Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bangin'
Like my esteemed previous reviewer, I also preordered 5 of the new BackBeats series for £15. Total bargain. I must admit I was frustrated at the fact that the release date kept being moved back and forth but this little gem is finally on the hi-fi. I expected something special and Backbeats have yet again come up trumps. Opening with Herbie Hancock's Just Around the...
Published 19 months ago by Mr. A. I. N. Jefferson

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not the best selection
Pretty good but so much better material that could have been included. Still listen occasionally. Lacks snap and impact. Thanks
Published 18 months ago by Mr. John P. Knibb


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bangin', 22 May 2013
By 
Mr. A. I. N. Jefferson "ally j" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like my esteemed previous reviewer, I also preordered 5 of the new BackBeats series for £15. Total bargain. I must admit I was frustrated at the fact that the release date kept being moved back and forth but this little gem is finally on the hi-fi. I expected something special and Backbeats have yet again come up trumps. Opening with Herbie Hancock's Just Around the Corner, you just know you are in for a treat...wow...

There are quite a few good jazz funk compilation out there but for price and quality, you will be hard pressed to beat this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eargasm o'clock, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just started to further my music education by finding any rare grooves from 70s 80s,living in the UK this stuffs hard to find.
I have bought 3 Backbeats comps now, every single one of them have blown me away, be it track selection, audio quality and price.

Thank you for restoring in the indie music industry, feel guilty paying just 3 pounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 70's jazz funk, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some great rare grooves on this offering. Totally brilliant price £3 delivered. Worth every penny.
If your an old school jazz/funker this will be a good investment. Reccomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great selection, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Every track a gem. A few I had forgotten about. I have several of these tracks on vinyl, so was pleased to see a compilation of classic Jazz Funk tunes and more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good music, 21 Aug 2013
this is a very good album at first the seventy's funk rhythm made me think groove and disco but behind the beat is very good musicianship and I have been playing it nonstop since I received it.
plus it is cheap. this is more fusion than funk soul brother
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Funk, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you need a retrospective funk album from the 70's this most certainly is it. It contains a great mix of the best funk artists of their time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jazz funk, 1 Dec 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Bolton, Lancs, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love Jazz Funk and this album has only served to increase my liking of the genre - there are artist I had heard of and some I was only being introduced to for the first time - I can highly recommend the album - well worth a listen to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gamble paid off, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought on a whim because it was cheap. I love this album. I like jazz & funk but I am not a serious afficionado so I don't have a big collection of either. This album hit my buttons and it's an excellent album that I turn to when I'm in a jazzy funk sort of mood. I bought it with some other funk collections, and this is definitely jazz funk, and good jazz at that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funky stuff!, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great CD of top jazz funk tunes, including some real sought after gems like Charles Earland's "Coming to you live". Well worth the purchase price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, Amazing Value., 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You cannot go wrong with ths CD if you enjoy Jazz Funk... I brought 5 of these from this series for £15!! All mixed by AJ man Dean Rutland
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews