Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A valuable insight into self protection
Self protection is something we should all take seriously, but it's hard to know which expert to believe. Neal Martin's credentials measure up nicely: he is a member of the respected British Combat Association and he has years of experience on the door. In his work, he references other leading self protection instructors widely - including Geoff Thompson and Rory Miller...
Published 16 months ago by Goran Powell

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not much use
No practical information at all!!
Published 2 months ago by A. G. W. Dickinson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A valuable insight into self protection, 2 July 2013
By 
Goran Powell (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Self Defense Tips Everyone Should Know (Kindle Edition)
Self protection is something we should all take seriously, but it's hard to know which expert to believe. Neal Martin's credentials measure up nicely: he is a member of the respected British Combat Association and he has years of experience on the door. In his work, he references other leading self protection instructors widely - including Geoff Thompson and Rory Miller among others - while writing with a tone and style all of his own. The book is a collection of blog entries compiled into a single volume and occasionally it reads that way, however this doesn't affect it adversely. Neal offers sound advice at every level, from verbal de-escalation to all-out assaults, based on his own experiences in security work. Neal's writing is open and engaging. He serves up plenty of personal anecodtes in an amusing no-nonsense style that's serious without taking himself too seriously. This is a valuable addition to the body of work available on self protection, from one of the new generation of self protection instructors, and well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tell it how it is...real life self protection/defence at its best., 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Self Defense Tips Everyone Should Know (Kindle Edition)
With so many DVDs and books being churned out these days on self defence & martial arts... which Ive bought my fair share of I was pleasantly surprised with this Kindle download.
Neal Martin the author is the real thing he has studied martial arts, done the doors and trained with some of the best martial artists & self defence Instructors out there.
The detail in this book is amazing you get a true feeling that the Information in the book has been tested thoroughly and that it could in a "real life situation" actually save your life! Its not just for the Individuals that practice martial arts, or the door supervisors but anyone regardless of their ability or gender. A refreshing change from some of the Hocus Pocus martial arts stuff that is available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Useful addition to my martial arts collection, 7 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Self Defense Tips Everyone Should Know (Kindle Edition)
Useful addition to my martial arts collection, more on the psychological side of self defense, like having a coach by your side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Self Defense tips Everyone Should Know, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Self Defense Tips Everyone Should Know (Kindle Edition)
One of the best books I've ever read on self protection, Some of the content I've read before in Geoff Thompson books ,but this is all Neal's own work based on his own experiences, with his own no nonsense personality. The self defense tips are both physical and mental and you need both to properly learn how to defend yourself. I would highly recommend this book to anybody interested in self protection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy!, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Every martial artist must read Neal! But this book is for almost everyone! Neal is a real world instructor and gives real world tips!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Informative, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Tells you how top defend yourself against attackers. Also tells you how the law is going to see it. Very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Useful, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Self Defense Tips Everyone Should Know (Kindle Edition)
very nice introduction and comprehensive discussion about self defence - also talks about theory of emotions in conflict, muscles used - I will use a lot of this in my own class. Worth purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent advise for the street., 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Self Defense Tips Everyone Should Know (Kindle Edition)
This book gives excellent advise both physical and mental for a self protection gameplay. Would recommend everyone to read it. Thanks Neal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Straight forward, no nonsense Self Defence techniques coming from a tried and tested street fight perspective., 14 Jun 2013
This review is from: Self Defense Tips Everyone Should Know (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed reading about and participating in the self defence drills in this book. It's also written in a manor that helps you easily visualise what you need to do in dangerous situations both physically and mentally. The techniques discussed have been tweaked for massive effect on the street and it feels like it brings new ideas to the table. A great easy read that will interest the Self Defence novice or expert. Experienced or not this book will teach you something. I couldn't fault it - really worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars essential read, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Self Defense Tips Everyone Should Know (Kindle Edition)
Ive been training combatives and self defense for a while now and i really like how this book comes across. I started out earlier in life with traditional martial arts and found it very stifling.
Neal Martin doesn't seem to be afraid to tear down the walls and break barriers about the myths surrounding what really works in a street situation and more importantly what doesn't.
His Techniques and thoughts on the subject in this book are refreshingly honest and well thought out and tested under pressure which is the only way of knowing if a system works,
I will use this book as a great aid to my own training and refer to it habitually.

Great read, well recommended for beginners or the rest of us always trying to always get better equiped and imformed

T
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews