Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars18
3.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 October 2013
Having lived in Rhodesia 1970 1970 ( not as member of the armed forces ) it was so interesting to read what they had to endure When.meeting them '' in civvies'' they never disclosed what they had to face when dealing with in so called 'terrorist army'
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2015
Whilst historically accurate and paying tribute to one of the most effective fighting forces in the world-the book was on the whole a disappointment. Though ZANU and ZAPU were communist affiliated and even though ZANU PF today still call each other comrade- their agenda was not particularly communist. Certainly Zimbabwe is not a "communist paradise" believe me I live there. I also did not like the implication that the Rhodesian government was "pure and sinless"- in some senses they brought the war upon themselves . True, the leaders of the liberation movements have proved to be totally selfish and inept at running the country but that does not justify reducing the struggle of the average soldier to a simple case of wanton destruction and terrorism. I found the implication that there was a distinct lack of intelligence on the part of the "terrs" and "gooks" to be rather disgusting and quite racist. All in all a typical case of the American superiority complex and a pointless read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2013
A good introduction to Special Forces operations in Rhodesia but more like an extended magazine article than a full book; I was left wanting more. If you already know something about the Bush War you may be better spending a bit more and getting a more substantial work.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2013
An interesting book, although not a long one it does cover the major points of special forces operations during the conflict. What it does is raise an interest in the subject that could be followed by reading other publications related to it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2014
Oh what a lovely war!

Here we begin to see how geopolitics and arms sales go hand in hand, and what happens when power is consolidated in the hands of 'freedom fighters' whose idea of freedom is based on tyranny.

Very interesting militarily, and, having heard many first hand accounts of those involved, accurate in the telling of the broader scope of events. The detail of the individual actions will perhaps never be told, and perhaps do not need to be.

Recommended for everyone who wants a clearer picture of why a bush war can never be won - from either side of the fence.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
Good book, raises some interesting points from history that I would never have guessed, being a little before my time.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2014
It's all far in the past, but very interesting, I enjoyed it and recommend it to others for a good bit of nostalgia
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2015
Nicely written (in comparison to other books) study on Rhodesian SAS in the Bush War. Great supplement to other books I bought on this subject. Thoroughly enjoyed it - only wish it was more extensive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2015
So honest and Frank. Having been through that conflict can identify totally. PTSD effected all of us.Thank heaven it is recognized these days. Too late for some!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2015
Excellent read very factual brought back a lot of memories what a time to live through. Could not put down until it was finished
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)