Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great works just fine
Great works just fine. Full Steam ahead ;-) Ps don't bother with CD.
Use MS driver from there web site and : -
– Install the official software: http://www.microsoft.com/hardware/en-us/d/xbox-360-wireless-controller-for-windows
– Start -> Search for “Device Manager” -> Open it
– Find the “Unknown...
Published 10 months ago by Edward Freeman

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Infuriatingly temperamental, even after trying different drivers
Tried following many of these driver installation methods in these reviews, none of which worked. After restarting my PC it mysteriously started working for a few hours but now a few days later nothing seems to get it to pair up with my controller again and it's completely useless. Worth paying a bit extra to avoid this!

It kind of wouldn't be as bad if it...
Published 7 months ago by D. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great works just fine, 15 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Proxima Direct® USB Wireless Gaming Receiver PC Adapter for XBox 360 Games Controller Consoles - Win 7 Win 8 Compatible (Kitchen & Home)
Great works just fine. Full Steam ahead ;-) Ps don't bother with CD.
Use MS driver from there web site and : -
– Install the official software: http://www.microsoft.com/hardware/en-us/d/xbox-360-wireless-controller-for-windows
– Start -> Search for “Device Manager” -> Open it
– Find the “Unknown Device” -> right click -> properties
– Driver -> Update driver -> Browse my computer -> Let me pick from a list of device drivers on my computer
– Double click “All devices” -> Search for “Microsoft” in the left pane and select it -> Search for “XBox 360 Wireless Receiver for Windows Version: 2.1xxx”
– Choose “Next” and complete the install
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Product, Works Well, Just a Pain to Install, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Proxima Direct® USB Wireless Gaming Receiver PC Adapter for XBox 360 Games Controller Consoles - Win 7 Win 8 Compatible (Kitchen & Home)
The product itself works like a charm, it's simple and easy, and does what you need it to do. Unfortunately the disc they ship it with to install the driver for it to work doesn't actually work.

My work around : after plugging it in open your device manager - right click and choose update driver (the device should be listed as 'Unknown Device' since it won't have installed) - choose to look for drivers on your hard drive / local storage - there should be an option to be shown a list of already installed drivers, choose that - scroll down until you see Xbox Controller or Xbox input or Xbox gaming input or something like that and click it - then from the three or four it should now show choose Xbox wireless gaming reciever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Confirmed working on Windows 8 x64, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Proxima Direct® USB Wireless Gaming Receiver PC Adapter for XBox 360 Games Controller Consoles - Win 7 Win 8 Compatible (Kitchen & Home)
In case anyone's having trouble with this on Win8 x64 this is how I got it working:

1. Run setupstb.exe from the software folder on the CD.
2. Once complete, go to device manager, right click the unknown device (should be plugged in at this point remember).
3. Click Update Driver and run through the wizard specifying you will choose the driver from a list of devices.
4. Scroll down to the bottom of the list and choose the Microsoft XBox option, and on the second list choose the 360 receiver driver dated 2012.

That's it, you should be good to go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin - But be aware of driver issues., 4 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Proxima Direct® USB Wireless Gaming Receiver PC Adapter for XBox 360 Games Controller Consoles - Win 7 Win 8 Compatible (Kitchen & Home)
This works perfectly now that I have it set up - but note that the driver's do not always automatically install depending on your system's configuration.
Here is what I did to get mine working, this might help you.
(On windows 7) Press start, right click on computer - go to properties.
On the left hand side bar click on device manager.
Under other devices there should be an "Unknown device" - Right click on it and select "Update Driver"
Select "Browse my computer for driver software"
Select "Let me pick from a list of device drivers on my computer"
Select "Microsoft common controller for windows class"
Then (There should be 4 options) Choose the top one - Xbox 360 Controller for windows - Version 2.1.0.1349 [13/09/2009]
This worked a treat for me. I hope it helps you!

As I said, once set up I had zero issues, and I found it to be worth saving the money on an "official" one.
Would be 5 stars but the driver problem does hold it back from perfection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works on Windows 8.1!, 21 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Proxima Direct® USB Wireless Gaming Receiver PC Adapter for XBox 360 Games Controller Consoles - Win 7 Win 8 Compatible (Kitchen & Home)
Does exactly what it says, perfect, fast delivery. But, installation disc doesn't work don't even try! There is one on the Microsoft website that can be downloaded for free. These steps are slightly different on Win. 8.1 but basic steps are the exact same: (copied list from Edward Freeman's post) " Use MS driver from there web site and : -
– Install the official software: http://www.microsoft.com/hardware/en-us/d/xbox-360-wireless-controller-for-windows
– Start -> Search for “Device Manager” -> Open it
– Find the “Unknown Device” -> right click -> properties
– Driver -> Update driver -> Browse my computer -> Let me pick from a list of device drivers on my computer
– Double click “All devices” -> Search for “Microsoft” in the left pane and select it -> Search for “XBox 360 Wireless Receiver for Windows Version: 2.1xxx”
– Choose “Next” and complete the install "
Worked for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't work out of the box, but it doesn't take much, 19 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Proxima Direct® USB Wireless Gaming Receiver PC Adapter for XBox 360 Games Controller Consoles - Win 7 Win 8 Compatible (Kitchen & Home)
So lets get this straight, as mentioned by many others; the disc is useless. Do Not Waste Your Time With It

If you have plugged the receiver in already, delete the 'Unknown device' from device manager, and remove the USB from the port

Go here:

[...]

download (the official software) for your operating system and install;
plug the receiver back in;
right click on the 'Unknown device' in device manager and update driver, 'Browse' for drivers, Pick locally on your system, and look for 'Microsoft Common Controller for Windows Class'
install the most recent 'Xbox 360 Controller for Windows'. Mine was version 2.1.0.1349. (this is the one that has worked for me, I have not tested the others)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Infuriatingly temperamental, even after trying different drivers, 4 Nov. 2014
By 
D. Smith "Dan Smith" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Proxima Direct® USB Wireless Gaming Receiver PC Adapter for XBox 360 Games Controller Consoles - Win 7 Win 8 Compatible (Kitchen & Home)
Tried following many of these driver installation methods in these reviews, none of which worked. After restarting my PC it mysteriously started working for a few hours but now a few days later nothing seems to get it to pair up with my controller again and it's completely useless. Worth paying a bit extra to avoid this!

It kind of wouldn't be as bad if it straight up wouldn't work, but the fact that it did work briefly then stopped working again with me having changed absolutely nothing makes me want to pull my hair out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works Great, When Installed..., 21 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Proxima Direct® USB Wireless Gaming Receiver PC Adapter for XBox 360 Games Controller Consoles - Win 7 Win 8 Compatible (Kitchen & Home)
As it has been said this device works perfectly fine - it's just installing it which is the pain. It claims to support up to four Xbox 360 controllers, though I've only verified two so far. But there's no reason it shouldn't support four. The installation disc packaged with the device is seemingly useless. You should try to install the drivers through the disc but you're likely to experience a similar error I encountered, that the drivers are not compatible with this version of windows or a later version of the driver is already installed on your computer.

I've decided to write my own guidelines here as clearly as possible. Hopefully it will help someone.

1) Plug the device into any USB port in your computer. Ignore any "Failed to install drivers" prompts.

2) Click start and right click "Computer". From this menu select "Properties". A new window should appear with a sidebar on the left with further options. Select "Device Manager" from this sidebar.

3) Locate the wireless receiver from within the device manager. It should be listed as "Unknown Device". Right click the device and select "Update Driver Software".

4) From here you get two options. Select "Browse my computer for driver software" and then "Let me pick from a list of device drivers on my computer".

5) You should be presented with a list of devices. At the top of the list there's an option to display all devices. Click this option and wait for your computer to gather all of the drivers.

6) The next window should contain companies to the left and corresponding device drivers to the right. Select Microsoft from the list to the left and the list to the right should fill with Microsoft device drivers. Scroll down to "Xbox 360 Wireless Receiver" and double click it. The device should now be functioning normally.

7) Connecting an Xbox 360 controller to the receiver is simple. Press the button on the receiver once so that the green light is flashing, then hold the connect button on the controller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 star hardware, software rather useless, 16 Aug. 2013
By 
P. Monger "phil_m94" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Proxima Direct® USB Wireless Gaming Receiver PC Adapter for XBox 360 Games Controller Consoles - Win 7 Win 8 Compatible (Kitchen & Home)
I'm giving this 5 stars, as the flaw with the drivers is easily solved and not directly an issue they have caused. Simply grab the software/drivers from microsoft for the official adapter, then install this using those. It's very simple and you've saved a decent chunk of green doing it.

The unit itself works flawlessly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but beware the software disk, 3 Oct. 2014
By 
Mr. R. Stocks - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Proxima Direct® USB Wireless Gaming Receiver PC Adapter for XBox 360 Games Controller Consoles - Win 7 Win 8 Compatible (Kitchen & Home)
Beware the software disk, as many have posted the drivers from the disk are useless and don't do a thing to help use the device instead use this work around to get it working perfectly:

Plug in the device
Open up your device manager device manager.
Under other devices there should be an "Unknown device" - Right click on it and select "Update Driver"
Select "Browse my computer for driver software"
Select "Let me pick from a list of device drivers on my computer"
Select "Microsoft common controller for windows class"
Then (There should be 4 options) Choose the top one - Xbox 360 Controller for windows - Version 2.1.0.1349 [13/09/2009]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews