Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fitting Finale to the Roman trilogy
Another excellent story told with remarkable skill, bringing a quite brutal era in ancient Briton alive. As with Roman 1 & 11 the plot follows the lives Prydain and Cassus to a fitting finale. The graphic, brilliantly penned battle scenes and detail of everyday life transport you back 2000 years to the days of Boudiccia. A real page turner and another excellent read.
Published 18 months ago by ShaunR

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good
Just as gripping as the first two .It was good to learn about an important character in British history that I had never known about before .I did get a bit bored half way through this one though ,endless slaughter and less story telling, the plot was a bit thin compared to the first two in the series ,I would still recommend it .
Published 12 months ago by Iain


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fitting Finale to the Roman trilogy, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roman III - The Wrath of Boudicca (The Roman Chronicles Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Another excellent story told with remarkable skill, bringing a quite brutal era in ancient Briton alive. As with Roman 1 & 11 the plot follows the lives Prydain and Cassus to a fitting finale. The graphic, brilliantly penned battle scenes and detail of everyday life transport you back 2000 years to the days of Boudiccia. A real page turner and another excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars End of an excellent trilogy., 11 Dec 2013
This review is from: Roman III (Paperback)
The perfect gift for all Roman history enthusiasts is THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
I have enjoyed immensely this rendition of the Boudicca Iceni uprising. The author has done his research well, the narrative is exciting, knowledgeable, and fast paced. I only hope we hear more from him in the future, as I am sure whatever he pens will be equally entertaining. Highly recommended.

Another good fictional slant on the Boudicca rebellion, is that excellent book written by George Shipway IMPERIAL GOVERNOR.For those who would like further information on this epoch I highly recommend the OSPREY Campaign, Warrior, and men at arms booklets, with great overviews, excellent illustrations, and highly detailed maps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roman III - The Wrath of Boudicca (The Roman Chronicles Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this 3 book in the Roman series. It was worth waiting for and i would recommend it to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roman III - The Wrath of Boudicca (The Roman Chronicles Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
really good historical novel with a real insight into the times. The characters are lifelike and believable, all of them well developed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good solid tale, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roman III - The Wrath of Boudicca (The Roman Chronicles Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Read all three of Roman trilogy and loved them. The ending was a bit twee but would still recommend as on the whole the books are highly readable and thoroughly enjoyable. Great characters and overall a great story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fitting conclusion, 5 Jun 2013
By 
C. Fontenelle (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roman III - The Wrath of Boudicca (The Roman Chronicles Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
A fitting end to the story of Prydain, Cassus and Britannia. I am a little disappointed by the rather quick resolution of Prydain and Cassus' situation hence the 4 stars instead of 5. Once again Mr Ashman's ability with words has brought this turbulent time to life imbuing the characters and plot with credibility. His decriptions of the battles and the uprising were so real as to leave me with a sense of unease at the brutality. it has also reawakened my respect for Boudicca - in reality she may have made more Romans question their ideals, but the remaining accounts of this time by Tacitus and Dio do not say. They were Roman; victorious and "entitled" to write history as they saw it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent finish, 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roman III - The Wrath of Boudicca (The Roman Chronicles Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
The writing was,as per the previous 2,excellent, with lots of action as well as an insight into what made Boudica tick and the sacrifices made to confront the Romans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just gets better....., 11 Jun 2013
By 
jonathan43 (Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roman III - The Wrath of Boudicca (The Roman Chronicles Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I really took my time over this book to saviour the final part of the journey of the two main characters. Again the author spins a fantastic story so well told that grips the reader, and at least for me, transports my mind to a different time, a time of a country growing and changing and the events that shaped its destiny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Historical novel., 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roman III - The Wrath of Boudicca (The Roman Chronicles Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Great story and a worthy follow up to the two previous novels in the Trilogy.Exciting all the way through .I could not put it down.
I have no hesitation in saying it is a must read for any enthusiast of that period in British and Roman history. Buy it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars top man, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roman III - The Wrath of Boudicca (The Roman Chronicles Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Read this book a long while ago just as good a read now as was then top class author up with the best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews