However, Hoskison also seems over keen to inform us of his sex life and the spelling throughout the book is atrocious.
Published 9 months ago by Mr. J. Gillan


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Hiding in The Open: A Journey in Professional Golf (Kindle Edition)
As a struggling professional golfer myself I found I could relate to so many of the experiences Hoskison talks about in this book. The final chapter hits you like a bombshell. His has been an extremely eventful life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Hiding in The Open: A Journey in Professional Golf (Kindle Edition)
A great insight into life as a pro golfer. Showing that even at they're level of skill they can still be affected by all the same troubles us amateurs have. John's other books including " a golf swing you can trust" is in my opinion a very good book which breaks down the golf swing in easy to understand stages which helped me a lot and is definitely worth a read if your struggling with your golf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well, who would believe it?, 8 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Hiding in The Open: A Journey in Professional Golf (Kindle Edition)
Reading a Professional golfer's book, the game seems so easy and the trophies are clocked up with monotonous regularity that to those who have played the game, even at the most-modest level, are left with an awe at their ability and a total inadequacy of their own talents. But it is not always so! John Hoskison's well-written tale shows that even one so talented and regardless of the titles and trophies that John won, self-doubt can strike. John has written of his success but the reader also sees failure, a failure that is so true in its description to the amateur. That John overcame the problem (Am I spoiling the story?) is worth a read. Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant insight into the cut and thrust of trying to succeed as a professional golfer - I couldn't put it down, 1 Jun 2013
By 
M. L. Surry (Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Hiding in The Open: A Journey in Professional Golf (Kindle Edition)
Having greatly enjoyed John's previous book, "Inside (one man's experience of prison)", I was intruiged to see how he would approach the entirely different subject of his life as a professional golfer. This book does not disappoint, John's golf career takes place on the stage of the top professional golf tours, but it is a world away from the pampered existence of the likes of Tiger Woods etc. John tells his story in a way that makes you feel you are walking the fairways, and sitting in the locker room alongside him, as he journies throught the highs and lows of his career. Even if you are not a huge golf fan, there is plenty to enjoy in this book - it is a tale of working hard, and trying many different methods along the way, in order to achieve your goal in life. John has a brilliant way of throwing in humourous "one liners", which really do make you laugh out loud, although he soon brings you down to earth, with the realities of the pressure involved in performing within a very public arena - particularly when things are going badly. I highly recommend this book, and just hope that John has kept back some tales of his life on tour, so that we can look forward to a follow up to this excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dad very happy, 13 Mar 2014
Bought for my dad. He said one of the best books he has read. Highly recommended. Author even responded to an email he sent him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cracking read, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Hiding in The Open: A Journey in Professional Golf (Kindle Edition)
Well worth the money. This guy has battled through it all and still comes out fighting. The humility and frankness of his prose is inspirational
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars present for a golf mad husband, 11 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book really went down well with my husband he was even trying to share some tales from it with me! he has also lent it to his golf partner so clearly it got the seal of approval--the twist at the end really came as a shock to him!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A frank story about one pro golfers experiences., 20 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Hiding in The Open: A Journey in Professional Golf (Kindle Edition)
Easy to read, and engaging in it's honesty. One feels involved in the story but totally unprepared for the denouement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read This Book, 8 July 2014
Excellent read which is impossible to put down. It gives a great insight into what it means to be a pro golfer on the European Tour. It is written with great candour and delivers a hammer blow to our perceptions of a tour pro when real life intervenes in a devastating fashion. If you have any interest in golf you should read this book ; you will not be disappointed.

BF
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Completing the set, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Hiding in The Open: A Journey in Professional Golf (Kindle Edition)
I bought this one to complete the set as I've found all the others a very good read. John has the knack of describing things simply and in a way I can easily understand
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews