Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ginger Alert
Ginger will be a legend. In two hundred years time, his cd's will be pulled out of the ashes. And like artists, question will be asked. Why wasn't he more popular in his time? He's one of the best songwriters of our generation. Every review - fan or professional - states the same.

The answer is simple. Mr Ginger, you've got to cut your ear off!
Published 22 months ago by DangerGrouse

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not offensive, but far from a classic
wouldn't object if someone else put it on, but I've got far better albums in my collection. Just all a bit ok with nothing particularly outstanding on it, I think.
Published 18 months ago by Mr M J Cook


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Short and sweet from Ginger Wildheart (for a change!), 20 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hey! Hello (Audio CD)
As much as I love the prolific amount of quality output that Ginger seems to put out these days, my one 'complaint' is that editing process can be a bit lacking, leading to perfectly good 3 minute songs meandering off in different directions and ending up double the length, sometimes out staying their welcome. This doesn't bother me particularly, as I tend to lap up each new release regardless, but I can see how this may not be the best approach to expanding past the usual hardcore fan base.

If you are a more casual fan put off by the above, than this is the LP for you! Short, almost perfectly formed 3-4 minute bursts of 'bubblegum' rock (for want of a better description), with the delightful vocals of Victoria Liedtke featuring prominently, makes for a much more uplifting, easier listening experience. Would like to point out the stand out tracks, but be honest after a few listens even some of the ones that sound bland(er) to start with prove to be just as good as the rest....so just get a copy already!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raising the bar once more, 22 July 2013
By 
Quills (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Frontman Ginger Wildheart certainly doesn't like a quiet life. Hot on the heels of his wildly successful PledgeMusic campaign that spawned the illustrious 555% and its commercial companion, 100%, he launched a new campaign promising not one, but three new albums. Rash? Perhaps. One thing's for sure, though, and that's that in Hey!Hello!'s debut album, he raised the bar once more.

Hey!Hello! is a crazy contrast to the other two albums that the campaign spawned under the band name of `Mutation', showcasing the two extremes of Ginger's talents. Whereas Mutation takes the wild excesses of Endless Nameless, chews them up into a pulp and spits them out in something horrendous and glorious all at once, Hey!Hello! is an unashamedly poptastic and beautiful album, filled with sunshine, soaring riffs and frankly spectacular hooks that will leave you begging for more.

His cohort Victoria Liedtke's vocals and harmonies blend seamlessly with the rugged, familiar tones of Ginger's voice, and nowhere is this displayed more perfectly than the album's two lead singles of Black Valentine and Swimwear. I confess, though, my particular soft spot is for Feral Days, for its here that Ginger's unique skill for crafting lyrics that cut straight to the soul really shine through. Victoria and Ginger deliver with aplomb, despite recording their vocals on opposite sides of the Atlantic Ocean, and just when you thought the Geordie rocker couldn't impress you any more, you learn he played every single instrument you hear on the album.

Upon listening to 555%, I couldn't help but fear there was nowhere for Ginger to go but down from there. Fear not. With the new lease of life and vibrancy he's found working alongside the brilliantly effervescent Victoria, Hey!Hello!'s debut album is a stellar delight that easily deserves its place amongst the best works of his career. I can only hope their debut album doesn't prove to be their last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Woman!, 2 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hey! Hello (Audio CD)
When I first saw the CD advertised, I originally thought it was a album by one of the other members of The Wildhearts, who I have nothing against, but I do have to budget my money when purchasing music, but wasn't till I read a review of the album that I realise it was his nibs himself.
Anyhow, enough of that fascinating anecdote, this record does remind be a little of "The Wildhearts must be destroyed", it quite a commercial sounding album, but still rock & roll.
What adds an extra dimension the songs is Victoria Liedke vocals, which really blend well with Gingers, to offer something new & bright to his already massive musical cannon.
Most of the tracks offer a positive message (most), which gives the record a nice "don't' scrutinise the music too much, just enjoy", which you need on occasion (not every album has to change the world).
You also receive a fee "Black Valentine" single, which has two none album B-sides (that's one for the kids!), "Wacky Women" & "She's a Beauty", great sassy rock song, with Victoria on lead vocals.
So a highly enjoyable album, a as with all of Gingers extra-curricular activities, he puts 100% effort in making it the best record he can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ginger at his best yet again.., 3 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hey! Hello (Audio CD)
Love it, once again Ginger pulls a great punk pop classic out of the bag. Try it if your in any doubt!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You just can't beat a bit of Ginger., 30 Sept. 2013
By 
K. Hunnybun (Isle of Wight, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hey! Hello (Audio CD)
Yet another great bouncy album from the ginger one. Great tracks, short and to the point. Fantastic album which all fans should own!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another triumph for Ginger Wildheart, 22 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hey! Hello (Audio CD)
The man is just a workaholic genius. This output seems to be getting more airplay and more attention than anything the ginger one's done for a long time. True, it's a bit more commercial than the wildhearts but most of his solo stuff is. Could it be something to do with his collaborator on this occasion who, let's face it, is slightly easier on the eye than Random John Poole (tho I know he has lots of admirers!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic Ginger, 3 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Hey! Hello (Audio CD)
Ginger delivers again: great tunes, catchy lyrics, some real earworm choruses :) Definitely recommended for fans of any of his other ventures!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 1 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hey! Hello (Audio CD)
Album of the summer, riffs and hooks with big catchy vocals. Check out swimwear or how I survived the punk wars on you tube if your unsure. Would love to see some of it live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Transvision Vamp meets the Wannadies! A good thing., 7 Aug. 2013
By 
A. Boylett "andyboylett" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hey! Hello (Audio CD)
Not heard a record like this in a long time. It's a pop/rock smash of epic proportions.

Nothing too complicated here, simple 5 chord guitars over 80s trash drums with a driving bass to hammer it home and nicely layered vocals as the cream on the cake. There's nothing ground breaking about this album but it is a lot of fun and very well done. It's actually worth buying just for the first verse of Black Valentine, which makes me laugh whenever I hear it.

It's packed with hooky 3 minute pop songs that never disappoint. For me the standouts are "Black Valentine", "How I survived the Punk Wars" and "Why can't I be me without you", which has the catchiest chorous I've heard in many a year.

If you like Republica, Transvision Vamp, the Wannadies or "Charlotte-era" Ash, this album will be right up your street.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Superb, 1 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Hey! Hello (Audio CD)
An album which I just can't stop listening to, catchy fetching singalong tunes, just like crack, try it once and you won't put it down :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hey Hello
Hey Hello by Hey Hello (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews