Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Decent purchase for the money
Ok, let me get the bad bit out the way 1st. It broke within 10 minutes of using it (Yes i laughed too.)But don't let this put you off.
A nut holding on the focusing wheel came loose. It was fixed by me within 10 mins. I added some thread locking liquid to the nut so it won't come off again.
Now if you're doing macro at 1:1 a Macro rail is a must to get sharp...
Published 14 months ago by jono

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars VERY DISAPPOINTED
Why the one star? I found a few design flaws with this item. The first and most important is the fact that when you attach your camera and lens (I use a Nikon D7100 and a Sigma 105mm Macro lens) and extend the travel-bar forward, the whole unit becomes unstable and overbalances and begins to pull the tripod base-plate off of the tripod. The second is the sideways moving...
Published 7 months ago by Graham Rogers


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars VERY DISAPPOINTED, 8 Feb 2014
By 
Graham Rogers - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mcoplus -Plateau panoramic 3D - 4 Way Macro Focusing Rail Slider Truck for Nikon, Canon, Olympus, Pentax, Sony digital SLR (Electronics)
Why the one star? I found a few design flaws with this item. The first and most important is the fact that when you attach your camera and lens (I use a Nikon D7100 and a Sigma 105mm Macro lens) and extend the travel-bar forward, the whole unit becomes unstable and overbalances and begins to pull the tripod base-plate off of the tripod. The second is the sideways moving bar. With the weight of the camera and lens on the unit, it tilts the bar forward and you then cannot move the bar either left or right. Useless! The next is the plastic clamps which clamp the travel bars to stop them moving after you have got the correct position. They are made of plastic and still move after they are locked off with the second locking screw. The final flaw is the locking nut for attaching the camera to the unit. It is hidden under the unit and is not easy to reach or tighten.
The last problem is with Mcoplus. Accompanying the item was a typed piece of paper asking me to leave positive feedback and if i did so then I would receive a bonus item (an LP-1 Cleaning Lenspen). I did not think that Amazon condoned incentives to give positive feedback. I certainly don't. I believe in giving true feedback otherwise the next person to purchase this item may do so without true insight into the quality of the item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Decent purchase for the money, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mcoplus -Plateau panoramic 3D - 4 Way Macro Focusing Rail Slider Truck for Nikon, Canon, Olympus, Pentax, Sony digital SLR (Electronics)
Ok, let me get the bad bit out the way 1st. It broke within 10 minutes of using it (Yes i laughed too.)But don't let this put you off.
A nut holding on the focusing wheel came loose. It was fixed by me within 10 mins. I added some thread locking liquid to the nut so it won't come off again.
Now if you're doing macro at 1:1 a Macro rail is a must to get sharp images 1st time. The product is made of 85% alloy with some plastic, it's quite solid with only slight bit of play.
Adjustments are quite smooth if you take time to adjust the 4 grub screws and the larger adjustment screw on the z and x axis which makes the rail tighter or smoother to move.

I have a D800 with a macro lens and the rail slider works really well, i've not tried it with a heavier lens yet though. The two dovetailed slide rails are scaled in millimeters/centimeters which is a plus if you're doing focus stacking. I've seen other or the same slide rails on Amazon that are slightly more expensive. Overall apart from nut coming loose i'm quite happy with the product for the price, it will most definitely improve focusing and the tracking those insects that won't sit still.

The product arrived on time in two days and was well packed, Royal Mail was the courier thank god and not someone like City Link.

Overall its a thumbs up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it is designed for (with a bit of tweaking), 22 July 2013
By 
S. Arnold (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mcoplus -Plateau panoramic 3D - 4 Way Macro Focusing Rail Slider Truck for Nikon, Canon, Olympus, Pentax, Sony digital SLR (Electronics)
As with the previous reviewer, this broke within a few minutes of opening - the locking nut on one thumbwheel had come off so would only slide in one direction. Some rather unhelpful emails from the seller later - "I agree with you that it is a design fault on the thumbwheel. when you make it too tight ( by lock or adjust screws), it will loose. That;s why I am selling it cheap and point on it is suitable for beginner.", "I personally check and adjust each one before sending it out. I haven't noticed it." - and I quickly dismantled the rail, found the rattling nut and tightened it.

I'm using a simple point and shoot, so no real weight to the camera, and the rails work very well, with no apparent slip, and the four grub screws flanking the rail mean you can keep the rail firm. The only downside I can see is that the two rails are held at right angles via one screw and there is still a little bit of movement even when this is tightened as much as possible - I am looking at making a new end plate for the rail that locks the rails.

Arrived quickly by Royal Mail and for the money this is a great bit of kit. The same unit can be bought slightly cheaper directly from China, but with delivery times in weeks rather than days the sellers UK warehouse was a big bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Generic product : Look for cheapest : This is it!, 29 Oct 2013
By 
CSMedia (Gospel Oak, London) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mcoplus -Plateau panoramic 3D - 4 Way Macro Focusing Rail Slider Truck for Nikon, Canon, Olympus, Pentax, Sony digital SLR (Electronics)
If the photographs are anything to go by it looks as if this is a generic product distributed under different brand names that range in price from £24 Mcoplus to Walimex £87, some look less expensive but charge postage. The difference comes with the rubber mat that supports the camera. Take a look at the mount block for the tripod and they are all in the same position, all not central, check grips and threads, no difference.

The item arrived and was stripped down to clean rail and tighten some screws, yes, there were 4 loose in the plastic mount section but easily tightened. The only plastic material is where the rail is held in the grooves otherwise it is all metal. Certainly of solid construction and confirmed suspicion of generic compared with others. The two rails come apart so that only one need be used, making it more stable.

Buyers are offered a lens pen to leave good seller feedback and review for Mcoplus via a note that accompanies the product, we still await the lens cleaner pen promised from the last order over a weak ago so be aware.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Kit Fab Price, 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mcoplus -Plateau panoramic 3D - 4 Way Macro Focusing Rail Slider Truck for Nikon, Canon, Olympus, Pentax, Sony digital SLR (Electronics)
Hi. I was looking for a cheap way to get into Macro Photography and found this handy tool, its very useful for stacking macro shots, a breeze to setup and use. I did not have long to wait for it to be delivered, I ordered it on the Tuesday morning about 11 am and it was delivered the next day to N.Ireland at 10.30 am... speedy indeed.
Its quite heavy and built to last.
All I can say it's well worth its money, there are other ones out there that cost more than twice the money and do the same job, and the company were very quick. I give it a 5-star plus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 6 Sep 2013
By 
G. S. F. Mitchell "barmy_bing" (Salop, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mcoplus -Plateau panoramic 3D - 4 Way Macro Focusing Rail Slider Truck for Nikon, Canon, Olympus, Pentax, Sony digital SLR (Electronics)
This is an amazing bit of kit for the price. I do a lot of macro work and been toying with buying one of these for a while. For the price it is an amazing piece of engineering. What I particularly like is it's metal and put together with nuts and bolts, so if, in the future, you do happen to get something not working properly you can take it apart easily. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars macro slider 4 way, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mcoplus -Plateau panoramic 3D - 4 Way Macro Focusing Rail Slider Truck for Nikon, Canon, Olympus, Pentax, Sony digital SLR (Electronics)
What can we say? Product does what it say's. Rails run smoothly and are stable. Simple adjustments made by slackening securing bolts and winding rail back/fore then tighten in position. No nasty surprises, securing/tightening bolts loose on arrival,to be expected. Delivery well packed and prompt, only flaw was Hermes delivery put at door rang bell and vanished, no checking to see if we were in. Not supplier fault but they should be aware of how items are delivered. Overall very pleased works well with our 60D and 100mm lens, must try on panoramic views. Highly recommended get what you see and hope for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mcoplus-Plateau panorama Focusing Rail, 2 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mcoplus -Plateau panoramic 3D - 4 Way Macro Focusing Rail Slider Truck for Nikon, Canon, Olympus, Pentax, Sony digital SLR (Electronics)
Good points
1 Makes moving the camera and lens easy for macro work with and without extension tubes.
2 Ease of "slidding" readily adjustable.
3 Very reasonable price!

See photos for further comments!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent rail for the price, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mcoplus -Plateau panoramic 3D - 4 Way Macro Focusing Rail Slider Truck for Nikon, Canon, Olympus, Pentax, Sony digital SLR (Electronics)
This was bought for a new macro setup on a tight budget and is remarkably good value.
As owner of both Nikon and Hasselblad branded focussing rails, it may not be quite up to the engineering standards on those, but it does of course cost considerably less! In use, with a Nikon D7100 camera and 105 Micro-Nikkor, weighing in total 1.6kg, it performs well, with ease of movement along both axes despite the weight.

As with other reviewers. I had to make a few 'adjustments' when the item was received. Firstly, there was a loose nut in the packaging, but this did not appear to come from any part of the unit. Secondly, the thing rattled when gently shaken; there was obviously something loose floating around inside.

Because of its construction, all standard nuts and bolts, the unit is easy to take apart. I soon found a small screw loose inside the top carriage. It was the same size as the four retaining the carriage, so I guess it just must have dropped in there when being assembled and left there, as it was not part of unit. As it was in the gear well it could have caused it to jam though, so good job it was found before damage could be done. Lastly, the four grub screws on each axis that allow for 'baseline' tightening of the grip on the tracking mechanism needed some adjustment, but that's only to be expected. Adjustment may be needed depending on camera weight to some degree.

It works fine in use. There is a fair amount of 'wobble' with such a heavy camera in place, but anyone used to macro work will be experienced in dealing with that. Once the camera position is set, tightening the locking knobs on each rail somewhat reduces risk of vibration. A sturdy tripod is essential but bear in mind this is no optical bench, just a good, solid focussing rail slider at an excellent price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the money, 27 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mcoplus -Plateau panoramic 3D - 4 Way Macro Focusing Rail Slider Truck for Nikon, Canon, Olympus, Pentax, Sony digital SLR (Electronics)
Definitely a step up from other budget rails, but still within a sensible price
Constant mesh drive eliminates free motion play and backlash found on other basic rails
Nice build with all screw assembly and adjustments, no plastics clips or catches
Worth spending a while setting up rail guides to eliminate play and sticktion
Holds camera well at all angles without creaping
Able to produce good results from macro focus stacking in 1mm steps
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews