Customer Reviews


157 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (52)
3 star:
 (39)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HIGHLY RECOMMENDED - BRILLIANT READ
This book being the first detective story I have read and reviewed I found most exciting. It is full of twists and turns, unexpected events unfold, especially when you think you have the killer in mind only to find that you need to read it again because you might have missed a vital clue . Full of intrigue, suspense and sitting on the edge of the seat reading springs to...
Published 12 months ago by BLUE FISH

versus
23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Left feeling cold
Leigh Russell's Cold Sacrifice is a murder mystery featuring DS Ian Patterson, a character already familiar to readers of Miss Russell's Geraldine Steel novels. Patterson here takes centre stage to investigate the deaths of three women brutally murdered in different but apparently interconnected circumstances. He is under pressure to make an early arrest both to further...
Published 13 months ago by Fatman Falstaff


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HIGHLY RECOMMENDED - BRILLIANT READ, 16 Aug 2013
By 
BLUE FISH (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cold Sacrifice: (The First DI Ian Peterson Mystery) (DS Ian Peterson Murder Investigation) (Kindle Edition)
This book being the first detective story I have read and reviewed I found most exciting. It is full of twists and turns, unexpected events unfold, especially when you think you have the killer in mind only to find that you need to read it again because you might have missed a vital clue . Full of intrigue, suspense and sitting on the edge of the seat reading springs to mind, just loved the book and think the author has put heart and soul and a lot of research into it. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED MUST BE READ
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Left feeling cold, 26 July 2013
This review is from: Cold Sacrifice: (The First DI Ian Peterson Mystery) (DS Ian Peterson Murder Investigation) (Kindle Edition)
Leigh Russell's Cold Sacrifice is a murder mystery featuring DS Ian Patterson, a character already familiar to readers of Miss Russell's Geraldine Steel novels. Patterson here takes centre stage to investigate the deaths of three women brutally murdered in different but apparently interconnected circumstances. He is under pressure to make an early arrest both to further his ambition to make Detective Inspector and from his wife who is rapidly becoming disillusioned with the long hours worked by her husband and his consequent neglect.

Because the genre has been so effectively exploited in recent years, successful serial killer novels need to have a good plot, humour, rounded characters the reader actually cares about and a well-researched knowledge of police procedures. Sadly Cold Sacrifice possesses few of these qualities. Patterson and the book's other characters are one-dimensional or underdrawn, the plot is farcical and the outcome predictable after the first few pages. Furthermore, in this over-punctuated piece of work Miss Russell demonstrates little awareness of police methods or even of how ordinary men and women actually speak to each other in everyday conversation. Her portrayal of young people's chavspeak, for example, is somewhat embarrassing, innit bruv?

DI Patterson needs to up his game or should swiftly suffer the fate of the novel's hapless victims.

Cold Sacrifice is published in September 2013 by No Exit Press.

Cold Sacrifice (DI Ian Peterson 1)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy and enjoy, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Sacrifice: (The First DI Ian Peterson Mystery) (DS Ian Peterson Murder Investigation) (Kindle Edition)
really enjoyed this - easy to read but kept my interest at all times. An old fashioned type copper and a pacy story without all the bad language and behaviour of today's society - more like 30 years ago
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cold Sacrifice, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Sacrifice: (The First DI Ian Peterson Mystery) (DS Ian Peterson Murder Investigation) (Kindle Edition)
rated this book with 5 stars because it is a well written enjoyable read.
I would recommend it to all who like an interesting story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Sacrifice: (The First DI Ian Peterson Mystery) (DS Ian Peterson Murder Investigation) (Kindle Edition)
This was such a good book, can't wait for the next Ian Peterson story, I have not read anything by Leigh Russell before, but will certainly be looking him up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Sacrifice: (The First DI Ian Peterson Mystery) (DS Ian Peterson Murder Investigation) (Kindle Edition)
This isn't as good as the gereldine steel books as its just strange them not being together but it was still an excellent read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fun read, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Sacrifice: (The First DI Ian Peterson Mystery) (DS Ian Peterson Murder Investigation) (Kindle Edition)
This is a good read and works well, with a well thought out plot which maintains interest and moves at a fast pace. I have enjoyed some of the Geraldine Steel series and look forward to more of the adventures of our new hero.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another enjoyable read, 8 July 2013
By 
CK (Gloucester) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Sacrifice: (The First DI Ian Peterson Mystery) (DS Ian Peterson Murder Investigation) (Kindle Edition)
Another good read from Leigh Russell. I am pleased that she has written about another character and whilst others have said less than complimentary things, the character needs time to develop. I only found out about her books last year and was fortunate enough to read all the Geraldine Steel books in a row so the character was instant but if you read them when released, yes he needs time to develop.

I spotted one major flaw in the story but that could have been because I was reading at 2am as I just had to finish the book and I was tired but I really enjoyed it, from beginning to end and am looking forward to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cold Sacrifice, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Sacrifice: (The First DI Ian Peterson Mystery) (DS Ian Peterson Murder Investigation) (Kindle Edition)
I started the book and thought the killer a bit obvious but sometimes my first impressions aren't correct so I read on. I was right but then I wanted to know why so kept reading. The main character - Ian - didn't impress me nor did his home life but I persisted in my reading as I had to know how and why. I thought the ending was a bit rushed - inevitable - but too quick. I didn't enjoy this book as much as a previous read - Stop Dead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nail biter, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Sacrifice: (The First DI Ian Peterson Mystery) (DS Ian Peterson Murder Investigation) (Kindle Edition)
Great characters, great story, kept in the dark about the killer all along! Great little side stories and relationships...privy to the thoughts of an officer and his personal life as well as his professional thoughts, made for a great feeling of getting to know the man...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews