Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars13
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
6
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.82

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 June 2013
I was impressed by Matt Carrell's first novel (Thai Lottery) which is about how it is in the Land of smiles and in Pattaya which although a city in the Chonburi district of thailand, has a unique energy of it's own fueled by the P4P scene that attracts all types of characters including the darker elements of human nature that travel from all parts of the globe.
The interaction between them and the thai people who feed off them and each other is compelling.
There are no 'Marquis of Queensbury' Boxing Ring Rules here,Pattaya is more like a Cage Fight in a Small Shed but you never know when, from where or in what form your nemisis might appear...
The unwary and naive will lose - Every time.

I would advise everyone to read 'Thai Lottery' first before getting stuck into 'Thai Kiss' which continues the Pattaya based interacting story with different characters and some you will remember from the first novel woven into this very believable revelation of Pattaya life and the many Pitfalls that are to be found here like nowhere else on the planet.

This 'Disneyland for Adults' novel reveals a dark underbelly of Lies, Usuary,betrayal,Drug dealing and Corruption enacted by the Criminal wolf Pack/s,The women and Thai Police Officials. Those who have never yet set foot in 'Sin City' will have the the breath Slammed out of them right up to and including the very end.

Even after they have closed the book,They will be left wondering if such things could really ever be happening in the 'Land of Smiles'.

Those of us who have come to know the way it is in Thailand would answerwith an emphatic Yes and it happens frequently and in many guises just waiting for the unprepared to arrive.

Matt Carrell knows his subject well and once you have your nose into 'Thai Lottery' you won't be able to resist 'Thai Kiss' which equals if not betters his fast flowing style which grips you from start to finish.

I loved both of these books and hunger for more of this brilliant work of his.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2013
Thai Kiss is Matt Carrell's first novel and this format allows him to expand and develop many of the themes from his excellent book of short stories- Thai Lottery. Carrell's main themes about exploitation and deceit continue only this time the starting point is an escape from criminality in the UK. As we follow the lead characters attempts to escape their respective past's and make a success of their lives in Pattaya, the ruthless Thai underworld begins to encroach. Carrell demonstrates his mastery and control as the plot evolves to reveal the true scale of the sinister threat facing the the central characters, culminating in a surprising conclusion. As with Thai Lottery, Carrell is insightful and informative about the realities of life in the 'Land of Smiles' and we are treated to a thoroughly enjoyable and exciting read - a real page turner.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2013
I really enjoyed this story of the drugs underworld in Thailand. From the opening pages right through to the surprise ending it had me gripped. As with Carrell's first book, Thai Lottery, the story unfolds in unexpected ways and the sub plots cleverly intertwine with each other. Whilst Thai Kiss is a separate story from Thai Lottery, they also compliment each other as well. Looking forward to further instalments of the genre with anticipation!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2013
This is a great read from the first page to the last. Pacey, exciting with numerous twists and turns. You really will not want to put it down I would rate this alongside Stephen Leather's Private Dancer - no mean feat.... I do not want spoil your enjoyment, but it may put you off buying a bar in Thailand. You have been warned ! Excellent stuff, more please Matt. Jack Hughes.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2014
A good easy to read book. The characters in the story are well rounded and completely believable. If you are familiar with Pattaya in Thailand it’s fun to try and spot the real places that the fictional spots Carrell is referring to.

In the course of the novel Carrell successfully explores the dynamics and differing motivations relationships between Thai women and western men and lays out some uncomfortable truths, much in the tradition of Stephen Leather's novel Private Dancer.
In summery I would recommend this book as an easy entertaining read which will perhaps give you an insight into the world of the girls working in the tourist areas of Thailand
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2013
This story of a Brighton drug dealer who flees the UK and gets involved with girlie bars (and girlies) in Bangkok starts strongly and the account of how the bar/girlie business works is well-researched, even if at times the research shows through too much. The dénouement has many twists and turns, with cross and double-cross, and is well done. A very good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2013
Having read Thai Lottery, I couldn't wait for Matt's next offering and I was not disappointed, cracking storyline and a fantastic ability to describe the lives and relationships of Thai people, couldn't put it down full of twists and turns and would recommend it to everyone, even those who have never visited the Land of Smiles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2016
This was very enjoyable and easy to read. It is fiction but as I understand does reflect quite accurately some disturbing aspects of Thai society and pitfalls for foreigners that choose to live and run busineses in Thailand.
I would have liked if it had been longer but otherwise very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2013
Very enjoyable read.Great storyline with a surprise ending that i really didn't see coming.A little far fetched at times but on saying that most of the novel summed up how running a business and life in Thailand can really be like.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2013
The book was entertaining with many twists, right to the very end you might say, and captured the highs and lows of living in Thailand's poverty and inevitable sex trade.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.