Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will please Jane Austen fans
This is the lovely story of an educated young woman in Georgian times who does not do her family's bidding. However, she does not rebel easily, hence the drama. It is easy to be reminded of Jane Austen while reading Drawn to Perfection - absolutely no bad thing. An enjoyable read.
Published 22 months ago by Yvonne Barlow

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Education not wasted
I enjoyed this book as it traces the aspiration of a talented woman of her age.. It seems feisty women have always existed
Published 18 months ago by Pat Gutteridge


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will please Jane Austen fans, 5 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Drawn to Perfection (Paperback)
This is the lovely story of an educated young woman in Georgian times who does not do her family's bidding. However, she does not rebel easily, hence the drama. It is easy to be reminded of Jane Austen while reading Drawn to Perfection - absolutely no bad thing. An enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An intelligent and moving novel, 6 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Drawn to Perfection (Paperback)
The sign of a good novel, to me, is when it goes from a story I read a chapter or two at a time just before going to sleep, to something I just can't put down. Drawn to Perfection is just such a book. You will find yourself rooting for the heroine, the stammering, stuttering Caelica, from the start. She is educated at a time when education did not serve women particularly well, as the expectation was that they would marry and provide a family. Her mother so disengaged as to be cruel. She finds a drowned suicide. She falls for a man who has the all-important status and wealth but an intellect that is no match for hers. But, most of all, she turns out to possess a gift for which there can be no recognition. Beautifully written, Victoria Owens takes you right to the heart of the place, the time, the events, and the people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Written to perfection, 10 Nov. 2014
By 
This review is from: Drawn to Perfection (Kindle Edition)
It’s 1752 and parson’s daughter Caelica is living on the edge of Wales with her bookish father and her neurotic mother.

I could outline the plot. There’s a lot of it and it holds together very well, but it’s hardly the point of the book. This is a novel that is simply a pleasure to read. It captures the world of the mid-18th-century and the voice of its writers quite remarkably well. It is by no means a pastiche but an evocation of the time and its values. Those values included an attention to a fine prose style and this book has that in spades, as well as a wicked sense of humour that Jane Austen would have enjoyed.

I cared about the characters and completely believed in them. They are complex and contradictory, just like real people, with the possible exception of the despicable Edward, who seems to have no redeeming feature.

It's easy to criticise a book that is riddled with errors; more difficult to find things to praise in a novel so consistently well observed and well-written. The conclusion, perhaps, is a little hurried, although there are no unexpected twists except, perhaps, for a moment of delicious irony on the very last page. It was a joy to read and I cannot recommend it too highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent debut., 19 Mar. 2014
By 
Mr. T. Goldfinch "Terry Goldfinch" (Towcester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawn to Perfection (Kindle Edition)
A very enjoyable read. Well done Victoria - I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys a good story set in the 18th century. I look forward to your next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Education not wasted, 4 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawn to Perfection (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book as it traces the aspiration of a talented woman of her age.. It seems feisty women have always existed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Different, 3 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawn to Perfection (Kindle Edition)
I thought on the outset I could take or leave this book, but the more I read it the more difficult I found it to put down. It shows the hardships women went through in years past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I really enjoyed this book and felt quite disappointed when I'd finished ..., 26 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawn to Perfection (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book and felt quite disappointed when I'd finished it. I was quite anxious to know how the story would unfold and what would happen to the heroine. For someone like me who loves a happy ending, it was very satisfactory. Not a particularly clever or intellectual book but just a nice read which sometimes is all you want!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Could have been written by Jane Austin, 24 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawn to Perfection (Kindle Edition)
Like other people,reminiscent of Jane Austin novels. It is the type of book that has to be read properly and not hastily. Takes a couple of chapters to get into the rythm of the writing and to understand the period fully but then is very enjoyable. Well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I thoroughly enjoyed this book, 17 Dec. 2014
By 
Jane (Boughton, Faversham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drawn to Perfection (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Well written, great story and well-crafted characters. The story in set in the early 18th century and is full of historical insight. A book to savor and definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written story of a shy, 11 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawn to Perfection (Kindle Edition)
Beautifully written story of a shy, stuttering young woman's struggle to be accepted as an individual talent and not simply as a possession of first, her family and secondly, her husband. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Drawn to Perfection
Drawn to Perfection by Victoria Owens
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews